We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Adornes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adornes
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Brugge is an expensive place to visit - in keeping with the fact that it is a tourist attraction as one of the most beautiful towns in Belgium - and it is! The Adornes was a great little find.....clean and comfortable. We had a large room overlooking the canal - lovely views but a little noisy at nights as cars navigate the cobblestones. Breakfast was more than adequate with yogurt and homemade toppings - the cherries were wonderful, cereal, hard boiled eggs, toast and other fresh breads. The room was finished in a mix of Ikea and antiques. All the amenities necessary were available. It is located slightly off the beaten path with great biking (free bikes to use!) and walking in the immediate area and close enough to everything else you want to visit.
We would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front can be noisy with cars on the cobblestones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retinott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

Returning to the Adornes is always the highlight of our annual visits to beautiful Bruges .Rik, Nathalie and Kim are simply the kindest and nicest people that you will ever encounter in your travels. We have become friends over the years. During our recent visit, it was so nice to see Nathalie's Beautiful Burgandy Border Collie Arthur, who is always ready for a game of ball in the back terrace. This is a delightful little property, overlooking a beautiful canal and bridge in one of the nicest areas of Bruges. Rooms are rustic and well appointed. The beds are extremely comfortable. Ask for a room overlooking the canal. Wonderful breakfasts are served by a roaring fire in the beautiful breakfast room. Rik is a wealth of knowledge on any current events and will recommend and make reservations for dinner wherever you like. There is a lounge with a wine cellar downstairs, where you can enjoy a relaxing nightcap or two before retiring at night.
After 7 visits, we have come to love this hotel, where we have met so many nice travellers. We would be remiss if we did not say hello to Stephanie in the breakfast room. She will greet you with a beautiful smile every morning. Highly recommended!
Marjorie and John McIlroy Victoria BC Canada.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal and bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JOHN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Hotel Adornes, in Bruges, is a wonderful place to stay. Bruges is one of the most beautiful cities in Europe and our stay was even better for having spent three nights at Adornes. Rooms are clean, modern, comfortable. Beds were very comfortable. Rik, the day clerk was eager to help with any arrangements or directions needed (for example, we bought a bottle of wine to bring back to our room and requested a corkscrew. Rik brought a tray with two glasses, appetizers, napkins and, of course, the opener). As with most European hotels, the rooms were a bit small, but when you're in Bruges, you'd best not be staying in your room too much, other than to sleep (or have a drink of wine!). The morning breakfast was excellent. Laundry facilities are available. There is a very comfortable lounge in the cellar, with books, TV/DVD player. Bike rentals are available and biking in Bruges is great, unlike Amsterdam, where bicyclists are insane. We are contriving to return to Bruges and wish we could move there.

Room Tip: Just make a reservation. The rest will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bassplayer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel in Brugge, and had a wonderful experience. The rooms are simple, but have all amenities needed. The staff is extremely helpful with any questions guests might have related to sites around town, museums, restaurants, shops, etc. The breakfast buffet was excellent with fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cheeses, bread basket of various types of fresh breads. The breakfast room is in a lovely space with a huge fireplace, and tables for two or four. All of the guests mingle and compare notes on where to go, what to see, etc. The front desk staff is very helpful with suggestions and information. We first met Rik at the desk when we checked in, and he was more than accommodating. His restaurant recommendations were terrific and right on. There are bikes available which we took advantage of with a day trip to Damme on the bike path. Highely recommend this hotel and would stay again if in Brugge. Brugge is a small Gothic city with alot of great architechure, charm, and many sites to see around the town such as world class museums, beautiful churches, chocolate shops, etc. Would return to Brugge in a heartbeat, and would again stay at Adornes.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the canal with swans and it was great to throw open the window and watch the com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The hotel was a quick cab ride from the train station, we were greeted in a lovely manner by Rik who swooped away our luggage and the "dust from the road" and immediately got us situated and made reservations for a place to eat dinner (which proved to be a good idea). The front area has a couch and large windows where you can sit and regroup, there is a cellar romp room area where you can relax and watch a movie about Brugge. The rooms were exceptionally clean, cheery (our had a great views of the canal below). Breakfast included cheeses,meats, freshly made applesauce and yogurt, delicious breads, eggs, and more. (Excellent since this is a charming ancient town without fast food joints.) Staff spoke several languages and were very warm and unpretentious. Beds were great, we woke up feeling refreshed and ready to go explore the nearby museums and shops. I was able to buy Belgium beer and take it to my room for a nightcap on my birthday without having to leave the hotel. There was a grocery store a few blocks away if needed. Quiet and charming location. Walking distance to art museums, architecture, shops, De halve beer tour, historium museumAmie was another staff member who helped us tremendously, specifically with our transportation needs. Price was excellent for all we enjoyed. What an excellent way to enjoy my birthday in Brugge!

Room Tip: Ask about a room with a view if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The hotel is very well located facing the canal and 10 minutes walk from the city centre. The staff are welcoming and very friendly. The breakfast provided has variety and is quite adequate. Free bikes are provided which is a huge plus. The only caveat is that wifi connectivity was poor in our room and we had to go to the reception area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows facing the road as cars make a lot of noise passing over the cobblestones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pradeep9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

What a find! Great hotel, fantastic staff, nice breakfast, good location. Staff recommended a great restaurant - Cambrinus. Car park small but secure - got my Jeep Cherokee in with room to spare. Hope we can come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartynVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,044 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adornes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adornes

Address: Sint-Annarei 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £99 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adornes 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet location, along one of Brugge's most beautiful canals, at 10 minutes walking from the heart of the centre. A personal welcome, comfortable rooms, an extensive buffet breakfast and not to forget free use of our bicycles, free underground parking and free internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Adornes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adornes Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing