We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, lovely location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adornes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adornes
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed here back in February 2013. The hotel is in a lovely and convenient location and the building is also very nice. The staff are very friendly and helpful, making sure we knew where were going and giving us a map with attractions pointed out, as well as giving us helpful advice on good restaurants to visit.

When we arrived the room we had had booked wasn't cleaned, but after a very short wait we were given another (bigger) room, so it worked out better in the end. My only complaint would be the shower in our bathroom was somewhat lacklustre - not much more than a handheld shower head in the bath - but this wouldn't be enough to stop me coming again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauraspink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    199
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
117
482
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hotel is in a quiet area just 10minutes from the city centre. Upon arrival a very friendly lady gave us a map and pointed out tourist attractions, and with it a discount card! She also informed us of the free rental bikes they had for their customers in the hotel courtyard. They were brilliant! Available for use for our entire stay!
We were given a stylish, clean room overlooking the Canal. It was warm and comfortable with free wifi, a tv and tea making facilities (free) on request. Breakfast had everything you could think of and was set in a lovely cosy room with a log fire burning.
Would also recommend a cosy pub just around the corner from the hotel called Herberg Vlissinghe, Bruges oldest pub. Again very warm and cosy, good value food with some traditional dishes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikdawwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Changed our reservation to Adornes at the last minute based on TripAdvisor reviews, and was not disappointed, and saved money.

The price probably has to be one of the best values in Bruges.Here are the other positives and few negatives for Adornes.

Positives:
Great location with only a 10 minute walk down beautiful and quiet streets/canals to town center.
Room was clean and large, with plenty of room for baby cot and pull-out for other child
Views out of the front rooms over the canal are perfect, no noise problem with windows closed, but maybe in summer
Free parking, although about a block away. Also street is usually not busy and can easily load unload bags.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly
Elevator/lift, which isn't all that common in old cities like Bruges
Free bicycles to ride (although we didn't use them since it was rainy and cold)
Nice courtyard (which again we did not use due to winter weather)

Negatives
As others have noted, there are no shower curtains, just a hand shower, but we managed to not get everything totally soaked by putting our backs towards the wall. Still makes for an uncomfortable shower
Breakfast was very average, no hot items other than toast. Breakfast room was cosy and nice though.
Double bed was two singles pushed together. I know this is common in Europe, but still annoying

Room Tip: Front rooms have great views over the canal. Quiet with the windows closed in cool weather, imagine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetravellerfromtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River, Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

A great Hotel within a 10 minute walk of the center of Bruges.
Very good quality for a 3 star Hotel with secure parking just round the corner.
Free WiFi, TV and tea making facilities on request.
The staff are most helpful and friendly.
Warm and comfortable.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the Canals, the views are good. If you are a light sleeper you may find t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Just returned from the Adornes, good points:- room big and clean, inside hotel quiet, girl on reception very nice and. Helpfull.
Bad points;- traffic noisy outside because of cobbled stone road. Ask for room at the back if your a light sleeper. Wasn't told about the basement room where you can relax with a drink, saw it on tripadvisor so decided to go back there on Saturday night for my husbands birthday and have some champagne,, but we were told the room was closed as one of the staff were having a private party In there, so we had to go back to our room for a drink. Shouldn't you cater for your guests.
Shower not great just a hose on the taps.

Room Tip: Ask for rear room if your a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanleyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south Wales
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We previously stayed and reviewed in 2011.This time we visited with friends who shared our excellent impression of this hotel.
The quiet canal side location is ideal, with all major sights and attractions, including the Christmas market and many excellent restaurants within easy walking distance.
Hotel parking is a big issue in this historic city, free nearby underground parking is an added bonus, as is the free wifi..
Rik and his multilingual team are first class hosts, with really useful local knowledge and advice.
The high quality include breakfast, taken in a period dining room in front of a log fire, really was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrackersouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a great stay at the Adornes - it is only 5 or 10 minutes' walk from many of the famous sights, yet tucked away beside a quiet canal well off the busy tourist routes. Our room (a 'basic' double) was small but warm and comfortable, with a beautiful view across the canal. Rik, the owner, greeted us with a host of recommendations of restaurants and events - far more than we could have fitted into a 2-night stay - and in fact all the staff we met were helpful, friendly and efficient. Free bike hire is another big advantage of staying here - an easy ride takes you along canals to a row of windmills on the outskirts of the historic centre. The breakfast buffet was good, and how lovely to eat it by a roaring log fire. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPWSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel van Cleef
Hotel van Cleef
#1 of 97 in Bruges
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adornes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adornes

Property: Adornes
Address: Sint-Annarei 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Adornes 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet location, along one of Brugge's most beautiful canals, at 10 minutes walking from the heart of the centre. A personal welcome, comfortable rooms, an extensive buffet breakfast and not to forget free use of our bicycles, free underground parking and free internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Adornes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adornes Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing