We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How refreshing”
Review of Adornes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adornes
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

not to be told off for being spontaneous - we decided whilst in Arras to nip to Bruges on the way back to London.
A couple of hotels frowned upon us for not having booked in advance for a Saturday night stay.
Not Rik. Although no room at his inn - The Adornes - Lovely location and building by the way - Rik told us he knew a man that could put us up in a fabulous house.
We said Yes! to what we thought could be gamble but also a potential adventure.
Rik stepped off the front desk and asked us to follow him down the road - he took off at a run and bemused, we pursued in the car to an underground car park.
We then trotted down the road on foot to a marvellous Belgian Pub/Bistro t'Gezelleke - Busy and buzzy in there - to meet the owner and collect the key to our accommodation.
Johannes took us to his B&B - 2 minutes walk away.
Newly renovated. Charming.
Everything you need.
Sleeps 4. 150 Euro. Breakfast on request.
Marvellous.
We ate at t'Gezelleke - great menu - we opted for boeuf bourguignon - Fantastic
You must try the Prior beer there too.
Go to De Garre for another beer - another Rik Recommendation.
Thank you Rik and Johannes.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: Please note that this really is a review for t'Gezelleke - I'm not sure you'd ever know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyPriori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 830 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here in March 2013. What a fantastic choice of hotel. Very easy to find and on arrival, we felt very welcome and were showed to our large room on the top floor. We did pay a premium for this, though it did make the trip that little bit more special with the views over the canal, and the horse and cart going past each morning on the cobbled street - a nice wake up call! Breakfast was good too.

The staff were very friendly and recommended a number of excellent places to eat in the evenings, all of which we enjoyed!

The hotel also has bicycles to use, though we only took advantage of this on the last day, which with hindsight was a missed opportunity!

The hotel has a very friendly dog in the rear courtyard too! We spent ages playing with him!

If I was going back to Bruges, this would be first choice with no doubt!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a great view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tombo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Start with the bad.
No shower curtain...erm that's it

On a roadtrip we decided to stay in Bruges having never been. So we needed a car park, with a central location and found the Adornes.
So glad we did as the hotel was beautiful.
The room was on the small size but very cosy and clean. (we had room 9) Which had a corner view of the river.
There are free bikes to use at the hotel and would recommend using them as you can see a lot
In a quick space of time.
The staff are super friendly and as we had to leave early to get the shuttle they even had breakfast earlier.
Just a perfect stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RL1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel would be hard to fault in any way. The location is excellent, being sited on a picturesque
canal side close enough to all the main attractions but away from the sometimes oppressive crowds of tourists in the centre of town.
Staff were a model of helpfulness and charm, and the breakfast varied and generous.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank babyhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We've just returned from a four day break to the fantastic city of Brugge and stayed in the small intimate hotel Adornes.It has a lovely warm atmosphere,with excellent knowledgable staff.Everyone is made to feel they are special by the very friendly staff,especially Rik who enjoys a laugh and has a great sense of humour.He also loves to recommend how you can best enjoy your stay.if you visit Brugge you have to stay here,as staff go out of their way to make your stay memorable.nothing too much trouble.
The room we had was facing the canal,a little noisy but more interesting as you have a view of the canal the breakfast are delicious,very fresh good quality food,served in the dining room which has a great open fire.As much and more besides as you can eat.freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee.great stuff.
.We recommend that you approach the city from the main canal walk which is wonderful and tranquil.try also the many restaurants and bistros away from the main square as they are great and much better quality and value,some only a stone 's throw from the hotel.the hotel is situated in the older part of the city.Very quiet and picturesque.We will definitely return

Room Tip: The first floor at the front of the house have a better view of the canal,however the ones facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keithatthegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff here is more than just friendly. They will research events for you, they allowed us to check in early since our room was open. Recommendations for restaurants, concerts.
We used the free bike rental to ride the bike path around the city. A good breakfast. Our view was of the canal- so picturesque. A 10 minute walk to the market Square .
Street noise can be a little noisy at night bring earplugs or give up the view for an interior room

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gwenbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in May 2014. Hotel staff superb! Breakfast delicious. Room was fabulous, clean, comfortable. Can't say enough about the accommodations. Staff will do laundry for 8 euro. A few blocks to city center but you will enjoy the scenery. Get a canal side room.

Room Tip: Get a room on the canal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,018 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,255 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adornes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adornes

Address: Sint-Annarei 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £101 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adornes 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet location, along one of Brugge's most beautiful canals, at 10 minutes walking from the heart of the centre. A personal welcome, comfortable rooms, an extensive buffet breakfast and not to forget free use of our bicycles, free underground parking and free internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adornes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adornes Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing