We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully quaint in size...most generous in hospitality and comfort!”
Review of Adornes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adornes
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2008

Visited 12/3-6/08. Married couple.

From the front desk, to the room, to the location and the beautiful breakfast room, this hotel was wonderful. Be assured your needs will be attended to, your questions answered with a smile and you will be made to feel at home by the staff and your fellow travelers.

Located on a quite canal street, you are a short stroll to town. Our room (no.19) while comfortably sparse, was immaculate and had the most comfortable bed I have slept on in europe so far. Room is above average in size for europe. We had a queen bed and tub/shower. The typical flemish breakfast (meat, cheeses, fruit pastry, cereals, etc.), included in the price, is a great way to start your day! With its many windows and beautiful huge old fireplace as a centerpiece, the breakfast room is warm and inviting. The basket of breakfast pastries and bread served each morning are to be enjoyed! Indulge - you will walk off the calories :)

Since we were there during winter (it snowed one day! Yeah!) we did not utilize the free bikes - but know this would be a great way to get around and highly suggest it!

With free Wifi in the room and a computer for your internet use off of the lobby, you can stay connected.

If arriving my train, take a taxi from the train station - no more than 10 euros and a short, convenient ride to the front door. Getting on the bus with luggage looks to be a challange and it is a very long walk!

If you appreciate understated and charming comfort, having all of your basic comforts and lodging needs met, without all the unnecessary wrappings of flashy extravagance, you will enjoy your stay at the Hotel Adornes - we did!

Bruges is beautiful, even in the winter! Enjoy!

Just a note - there was not a minifridge in the room - this we would have utilized but may not be important to others. Toiletries were minimal, but since I had my own did not ask for extras, but I am quite confident they would have provided extra with pleasure if I had.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Passtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 841 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2008

From the first email I sent to this hotel, Rik did a GREAT job. Rik was wonderful in making the reservations as well as providing directions on how to get to the hotel from the train station.

Once we checked in, Rik was amazing in his knowledge of the area. He provided a fantastic recommendation for dinner within walking distance to the hotel. As a result, I can highly recommend the following restaurant: www.pieterpourbus.com!

The hotel's breakfast was amazing. The classical music, the fire in the fireplace, and the ambiance of the hotel made this a weekend to remember.

The room we stayed in was Room 17, large twin bedded room, facing the canal and with oak beams. I would highly recommend the room.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crookedridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

My husband & I stayed for 2 nights at Adornes & found it was in a good location for sightseeing & offered great value for the price. The breakfasts were especially good - a fire in the fireplace greeted us each morning & the selection of food was excellent - numerous types of rolls & breads; a good selection of cereals, fruits, juices, meats & cheeses; fruit salad; yogurt; boiled eggs;cucumber & tomato slices. ( & I have probably missed some items) Coffee was served by friendly staff who also kept the food offerings topped up. The desk staff was very friendly & knowledgeable. Rik was especially helpful - directing us to some excellent pubs & restaurants which we would not otherwise have found. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bruges.

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank silver265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

Hard to find fault with this hotel . In easy walking distance of the centre. Large room overlooking the canal was spacious, clean and warm. Proper bath. Possible traffic noise in summer when windows open but no problem in October. Free bikes made seeing Bruges simple.
Staff friendly and helpful. Use of hotel fridge to store food and loan of plates etc for picnics in room. Breakfast in continental style generously stocked with cereals, boiled eggs,cold meats etc

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NorthernTraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

Recently spent a night at this wonderful little hotel at the edge of the historic city centre and overlooking one of the canals. Easy to find and easy to park (if you pre-book a space in the nearby car park). A warm greeting and shown to our family room on the top floor - two singles and a double sofa bed which our two small boys were happy to share. Warm and comfortable beds. Plenty of space and a bit of character. Bath rather than shower.

No bar as such but the staff were more than happy to serve drinks in the very comfortable lounge - and spend time chatting about the range of Belgian beers and where you could buy them close by.

Great breakfast buffet in characterful dining room with an open fire. No chance to use the free bikes this time as the weather was awful - but they did provide free umbrellas and parking pass - even on the day of departure. Would definitely consider using this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scottishlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

Recently stayed at this hotel for three nights.It is in a convenient location,not far from the centre of Bruges.

My partner and I had a good room over looking the canal, but my sister and her husband had a 'small double'. The room was very small with the double bed pushed against the wall. Bathrooms were spacious but shower not much good and no curtain so water went every where. Some of our family stayed at a B&B five minutes away which had very large comfortable rooms and was cheaper.

Excellent buffet breakfast but small breakfast room was quite crowded.

The best thing about this hotel was the staff,excellent in every way and the free bicycles.The staff booked tables for us at two very good restaurants.

Bruges is not a cheap place to stay but we thought this hotel was a little overpriced.Must mention the bar just over the canal from the hotel great place to have a nightcap!

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank joandgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

We had a wonderful stay for two nights at the Adornes Hotel. The location is an easy walk to anything in Bruges. Just to be able to open our window and have an amazing view was a treat, but the staff went out of their way to help us with maps, find places to eat, and general suggestions. Our room was very clean and comfortable. It is a short walk from the hotel to the underground parking garage. We also took a couple of bicycles out for a ride (free for guests) and pedeled to a nearby town following a canal which was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jabberwockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adornes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adornes

Address: Sint-Annarei 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £100 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adornes 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet location, along one of Brugge's most beautiful canals, at 10 minutes walking from the heart of the centre. A personal welcome, comfortable rooms, an extensive buffet breakfast and not to forget free use of our bicycles, free underground parking and free internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adornes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adornes Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing