We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Family-Run hotel”
Review of Adornes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adornes
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I stayed here for one night in June 2010 and really enjoyed it. Natalie attended the reception and furinshed me with a number of great dining, sightseeing and bike riding suggestions. The room was small yet very comfortable. As others have mentioned, the lack of air conditioning or a fan could be an issue if it were hot. Luckily, it wasnt when I was there. I slept comfortably through the night. I enjoyed the ample breakfast and furthermore really enjoyed using the bicycles to ride out to Damme - a great part of my trip!!

Overall, it's a great place and I wouldnt hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasoncrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2010

I spent 2 nights here in June 2010. I had room 8 which was on the second floor facing the canal. I paid 140 euros a night including breakfast booked directly with the hotel. Good location although 10 minutes from the market square - which could be good or bad depending on your perspective. lovely neighborhood on beautiful canal. The staff was amazing - great restaurant recommendations, offer to use their free bikes even after checking out. breakfast was basic. The room had a great view but in the late afternoon got very hot and had traffic noise. I agree with a prior review that a back room would be the way to go in summer or if sensitive to traffic noise tho lose lovely view.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank attytrav.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We had a great experience at this hotel. It is located an easy 10min walk from the city centre. The staff were extremely helpful and all the restaurant recommendations were great. The breakfast was very substantial with a lot of choice. The hotel itself is 2-3 typical Flemish homes combined, which adds to the experience but also has some limitations that need to be expected, such as no air conditioning. We were in a small room facing the front canal. It was small but fine for the two of us. As there was no air conditioning, we had the window open one night and there was noise from the street. One recommendation I would make would be to ask for a room facing the back during warmer weather. Otherwise, everything was great and we would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I hadn't actually stayed at the hotel - they were fully booked that night, but I've experienced such an amazing customer service (despite not being a paying guest) that next time I'm in Bruges there's no question where I will be staying.

Rik from the reception spent about 30 minutes on the phone for us - total strangers - trying to find accommodation for us that night (we travelled on a whim so didn't book anything... and he didn't rest until he found something), helped us to sort our parking out the next day and pointed out to the best attractions. I can only imagine the care his actual paying guests get - he treated us like royalty, and he were floored by his kindness! Still can't quite believe people like him still exist!

The hotel is slightly on more expensive side, but it's very central, they have free parking, and you also get a group rate on all the attractions, so the extra fee really pays for itself.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank specificus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2010

I stayed at the Adornes with my fiancee for 3 days at the start of a longer holiday (travelling to Amsterdam and France). We chose the hotel based on trip advisor reviews, and photos.

We arrived to a gorgeous little hotel (approx 20 rooms) and were greeted promptly, and directed to the underground, secure car park right around the corner. We were provided a map of Bruges and suggestions of places to visit, to eat and to drink beer (at a reasonable price). The efficient, no-nonsense service at the hotel was quite welcome and refreshing after a long journey .

The rooms are small but perfect - satellite TV, high quality and tasteful furnishings, excellent shower, and very clean.

Tea and coffee making facilities are 6 euros extra, which we asked for.

The location is perfect, close to the centre and also to the windmills.

The breakfast is a continental buffet, which I enjoyed every morning. It is served between eight and ten, and will even be brought to your room at no extra charge. Do not expect bacon and eggs, it is a cold buffet. We had fruit, yoghurt, fresh bread and jam, croissants, cheese, tea, coffee and fresh juice. This set us up for a day of exploring Bruges.

Other useful amenities include a lift, free access to internet for those urgent matters, and free bike hire.

The hotel is charming and one of the most memorable aspects of our trip. We plan to return to Bruges and will be booking the Adornes. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Az51Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

Situated on a tree lined canal within easy walking distance of Market Square. We arrived at Hotel Adornes to discover that the Procession of the Holy Blood was happening that afternoon. What an amazing spectacle. The town is very proud of their heritage and put on an impressive 2 1/2 hour parade. The hotel desk provided excellent restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was great - many choices and good coffee. We took advantage of the free bikes and rode all over one day. Our room was basic but very spacious and we overlooked the canal. The bathroom was modern and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TBFLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

A delightful hotel, well located close to but not in the city centre. We had a very pleasant and comfortable room (8) with views over the canal. Breakfast was first class. A real bonus was the underground car park very close by with free parking. The staff were exceptionally helpful and courteous and made every effort to ensure that we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WTT1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,043 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adornes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adornes

Address: Sint-Annarei 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £99 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adornes 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet location, along one of Brugge's most beautiful canals, at 10 minutes walking from the heart of the centre. A personal welcome, comfortable rooms, an extensive buffet breakfast and not to forget free use of our bicycles, free underground parking and free internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adornes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adornes Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing