We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Adornes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adornes
Ranked #14 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We stayed in the Adornes hotel for a weekend. The reception is very friendly and you can park your car around about 300meters from the hotel.
We booked the small size room, wich was offcourse small. But it had everything in it, including a nice bed and a clean bathroom.
The staff is very helpfull to make the best of your stay in Brugge, and has good tips.
The free bikes come in very handy, once you know your way around to visit the city's highlights.
And you will have the energy, thanks to a fine breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ivovdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2010

Little to add to previous reviews - great location, super staff, excellent breakfast and nice extras such as the bikes and car park. Rooms are spotless and have real character. So why only 4 stars? We were there when the temperature was in the low 20's but the rooms were incredibly hot and stuffy. Difficult to sleep properly. Opening the windows didn't help much and had the disadvantage of a bit of traffic noise due to the cobblestone streets and inevitable mozzies. A small portable aircon unit in each room would have turned our stay from an enjoyable one into a fantastic vist. I'm sure it's only for a few months a year but surely this would be an investment worth making?

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

This hotel is fantastic! It is in a great location (just a ten minute walk from the centre of Brugge), it's rooms are lovely with extremely comfortable beds and the staff cannot do enough for you. The hotel provides free bike hire for guests which is very convenient; especially in the summer. It is very nice to get on the bikes and tour brugge and surrounding areas (such as damme.) The breakfast is extremely good and is appropriate to fill you up for the rest of the day - in the breakfast room is a roaring fire which is very cosy in the winter months. The hotel also offers wi-fi access for free which is very good as many hotels charge you rediculous rates for internet access (there is also a computer if you do not have a laptop or other device.) The hotel is in a lovely position just next to the river and is a very nice building. There is also a secure underground carpark for hotel guest use at no extra fee. I have been her 3 times in the winter (christmas in brugge is magical) and once in the summer and both times i have been very satisfied with my visit. I shall be returning!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrecker2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

My wife and I stayed in Hotel Adornes for five nights in July as we explored Bruges and
beyond. The staff were so very kind and helpful. Our room overlooked the canal
and the view was simply gorgeous. Early mornings are extremely quiet in this
section of Bruges and it is possible to take a walk without seeing anyone. Down
the street a bit and around a corner is the oldest pub in Bruges (whose name
escapes me) haveing been opened in 1515. A delightful spot! The staff go out
of their way to make your stay both comfortable and enjoyable. We recommend
Hotel Adornes highly!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenlandFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We only stayed one night in Bruge as we were passing through to France. We wish we would have stayed longer! Although not perfect, we enjoyed this hotel. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We found breakfast to be one of the better ones on our trip: various meats, cheeses, breads, eggs, cereal, juices, pastries. We had the family room upstairs, which faced the canal. Pretty view and the noise didn't bother us.

Our biggest complaint was that there was no shower curtain as others have mentioned. Very awkward to take a shower rinsing yourself off with a hose, without getting water everywhere. It really became rather unsafe when the floor was wet and slippery. Probably wouldn't take much effort to update the bathrooms with vinyl curtains and it would help tremendously.

We liked the free use of the bikes and while it was about a 10 minute walk to the main square, it was nice to be out of the "hustle bustle".

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texasgirl219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We were very impressed with this hotel for many reasons.
Perhaps the most impressive part was the excellent staff. When we arrived, the young lady at the reception desk was very helpful because she gave us a great explanation of the hotel and the city. Her English was excellent. I later heard her talking to other customers in various other languages.
The hotel is in a delightful location on one of the canals near a bridge. It is only a short walk from the centre of town and other highlights.
We were in a room on the top floor. The architecture is fascinating because there are exposed timber beams in the ceiling. Then again, you needed to be careful not to hit your head on a beam sometimes.
The WiFi internet reception was sometimes OK in our room but I usually had to go down to the foyer to get reliable reception.
When we were in Bruges (March), it was cold and wet. No doubt it is a better place to visit when it is warm. A boat trip on the canals is a must.
This hotel was a great choice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I stayed here for one night in June 2010 and really enjoyed it. Natalie attended the reception and furinshed me with a number of great dining, sightseeing and bike riding suggestions. The room was small yet very comfortable. As others have mentioned, the lack of air conditioning or a fan could be an issue if it were hot. Luckily, it wasnt when I was there. I slept comfortably through the night. I enjoyed the ample breakfast and furthermore really enjoyed using the bicycles to ride out to Damme - a great part of my trip!!

Overall, it's a great place and I wouldnt hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasoncrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,044 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adornes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adornes

Address: Sint-Annarei 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bruges
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £99 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adornes 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet location, along one of Brugge's most beautiful canals, at 10 minutes walking from the heart of the centre. A personal welcome, comfortable rooms, an extensive buffet breakfast and not to forget free use of our bicycles, free underground parking and free internet ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Adornes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adornes Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing