We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical European hotel”
Review of Albert 1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albert 1 Hotel
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2011

This is a typical European hotel, and that's not a criticism. My room was on the smaller side, and the bathroom was a very small prefabricated unit that had been inserted into the room. I saw someone on here complain about that, but I consider it OK, because 20 years ago this would not have existed, and you'd have been walking down a hall and waiting in line. I appreciate the eforts of hotel owners to make these rooms ensuite.

I should also note that I was on the ground floor, right across from the bus station, and had no problems with noise. I can't see a normal person having a problem with that, though I saw reviews here that complained. I booked anyway, and glad I did. The included breakfast was very good, and the lady went to the trouble of making me a pot of hot chocolate. Great English and perfect hospitality. Internet available in a side room at a very low rate - something like 50 cents for half an hour.

This hotel is near the Concert Gebow and that's the best way to find it from the train station, because the streets are complicated. About 10 minutes to Grote Markt, but an interesting walk past chops, and a lot of cafes and restaurants across the plaza from this hotel. I really liked this place, but admit I don't expect a European hotel to be exactly like one in Nashville or Phoenix or San Francisco. That's why I travel to Europe, and these folks made me feel welcome on my first day over. And Brugge/Bruges is a great place to visit, Don't overlook this city - it's pretty darned nice!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BattlegroundTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2011

Close to the railway station, and a 15-minute walk from the Markt; bus station and tourist information right outside - it would be difficult to beat this hotel for location. However, those with restricted mobility should note; stairs are steep and there is no lift. The room was small but comfortable - a proper double bed, not two singles pushed together, adequate storage. Electric sockets could be a little more conveniently placed. The bathroom was bigger than it looked, containing a welcome, full-size bath, as well as a shower. Staff were frinedly and helpful.
The breakfast buffet offered plenty of choice, and service was very good.
WiFi access is charged - note that there is a free hotspot outside the tourist information office across the road.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lchuffam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

This hotel is close to the main railway station so although there are plenty of buses from the station to the stop right outside the hotel, a short (10mins) walk through the park heading towards the Concertgebouw will get you there without any problems. I had a room on the ground floor - you could hear some sounds from the reception, and some passing traffic but really this was just background, and not a problem. I had to turn the heating down in my room because I like things a bit cooler but since this was January it was nice they had turned things up to max for my arrival. The room was very clean & tidy, nicely decorated. The staff were very polite (English is not a problem), and breakfast was a feast (you just help yourself). It is ideally situated for walking around the old city centre, and it's not a problem if you feel you want to just nip back to the hotel for a rest before setting off again in a different direction. They close their main entrance at 11pm so you need to take your room key with you as this gets you back in if you are expecting to be out later. You are given a card on check-in which entitles you to discounts at various attractions - Belgium is quite pricey so every little helps. Bruges is a lovely city, brimming with history, masses of photo opportunities. I will definitely go again, and most likely to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GoldieGamgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We booked this through Eurostar and were delighted with our choice.

The location was perfect, just on the south-west corner of the town. It is around 500 yards from the train station, and 5 minute walk through the town to the main square and Belfry.

The staff were extremely helpful and happy to give advice whenever required, and like most Belgians, their English was perfect.

Breakfatst was superb and plentiful, rooms were comfortable and spacious, we were made to feel really welcome, it acted as a perfect based for our visit.

We would be happy to recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingc0uple2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We found this hotel to be first rate, we came to bruges on the train and found the hotel easy to find and only a short 10 min walk, also if you go by bus the bus stop is directly outside. At first we were concerned about noise from the buses but it was fine, perhaps if you had the windows open in summer it might be a problem, but it didn't bother us at all. The hotel is only a Short stroll from the main attractions and is idealy suited for sight seeing. The rooms were classic but modern and very clean, there isn't a lift but there are only 3 floors so not a problem. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a continental buffet
style and was fanastic with a huge choice. Over all a wonderful place to stay and will stay again when we return!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnwjones117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

If you are new to Bruges, this hotel is very easy to find. Only 10 minutes easy walk from the train station i.e. leave the station & cross its forecourt to the traffic lights. Cross the lights towards the left and follow the signs to the 'In & Uit' Tourist Office, walking towards the reddish/ orange building that you will see in the trees, which is the 'Concertgebouw' [Concert Hall]. Alongside that is the Bus Station and overlooking both is the Hotel Albert 1. Those with suitcases can take the bus; about one stop. The hotel glazing prevents the traffic noise and my room [32] had an air-con unit. The room itself was of a reasonable size with everything ensuite. Very clean and with a comfortable double-bed. The dining-room was clean and pleasant with a reasonable breakfast selection. The hotel management are friendly and helpful. As mentioned elsewhere there is no lift, so if you have difficulty with stairs, seek rooms on the lower floors. Otherwise you will find it easy to explore the city from here. The Tourist Office is in the Concert Hall opposite where I found the staff helpful with suggestions of how best to explore the city within the time available. Altogether a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldcodgerLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

I only spent two nights at the hotel but was very pleased. Upon arrival at the train terminal we cought a local bus that dropped us off pretty much at the doorstep. The hotel is private and small which makes it a pleasure to stay in. The room was very spacious and of good quality. The hotel is not far from the city center, so no problems there. For a short stay, I would deffinately recommend this hotel. Ideally, I would have stayed right in the city center, but this hotel was of a very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlondeBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ter Duinen
Hotel Ter Duinen
#6 of 97 in Bruges
2,013 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert 1 Hotel

Address: Koning Albert I Iaan 2-4 ('t Zand), Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bruges
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £76 - £503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert 1 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albert 1 is tucked away behind the attractive façade of a strikingly beautiful and typical Bruges town house close to the Concert Hall. Visitors are just a few minutes’ walk away from the historic centre of Bruges and yet they are able to enjoy all the peace and quiet of a tranquil oasis. No single stone has been left unturned in the desire to create total comfort for guests in the beautiful English cottage-style interior with its sumptuous ambiance. The 13 tastefully furnished rooms have all modern amenities such as bath/shower, toilet, hairdryer, cosmetic mirror, flat screen TV with digital channels, radio and telephone with direct outside line as well as free internet access and a safe. 12 of the rooms have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1 Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing