We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best value hotel in Bruges”
Review of Albert 1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albert 1 Hotel
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

From the moment we arrived, we could not fault this hotel in any way, lovely warm welcome from Christophe, a nice comfortable room with great bathroom, breakfast is ample and varied, and the staff are brilliant, so helpful and friendly, a lovely hotel in a lovely city, would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone, BRILLIANT!

Room Tip: Some say the rooms at the back are quieter but we had a room at the front and had no problems as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Good evening,
thank you for giving us high points ..we appreciate this...
We love to hear you had a brilliant stay with us..
every room to the front has indeed two times double glazed windows

we look forward to welcome you again..
Kind regards

christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (519)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed two nights at this hotel very good continental breakfast lots of choice would have liked to have had option of toast other wise very good location and very pleasant staff. bit of a drag being on third floor but other wise o.k.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review... Good to hear you had a lovely time at the Albert 1 hotel..
toast will be served but on request... Unfortunately no possibility to build a lift in the hotel..
Kind regards
,
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed for three nights September. Read reviews prior and knew what to expect so not disappointed. Was opposite bus station but we knew that and didn't notice it hardly. Decent room on top floor. Would return
Only had one issue (not the hotels fault!)- I got attacked by Mosquitos in the room, kept thinking Id killed it but left after three nights with nine bites
If I could change one thing I'd suggest adding toast to breakfast instead of plain bread basket

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monkeysoxnorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you for your review..
we love to hear you like our hotel..
Concerning the mosquito's, they are a bit everywhere in Bruges
Every day the cleaning ladies take them out with the vacuumcleaner..
I'm sure there wouldn't be more than one or two in the room...
If you mention that at the receptiondesk, you would have received a plug against mosquitos
Also toasted bread is served to our guests but indeed on request !
Looking forward to welcome you again
Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is located opposite the bus station and 10 minutes easy walk from the rail station.

Small hotel, very welcoming, dated furnishings but in excellent condition, narrow winding and steepish stairways however owner kindly voluntered to carry suitcases from reception. Room on the front was quite large and comfortable with modern bathroom, but there were 3 windows which despite double and secondary glazing let in traffic noise, although it's not a particularly busy road and buses don't operate through the night (however we soon acclimatised to the noise). Sadly no tea/coffee making facilities however these are available to buy through room service. Room safe (free) large enough for netbook.

Breakfast (continental style only) was in a cosy room with lots of choice and very good quality ingredients, including unlimited tea/coffee, hams/cheeses/jams, boiled eggs, breads and pastries, yogurts and fruits as well as one cereal.

The city centre is about 10 minutes pleasant and easy walk via several routes all of which go through shopping or peaceful residential areas, breaking you gently into the medieval architecture before you reach the splendour of the centre. We stayed 3 nights and walked throughout the town, there is really so much to see and the quality is amazing. Lots of eateries cater for all budgets both within the centre and on the outskirts. Every shopkeeper spoke English which made conversation easier if you don't speak Dutch-ish, the locals are Flemish rather than French speakers.

Room Tip: Maybe try to avoid rooms at the front if you're unused to road traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abacususer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Propriétaire at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you for your large review on Bruges and our hotel.

We are glad after all you liked the hotel, except of traffic noise..

Because traffic noise was the only object, we were hoping on 4 points...

Kind regards

Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Hotel is well located on a square with many restaurants, and the tourist information office which we found very helpful. Room was good but quite small, bathroom was a good size and very well fitted, and the air conditioning worked a treat. Breakfast was cold buffet style and good, with coffee replenished as needed by a very friendly lady. Found the bed pillows to be very hard and we should have probably asked for softer ones. Underground car park opposite hotel very good. Overall, found the hotel good and probably reasonably priced for Brugge.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fergy674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, General Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for your nice comments here. We are glad you liked the hotel
price in high season are of course higher, but on our website " hotelalbert1.be " , we give all year through
15% for two nights stay and 20% for 3 nights stay and more .
Kind regards,
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Hotel is located approximately 5-7 minutes walk from the Train Station... and approximately 8-10 minutes walk from the Belfry (Central Market Square) ...my Hotel room was quiet, clean and comfortable...and of a good size. The staff where polite and helpful and the breakfast choice was excellent. I booked a single room, and was on the ground floor, in a good size double room (No noise - Double Glazing) ...a key was provided for both my room and for the main door... Overall... very good value and good location as only minutes away from the main viewpoints.

Room Tip: Good size single room (A double) located on the ground floor - NOT noisy, as very good double glazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaun07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, General Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you for your rate you gave to us..
Glad you've mentioned that the single room on the groundfloor with double bed was not noisy because of the double glazed windows.
Kind regards,
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in a family room.. First floor room 101.. Room was great and the girls had their own room with the bathroom separating the rooms.. Beds very comfortable and breakfast was great!
Hotel faces bus station and town centre 5 minutes walk away... Man on reception at hotel was so helpful .....if you are driving I would recommend parking in the centrum zand as advised. By receptionist .. Park on level 2 which will take you out to floor level to where hotel is....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geribeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Good evening,
Thank you for your nice review... we love to hear you had a fantastic time in Bruges and in one of our family rooms..
we look forward to welcome you again one day
Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.7 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
761 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert 1 Hotel

Address: Koning Albert I Iaan 2-4, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bruges
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £74 - £492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert 1 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albert 1 is tucked away behind the attractive façade of a strikingly beautiful and typical Bruges town house close to the Concert Hall. Visitors are just a few minutes’ walk away from the historic centre of Bruges and yet they are able to enjoy all the peace and quiet of a tranquil oasis. No single stone has been left unturned in the desire to create total comfort for guests in the beautiful English cottage-style interior with its sumptuous ambiance. The 13 tastefully furnished rooms have all modern amenities such as bath/shower, toilet, hairdryer, cosmetic mirror, flat screen TV with digital channels, radio and telephone with direct outside line as well as free internet access and a safe. 12 of the rooms have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1 Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing