We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albert 1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albert 1 Hotel
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Going on TripAdvisor, we chose this hotel and were glad we did. Just back from this weekend this is a lovely small hotel, opposite a lovely square where they hold a market on Saturdays with Bars & Restaurant all along the far side so great for a night cap or lunchtime drink or just a wander round if you dont want to go too far. Easy walk from the Station if your luggage isn't too cumbersome, failing that a 8 euro taxi ride.
We were in room 11 which was extremely comfortable and reasonably sized. This hotel is opposite the Bus Station and our room was facing it. The double-glazing is so good we could hear no noise whatever during the night nor any noise from the road.
Lovely comfortable bed, lovely big wardrobe and the bathroom was perfect with a great shower or bath, whatever you preferred. Plenty of storage for cases, plus a couple of chairs and small desk.
If they had feather pillows on the beds I'd be in 7th heaven but I know the trend is to provide the ant-allergies ones. Perhaps I should of asked if they had any, will always do that from now on.
Breakfast was amazing. Helped ourselves to lovely fresh cheeses, salami, ham, fresh fruit plus fruit purees, prunes, apricots, yoghurts, cereal, boiled eggs and loads of freshly baked croissants, rolls, bread plus more. Couldn't fault it in any way. The lady who I assumed owned the hotel brought us as many pots of tea as we wanted plus you helped yourself to fresh orange too.
As travelers have said before, this hotel has been converted from an old house so stairs are be narrowish but dont let that put you off.
Couldn't fault this hotel in any way. So clean and clearly loved - marvelous

Room Tip: On the 1st floor, Room 11 had very good double glazing & secondary glazing so assuming all the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for toprating us.. I must say this one of the best written reviews that subscribe the hotel at its best and like it is in real... thank you for that...
one thing, we cannot offer feather pillows unfortunately...
Hope to visit you again.... Kind regards
Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    180
    28
    2
    4
See reviews for
91
237
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We chose this hotel as it's a great location to park your car in public car park 3 min walk away (you can see entrance from hotel) in centre of Bruge (but you may miss the turning for the underground car park which is to the right, we went around a few times trying to find it and had to do a 3 min circle again) We were also pleasantly surprised to find it was within 5 minute walking distance to the main square and actually if you like walking most of Bruge is walkable easily. Anyway the hotel was very smart and presentable, great service from the front desk and friendly human service at breakfast which was basic but it did fine. I really never expect huge things from small independant hotels breakfasts like this and for this style of hotel it was a good breakfast, rolls, ham, pastries, cereals etc in a small room of about 6 tables.

We had a lovely quiet room overlooking Bruge rooftops on the back of the hotel and it was clean and well decorated to a modern smart standard. The bathroom was lovely clean and tiled with a wonderful shower. The stairs up to the room are slightly thin, narrow and steep by most stairs standards so get a ground or 1st room if you have difficulty with these.

I would definitely get a room in this hotel again when we intend to visit Bruges and would recommend it to any friends or family going.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are most likely on the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tristan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for toprating us and for the well described description..
Looking forward to welcome you again
Kind regards
Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here on the 15th February 2014. There were four females in the group from Ireland. The hotel is ideally located a short walk from everywhere no need for any form of transport. Close to the train station and right opposite the bus stop if needs be, Staff were really really nice and accommodating. We didn't know where to go as we wanted to celebrate a birthday of one of the group. Reception ordered us a taxi and made a reservation for us in a lovely restaurant which we would definitely not have found without any help. Check out was at 11 however we were out late the night before so we were not rushed out and finally left at 1 at no extra charge. Staff minded our bags for us so we could travel the town before we left on the train.Location was ideal as it was not too loud at night but we could walk to all the major tourist attractions. I would really recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to Bruges.

Room Tip: Ask at the desk for a restaurant recommendation, some places in the town are ridiculously expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your toprate... nice to hear you liked the family room
and you have found a good restaurant to celebrate.
Kind regards
Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the station.It is a pleasant easy walk there through the park.We arrived at 11.30 am and despite the early hour our room was ready for us.It was small but well appointed and the bathroom was excellent.The only drawback was the double bed which was actually two single beds which tended to migrate away from one another!
Breakfast in the hotel was excellent by continental standards and all the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful.
Although it is close to all the tourist attractions we were pleased to find a number of nearby restaurants and bars frequented by locals rather than tourists which we always prefer.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandadavies43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your time to write a nice review for us.
Glad you liked the hotel and its location.
kind regards,
Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Really cozy and comfortable hotel - less than ten minutes picturesque walk from the train station and to the main market square. Rooms very clean, comfortable and snug, and no noise whatsoever from the nearby street. Excellent varied continental breakfast. Would definitely stay again - hopefully some time soon, as there is so much to explore in Brugge. Laura.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_Zilinskiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for toprating us...We look forward to welcome you again...
Kind regards,
Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Nice to stay in a smaller, rather quaint and privately owned hotel rather than one of the big chains. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Had a triple room that was well equipped, clean and comfortable, if a little compact. Breakfast served in the small dining room was of a good quality, with cheeses, various meats, boiled eggs, fruits and a nice selection of bread and croissants. Situated about 10 minute walk to the main square but plenty of bars and restaurants nearby. As is often the case with such properties, so you need to be prepared to carry your bags up a rather narrow, winding staircase.
One tip - the hotel is a fairly easy walk from the train station. and most buses from there go to the bus station right across from the hotel. Cheaper than a taxi!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffcN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for your nice words, description about our hotel..
the triple rooms were completely renovated this January..
I know the missing lift is sometimes an issue, but there is really no possibility to add one..
of course we are happy to help you to drag the Luggage into the rooms
Kind regards
Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
409 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

After arriving three hours late due to flooding via Eurostar, we jumped in a taxi for 10Euros who swiftly took us to our Hotel, we then realised on our return to the station that it was an easy ten minute walk through the park. The hotel is opposite the Concert Hall and t' Zand square, our room No 15 was at the front of the hotel and on the main road which was quite noisy with the window open. The room was very warm and comfortable with clean crisp sheets with plenty of hot water for a bath. Although I did feel the towels were a bit tired.. Breakfast was amazing, plenty of fresh cheese, salami, ham, eggs ,cereal fruit, breads and rustic rolls. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Glad I took my own travel kettle as there was no tea making facilities in the room and I do like a cuppa first thing. Saturday morning just across the road there is a large market which was amazing. Bars and restaurants just a few steps away. Brugge is a very easy place to walk around and its completely flat. Would definitely stay at this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Owner at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Thank you for your nice review. we love to hear you had a wonderful time in the hotel and that you liked our breakfast..
In mean time all rooms to the front as well at the back are now provided with airconditioning..
which mean you can leave the two times double glazed windows shut , especially in the summer
Kind regards

Christoph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.0 mi away
NH Brugge
NH Brugge
#37 of 97 in Bruges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert 1 Hotel

Property: Albert 1 Hotel
Address: Koning Albert I Iaan 2-4 ('t Zand), Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Bruges
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert 1 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albert 1 is tucked away behind the attractive façade of a strikingly beautiful and typical Bruges town house close to the Concert Hall. Visitors are just a few minutes’ walk away from the historic centre of Bruges and yet they are able to enjoy all the peace and quiet of a tranquil oasis. No single stone has been left unturned in the desire to create total comfort for guests in the beautiful English cottage-style interior with its sumptuous ambiance. The 13 tastefully furnished rooms have all modern amenities such as bath/shower, toilet, hair dryer, flat screen TV with digital channels and telephone with direct outside line as well as free internet access and a safe. 12 of the rooms have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albert 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1 Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing