We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brugge, a great place to visit”
Review of Albert 1 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albert 1 Hotel
Ranked #15 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel in August 2014. The hotel is conveniently located, close to the train station, a 10 minute walk with luggage. Also close to shopping, restaurants etc.
The rooms were cleaned and spotless. The only problem we found was that we were in room 31, which is on the 3rd floor and no lift. It was an attic room, but still big enough for a few nights stay. We had a problem with the bed being far too soft and I ended up with a bad back, which wasn't too good being on the third floor and having to bring your luggage down.
Other than the bed the hotel was good.

Room Tip: The third floor room would not be good for older people as getting luggage down the stairs may be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for writing down your comments. We are Always ready to help you with the Luggage.
just ask and we fly to the top floor

Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 529 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

A short walk from the train station, the hotel Albert 1 is charming, quiet and convenient. Only a 10 minute walk from the town centre and just 3 minutes from some great restaurants. Breakfast was awesome. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The wifi was not strong, but that was the only complaint coming from my 15 year old. I had no complaints!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank judejamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for toprating our hotel here on Tripadvisor. we are very grateful
Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is in such a great location, close to shopping, the main square, cathedral, and museums not far. Great restaurants can be found all around. Bruges is such a beautiful city and there is no need to have a car here, although if need be, there is an underground public parking lot across from the hotel. Allow plenty of time for breakfast. There are lots of choices of breads, croissants, yogurts, fruits, jams and eggs. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stunningholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for toprating us.. we are very glad to hear you liked our breakfast so much !
Kind regards,
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The room was cleaned every day, the shower and bath were great and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good and the location, only 10 minutes walk from the multistory car park at the railway station where I parked for 3,50 euros a day. the multistory underground was 8 euros a day so it was worth the walk.

The hotel is ideally situated on the square and is not more than 15 minutes from any of the old city attractions. The hotel were accommodating as we had a pram they let us store it in the foyer.

The staff were pleasant and I especially like the Australian lady who served us breakfast she was pleasant and kind to our toddler.

We would definitely stay there again, the hotel was easy to find, if you take the last exit from the motorway the road takes you straight to the hotel.

Room Tip: try for a room at the rear, the noise was not intimidating however we could still here the buses in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for the positiv points in your review...I've told the breakfast lady about it too..
kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is a pleasant little hotel; as many have noted, it has more of the feel of a bed and breakfast than a hotel.
Rooms are smallish, though the three of us found it more than adequate. Our room was tastefully done (though we spent little time on our room, it was quiet and had all the necessary amenities - except for free wi-fi, though that's not a deal-breaker).
Breakfast was very good; my wife and I especially enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere.
My only minor suggestion would be that the front desk staff make more of a concerted effort to point out relevant (meaning relevant to the guests) restaurants and tourist spots. Bruges is an easy city to navigate, but a bit more exuberance from the front desk wouldn't have hurt.
Overall, I would stay there again and I'd recommend it to others. The location, by the way, is superb.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staehlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for writing a review.. A bit surprisingly i read this about reception staff..
Mostly it would be me bit in the summer i have some students replacing me
I'm sure they are happy to answer to all your questions concerning, restaurants and sights
Kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed two nights at the Albert 1 Hotel in April. This little hotel reminded me more of a bed and breakfast with its size and charm. The hotel had a great location on the edge of the city center, within walking distance from the train station and all the major sites in Bruges. Our room was on the small side (well, not really for Europe!) but was very clean and comfortable and appeared newly renovated with all the modern amenities. They made good use of space in the room. Breakfast was complimentary and included the standard continental fare. No complaints there. Staff was also very friendly and helpful. No elevator (but no big deal for us).

I almost didn’t choose this hotel since wi-fi wasn’t included in our room rate. Yes, complimentary wi-fi would have made our stay just a little more pleasant, but we just walked across the street to the tourist information office for free internet access.

We would stay here again, no question. Great rooms, great location, and a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ckstar16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

thank you for your comments. we are happy to inform you that fast wifi is free when booking on our own website kind regards
Christoph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

had 2 nights here end of June, the place has a nice friendly feel about it. Beds very soft, which is great if you like them that way. Breakfast quite nice with great coffee. Very convenient for the main sites, we would use again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marky_7623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xstof68, General Manager at Albert 1 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your kind review and for loving our coffee.See you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,319 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#17 of 97 in Bruges
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
1,864 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#8 of 97 in Bruges
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert 1 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert 1 Hotel

Address: Koning Albert I Iaan 2-4, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bruges
#28 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £65 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albert 1 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Albert 1 is tucked away behind the attractive façade of a strikingly beautiful and typical Bruges town house close to the Concert Hall. Visitors are just a few minutes’ walk away from the historic centre of Bruges and yet they are able to enjoy all the peace and quiet of a tranquil oasis. No single stone has been left unturned in the desire to create total comfort for guests in the beautiful English cottage-style interior with its sumptuous ambiance. The 13 tastefully furnished rooms have all modern amenities such as bath/shower, toilet, hairdryer, cosmetic mirror, flat screen TV with digital channels, radio and telephone with direct outside line as well as free internet access and a safe. 12 of the rooms have air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Albert 1 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1 Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing