We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros & Cons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Ranked #22 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I visited hotel Biskajer July 2013, for a quick 2 night bday trip. Pros for hotel Biskajer include the size of the room and bathroom, it was much bigger then we are used to traveling in Europe. The location is great, just outside the main center square and breakfast was nice and the mattress was comfy. Cons for the hotel are it was extremely noisy in the mornings, if you want to sleep in past 0800 this is not the place to stay. Also the walls are very thin but the biggest con for us was the parking. There is no parking close to the hotel and the closest parking garage was full, we ended up having to park a good 15 minutes walk away from the hotel. So I highly recommend dropping off your bags and checking in prior to finding parking. Also, we stayed there Sat-Mon and when I asked if anything was open on Sun I was told that nothing is really open, however almost everything was open on Sunday. It was a great surprise but I was a bit thrown off and wouldn't have tried to get so much in on Saturday if I was told from the start that I'd be able to visit all the great tourist/chocolate shops on Sunday. Overall knowing what we know now we would stay again because the room was very nice and the price was great compared to the other hotels nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Loved this hotel. Tiny lift (elevator) so I didn't have to haul my bags up the stairs. Good breakfast, helpful and friendly staff, spotlessly clean bathroom. Not even 5 minutes from the main square (Markt Square, with the Belfry) and the town square (Burg Square), the hotel itself is on a quiet street around the corner from a much smaller square with three cafes that looks out on a lovely canal. Really a gem and a great value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PennyMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We visites Bruges in late June 2013 and were looking for a reasonably priced hotel close enough to the city centre. Based on the vastly positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we opted for the Hotel Biskajer, and were very pleased with the decision.

The hotel is located a few metres from Jan van Eyckplein, just north of the Markt, and is thus ideally located to explore Bruges. There's a large number of restaurants in the surroundings and a bus stop nearby to get to and from the train station.

Our room was relatively small, with a metre or so on each side of the double bed, but very clean and quite functional with small closets on each side of the bed, a small desk and a good bathroom with a bathtub/shower. The bed was a bit sunken though, and a bit more lighting would have been nice. The wifi signal worked properly during all our stay.

Breakfast was included with our rate. It didn't include warm dishes, only the usual selection of yogurts, cold cuts, cheese, fruit salad etc. but the bread and pastries were tasty.

We were very pleased with the friendly and attentive service. On our arrival and the next day, the staff at the desk took time to help us orient ourselves and informed us of special events in town on that day.

All in all, nothing spectacular, but a very decent little hotel with very competitive rates, a good service and a convenient location, perfect to enjoy Bruges.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicolasandJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Good location. The rooms were smallish and a bit dark, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was just adequate. The receptionist was a bit haughty, his nose somewhat bent out of shape for some reason - unpleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

That's a nice centrally located hotel, pretty decently clean etc, but expect mediocre quality; room is a bit shabby, shower dark and tiny, bed shabby a bit (but Ok), breakfast quite poorly provided, no A/C - it was cool enough we we could leave window open but it was also noisy in the street... service polite but not very friendly. For example, upon checkout, lobby told us the Internet connection would `unfortunately automatically disconnect` - while he obviously did it manually so we don't dwell in his email (we had something urgent to send), this was just funny and a bit annoying. Still, got a pretty good price for it and Bruges is amazing so I'm happy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Assoc-Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel was just what I was looking for in Bruges. Great location , friendley staff , great little room , I couldnt ask for more.
The hotel is located about a 15 minute walk from the train station and is only 2 blocks from the city center.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We took bus 14 from the train station and got off at Jan Van Eyck square. It costs 2 euros for a 1-way ticket. When you get off at the bus stop, it is literally on the other side of the building that you're looking at. I do not recommend getting other bus passes as the city is small enough to walk around.

Our room was pretty tiny, but it fit two people with carry-ons just fine. There is a little closet with a safe. The bathroom did not have a shower, just a bath with a hand-held nozzle, but it was fine for short-term use. The rooms is adorable. There is no a/c and 1 window. It was pretty noisy starting early in the morning if the window is open, but it was fine. If you come in at night after the desk personnel leave, your key opens the sliding doors, so you would be fine. There is 1 bar that is open until 4 am, which we went to one night. It had an interesting mix of locals and people staying in the hostel, but they had pools tables and foosball, which was pretty entertaining.

I enjoyed breakfast. There is no hot food, which is sometimes a complaint for some. But there are plenty of bread options, with lunch meat, cheese, yogurt, juice, and apples. The two guys who run the place are helpful and courteous.

Bruge is really small enough that you can get around pretty easily. If you want to do a lot of the museums, there is a museum pass that would be worth it. But if you're only doing 1 or 2, just buy a ticket (which typically costs 7 or 8 euros each). The chocolate museum was okay, but you only got 1 piece of chocolate at the end. Save yourself the 7 or so euros and buy 14 pieces of chocolate from Dumon chocolates - the best place in Bruge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biskajer Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biskajer Adults Only

Address: Biskajersplein 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Hotel Biskajer)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#29 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £63 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Biskajer Adults Only 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only is a cosy family hotel in the heart of Bruges. The hotel is situated in the shadow of some magnificent mature trees at only 2 minutes walking from the Market Square. The hotel has 17 comfortable rooms. Rooms are available from 14.30 o'clock. It is no problem to leave your luggage in the hotel during the day if you arrive earlier. Check-in is possible till 20.00 o'clock. After this time it is not possible to check-in. The room needs to be free before 11.00 o'clock on the day of departure. Furthermore the entire hotel is non-smoking and children are welcome from 16 years old. Children under 16 years old are not allowed. Maximum 2 persons per room. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Biskajer Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biskajer Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing