We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service, great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Brugge for 4 nights and stayed at the Hotel Biskajer. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and gladly stay there again. The owners/hosts were lovely and very accommodating; breakfast was continental and all good quality and plenty of it (no cooked breakfast but this was not a problem for us as there was lots of other options and a cute machine which let you boil your own eggs); the location was perfect - literally a couple of minutes to the main square but tucked out of the way so was lovely and peaceful - there was lots of music etc in the main square when we visited but we couldn't hear any of it back at the hotel; rooms were a decent size - not huge but plenty big enough for us and the bed was really big and comfy (ours was probably a super king size). A very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cassiefrmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Sometimes you come across hotels that a right combination of price, location and just general niceties. This is definitely one of those. Situated barely a couple of blocks from the market square but on the boundaries of the suburban areas, it's both convenient to the touristy main areas while also being surprisingly quiet. We'd booked it as it was one of the cheaper hotels within a few blocks of the tourist areas but it ended up ticking all our boxes in addition to location and price.

The room was large and comfortable, ensuring we recovered from our 3 am jet lag wake-ups. The breakfast provided is generous (cereals, meats, cheeses, pastries, breads and more) and Danny, the hotel manager, was friendly and very helpful over a couple of chats in the breakfast area and the bar with useful recommendations. The only real negative, coming from an Australian, was the lack of air conditioning - sleeping with the windows open can be an issue if, like our room, your room faces the street as drunk people and the very occasional large vehicle can be quite noisy. Luckily we're both deep sleepers but I can see this being an issue for others.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dlanods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a lovely visit to bruge with my friend.

Booked this hotel due to it's glowing reviews. It's an ok hotel, didn't feel like the bathroom was clean enough. Decor is standard Flemish no problems. Location is lovely and quiet just off the main square. Price wise it was fine.

Big turn off was the dark hair man on the front desk. Miserable attitude, not friendly at all, not helpful. He did a standard schpiel when we arrived about which road is which but apart from that he was devoid of any enthusiasm devoid of any humour. DONT EVER ASK FOR ANOTHER MAP!! THIS IS VERY BAD HE WILL HISS AT YOU AND REFUSE! (I understand it is paper and trees etc but as a paying customer on my holiday just give me another map and don't be so unapproachable)... Unsure how this guy got a job working in hospitality because he is the least hospitable guy in Brugge !! If you hate your job mate!! Leave!! Such a shame that one person can make your whole experience uncomfortable and unwelcoming. It seems I am not the only one who has experienced this.

Oh well!! A smile works wonders!! Sing a happy happy happy happy song !

Stayed: July 2014
10  Thank Mivvy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We received a very warm welcome from our hosts at the Hotel Biskajer on a recent three night stay. The hotel is situated I a lovely little square outside the busy tourist areas in Bruges. Our hosts were most obliging and informative. The breakfast was quite good and the room clean and well appointed. The little bar was a terrific retreat each evening before dinner.
Our only problems in having a front room with a view were the rowdy revellers heading from one night spot to another at all hours.
Overall a lovely little hotel with a great restaurant just next door.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gus1GeelongAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The hotel is very close to the main Markt square, less than 10 minutes walking. It's a small and clean room with wifi, perfect if you're looking to for a place to stay for a good price. The elevator is small and doesn't fit more than two people, so if you're coming in a group keep that in mind. Overall I have no complaints - it was just the thing for a one night stay in Bruges. Right next to a bus stop too so it was easy for us to get to the train station to travel to Brussels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Biskajer Hotel is located by a small tree lined square about eight minutes walk from the main Markt square. It is clean, quiet and well appointed. There is, though, no garden or sitting out area. Having said that, there is a small bar. The hotel is owned and run by Dany and Ruben who could not be more helpful. They are full of advice on what to do, where to go and where to eat. The breakfast is of a typical "continental" type: cereal, juice, tea, coffee, breads, cakes cold meats, cheese and boiled eggs. We had a room at the back of the hotel on the first floor which was quiet but had no view. It might be worth asking for a room at the front overlooking a small tree lined square (which seemed to be pretty quiet).

Room Tip: Any room ending in 01 will be good. Rooms at the front overlook a small square. Rooms at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stanley1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My partner and I stopped here for four nights for our stay in Bruges. Check in was quick and simple. Our room was ready on arrival which exceeded our expectations because we arrived earlier than the check in time - we thought we would need to leave our cases and come back later. We were given a map of the city and our host pointed out a few places of interest.

The bed was comfortable and we slept well. Our room looked out over the back of the hotel which was fine, and the whole room was clean. The bathroom was massive, with both a shower cubicle and a bathtub which had a shower hose. The complimentary toiletries meant we didn't need to go looking for a chemist for one or two things (we flew with hand luggage only and with the restrictions on liquids we didn't quite have space for shower gel, and just hoped for the best!)

The hotel was convenient for most of the places we wanted to visit. As CAMRA members who also enjoy Belgian beers we were happy to be only a few minutes walk from a large number of bars, and restaurants. This hotel seemed to be within 10 minutes walk of virtually everything.

We got from the train station to the hotel by taxi, and both ways this was 12 euro. Our taxi on the last day was arranged in advance by the owner, which was really helpful.

We'd definitely recommend this hotel to visitors of Bruges

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen_gemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#45 of 97 in Bruges
2,341 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biskajer Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biskajer Adults Only

Address: Biskajersplein 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Hotel Biskajer)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £63 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Biskajer Adults Only 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only is a cosy family hotel in the heart of Bruges. The hotel is situated in the shadow of some magnificent mature trees at only 2 minutes walking from the Market Square. The hotel has 17 comfortable rooms. Rooms are available from 14.30 o'clock. It is no problem to leave your luggage in the hotel during the day if you arrive earlier. Check-in is possible till 20.00 o'clock. After this time it is not possible to check-in. The room needs to be free before 11.00 o'clock on the day of departure. Furthermore the entire hotel is non-smoking and children are welcome from 16 years old. Children under 16 years old are not allowed. Maximum 2 persons per room. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Biskajer Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biskajer Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing