We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rustic feel hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great rustic feel hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Fits in great with the style & medieval surrounding of this beautiful city. The owner was very informative & I don't know how only two of them manage to run the whole place, hats off to them because they are doing a great job!

Breakfast.....well what can I say..we didn't leave the table hungry considering it was continental, very happy with the service & food.

People who complain about this hotel really don't understand the meaning of rustic & I can not fault it apart from the room being a bit small but what do you expect in old style houses.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mazianne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    180
    35
    7
    20
See reviews for
79
438
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here in the spacious and exceptionally clean room. The location cannot be better-central but quiet. It was easy to get to from the Grote Markt. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choices even for me being lactose intolerant. I especially like the funky egg boiling machine! Service was excellent - always friendly and helpful. Thank you for a great stay!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CMJEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Wow. What an amazing hotel. Genuinely, believe every amazing review on here - it's worth 5* and more.

Location: Perfectly located within the historic centre of Brugge, a ten minute walk from the beautiful Grote Markt, and featuring historic buildings aplenty. There's a canal virtually on the doorstep; follow it down from Jan van Eyckplein and right, and you'll find photogenic buildings with crow-step gables everywhere, eventually leading to the Vismarkt and the hub for canal tours, which are a great way to see the city.

Hotel: The hotel is three storeys, we were on the second. Our room didn't look out over the pretty square outside, but the back gardens of the neighbouring houses, which was more than fine. There was a fine mesh over the windows to stop flies getting in, which was really helpful as we kept the windows open all day to cool the room. The décor was beautiful, with lilac walls and wood panelling which looked very vintage (in the shabby chic sense). The bathroom was very modern and very spacious. The only very tiniest issue was there could have been a few more power points.

Service: The service was exemplary. We were made to feel so welcome, and were greeted and conversed with in English, and other guests were likewise in their native languages. Nothing was too much trouble either - when our bank thought it appropriate to give most of our holiday money in 50 Euro notes and we were struggling to find small change to buy postcards etc., our hosts were happy to exchange one of our notes for smaller denominations. There was not a single negative point about the service we received.

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to stay at Biskajer Hotel again - everything about it was amazing, and made our time in Brugge absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachiikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel was great: nice room and fantastic location. The turn off was the guy at the reception desk (tall slim dark hair) Terrible service, not friendly and unprofessional. I got very sick that night and when my husband asked if he could take a tea and a toast up to our room so that I can get something to eat, the reception guy told him it was impossible. Since I was very weak and still sick, we requested a late check out (noon) and he refused to let us stay one extra minute.
We would never stay at this hotel again. We never felt welcome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank palomonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biskajer H, Eigenaar at Hotel Biskajer Adults Only, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your review.

We find it very strange that since your review on Booking.com: “The location was excellent. The room was nice and ample facing the quaint plaza. The beds were comfortable.” and a score of 7+ on booking.com, to read that you only gave us one star on tripadvisor. This review tells us more about you than over our hotel.

We remember you perfectly. That morning your husband announced that you were ill. Although you were ill (too much drinking the night before) you did not need any pills from the pharmacy, no doctor, no ambulance to take you to the hospital. Upon announcing that breakfast is only in the breakfast room (for all our guests), you came downstairs to eat your toast and drank your tea. You must not have been very ill. Late check-out of one hour longer would not have helped your upset stomach. As we were fully booked we needed all the rooms, so we couldn't give you a late check-out. You know on forehand that check-out time is before 11am.

For that reason suddenly our staff is not friendly and unprofessional?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Brugge for 4 nights and stayed at the Hotel Biskajer. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and gladly stay there again. The owners/hosts were lovely and very accommodating; breakfast was continental and all good quality and plenty of it (no cooked breakfast but this was not a problem for us as there was lots of other options and a cute machine which let you boil your own eggs); the location was perfect - literally a couple of minutes to the main square but tucked out of the way so was lovely and peaceful - there was lots of music etc in the main square when we visited but we couldn't hear any of it back at the hotel; rooms were a decent size - not huge but plenty big enough for us and the bed was really big and comfy (ours was probably a super king size). A very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassiefrmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Sometimes you come across hotels that a right combination of price, location and just general niceties. This is definitely one of those. Situated barely a couple of blocks from the market square but on the boundaries of the suburban areas, it's both convenient to the touristy main areas while also being surprisingly quiet. We'd booked it as it was one of the cheaper hotels within a few blocks of the tourist areas but it ended up ticking all our boxes in addition to location and price.

The room was large and comfortable, ensuring we recovered from our 3 am jet lag wake-ups. The breakfast provided is generous (cereals, meats, cheeses, pastries, breads and more) and Danny, the hotel manager, was friendly and very helpful over a couple of chats in the breakfast area and the bar with useful recommendations. The only real negative, coming from an Australian, was the lack of air conditioning - sleeping with the windows open can be an issue if, like our room, your room faces the street as drunk people and the very occasional large vehicle can be quite noisy. Luckily we're both deep sleepers but I can see this being an issue for others.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dlanods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a lovely visit to bruge with my friend.

Booked this hotel due to it's glowing reviews. It's an ok hotel, didn't feel like the bathroom was clean enough. Decor is standard Flemish no problems. Location is lovely and quiet just off the main square. Price wise it was fine.

Big turn off was the dark hair man on the front desk. Miserable attitude, not friendly at all, not helpful. He did a standard schpiel when we arrived about which road is which but apart from that he was devoid of any enthusiasm devoid of any humour. DONT EVER ASK FOR ANOTHER MAP!! THIS IS VERY BAD HE WILL HISS AT YOU AND REFUSE! (I understand it is paper and trees etc but as a paying customer on my holiday just give me another map and don't be so unapproachable)... Unsure how this guy got a job working in hospitality because he is the least hospitable guy in Brugge !! If you hate your job mate!! Leave!! Such a shame that one person can make your whole experience uncomfortable and unwelcoming. It seems I am not the only one who has experienced this.

Oh well!! A smile works wonders!! Sing a happy happy happy happy song !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank Mivvy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brugge Centrum
Ibis Brugge Centrum
#46 of 97 in Bruges
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Budget Brugge Centrum Station
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Biskajer Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biskajer Adults Only

Property: Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Address: Biskajersplein 4, Bruges 8000, Belgium (Formerly Hotel Biskajer)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#29 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Biskajer Adults Only 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only is a cosy family hotel in the heart of Bruges. The hotel is situated in the shadow of some magnificent mature trees at only 2 minutes walking from the Market Square. The hotel has 17 comfortable rooms. Rooms are available from 14.30 o'clock. It is no problem to leave your luggage in the hotel during the day if you arrive earlier. Check-in is possible till 20.00 o'clock. After this time it is not possible to check-in. The room needs to be free before 11.00 o'clock on the day of departure. Furthermore the entire hotel is non-smoking and children are welcome from 16 years old. Children under 16 years old are not allowed. Maximum 2 persons per room. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Biskajer Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biskajer Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing