We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, all other aspects need improvment.”
Review of Botaniek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Botaniek Hotel
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Me and my husband stayed 2 nights in this hotel on september 8-10 2011 in our 2 weeks trip to bruges and Normandy (France).

We stayed all the way in three stars hotels and hotel Botaniek was the worst.

Pro:
Location !!!as many people wrote here a very easy access to all places.

Con:

The room that we got was tiny (very very small), with out a proper door between the room ant the bathroom, just some plastic shutter.

The bad was AWFUL: we had a simple straw matress which maybe OK for a youth hostel and not for a 3 stars hotel, we got up with a back ace.

The service:

We asked in the morning to have one more map of the city (a small map with a lot of ads) they didn't want to give us and said that we already had one last night. We had to argue with them in order to have another map.

No one suggested to help us with the luggage.

It is OK hotel for 2 stars and good loacation, nothing more then that

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rivzid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Botaniek Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

We have just returned from a three day stay at the Hotel Botaniek in the heart of Bruges. We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on tripadvisor... especially one entitled "stop looking - you've found it"! We couldn't agree more! The main advantage to this hotel is it's location - very convenient and within walking distance of all the major attractions, but away from all the hustle and bustle. Friendly staff, clean/comfortable room (if a little small - we were in the attic) and breakfast included... what more could you ask for?!

Room Tip: Request a room with a city view (although even the rooms on the other side of the Hotel have a nice...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolBloggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We liked quite a bit about the Botaniek, but felt it was let down by the standard of the room in which we stayed. Like another reviewer, we were put in the room whose bathroom had a leaky ceiling. Judging by the state of that ceiling, the problem has been going on for some time, and it didn't help that in the whole of our 3-night stay, the towels laid to soak up the drips were not changed, so developing a damp and musty smell throughout the room. To be honest, room service didn't amount to very much anyway : no change of any towels, beds roughly pulled straight if at all, and toiletries hardly replaced. Also, the room, like two others, is right next to the lift, which clanks and grinds whenever in use, including by late night returning guests, so it's not very conducive to an unbroken night's sleep.
So much for the downsides. The upsides are : a great location, on a quiet street but only just off the main sights; an excellent breakfast every morning in a lovely dining room, with fresh fruit, boiled eggs and tasty fresh bread; and friendly staff who looked after our luggage well beyond check-out time on the final day. If only they could get a better grip on the bedrooms!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank railbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We booked this hotel mainly on the back of all of the good reviews we had seen here, but also because of its good value for such a central location.
We arrived early to check in and we were allowed to leave our bags until our room was ready. The guy who checked us in was very friendly, gave us a map with a detailed explanation of what was where, and also a discount card for various attractions.
When we returned a couple of hours later, our room was ready, and up we went in the little lift. The room was a fair size, two twins pushed together (standard!), with a dressing table and huge wardrobe. There was a small TV mounted on a wall bracket.
The Bathroom was pretty small, room for a toilet & shower, but the odd thing was that it had no door, just a pull across concertina plastic divide - odd! Luckily no stomach upsets occurred...!
There were also two folded towles on the floor against the window in addition to the usual supply, and we eventually realised this was because there was a leak coming from the room above. It didnt bother us, but some people would not have liked that. The bathroom could have done with a freshen up paint wise, but it was all very clean and the shower was good.
Breakfast was a help yourself buffet of breads, mini croissants, fresh fruit salad, yogurts, cheese and ham etc.Tea / Coffee & Juices. A nice selection, but no hot food available (not even toast). Again, no problem for us, but may be for some people.
We left our bags with reception again (actually kept in the bar, quite accessible from outside..) and went off for a few hors before returning to collect our bags. The helpful chap called us a taxi, and looked up the train times we needed to get back to the Eurostar.
In conclusion, not very fancy, but perfectly adequate for a night in town due to it's excellent location and service from the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FussyInHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed 2 nights and would definately stay here again. The host who manned the desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was of good size and had a nice-sized bathroom (full tub with shower). The room was quite comfortable and clean, with my only complaint being that the carpet was a bit shabby and there was a small amount of mildew on the grout in the tub surround. Nice breakfast of meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, cereals, yogurts,etc. The location is good..only a few minutes walk from everything, and parking nearby. Handy elevator for those who can't handle stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloegirl30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We've just returned from a 2 night stay in this lovely little family run hotel. The young guy who manages the desk (and just about everything else!) is friendly and goes out of his way to help you. Breakfast is good, rooms are spacious and clean and the hotel is located on a very quiet street so you're guaranteed a good night's sleep. It's just a 5 minute walk to the Markt and Burg in one direction and to the Astrid Park in the other, where you'll find a smashing kids play area to tire out the little ones before bed. We also highly recommend the Estaminet opposite the park which has a great selection of beers and a lovely menu at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Very much enjoyed our 3-night stay. Friendy new young managers who worked hard to make our stay very nice. Very clean, comfortable bed, plenty of comfort for the price (€95/nt). Good buffet breakfast included. Free WiFi, excellent location on quiet street, close to center. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botaniek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botaniek Hotel

Address: Waalsestraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Bruges
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £84 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Botaniek Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Botaniek*** is an 18th Century Mansion elegantly renovated into a charming hotel The Hotel is situated right in the very center of historic Bruges. While located conveniently in the heart of the city. We are very well know for our tranquil atmosphere, which makes the Botaniek*** an ideal Hotel especially after a busy sightseeing day. We are located on a very quiet street only 50 meters from Bruges picturesque and romantic canals. We are also only a few minutes walking distance from the Main-Square, “Burg” and “Market”. There is no better place than the Hotel Botaniek. An ideal starting point from which to discover first-hand the “Venice of the North”. The hotel Botaniek*** is complete with a breakfast room that has been tastefully decorated by the owner, and a quiet sitting room with furniture reminiscent of the Louis XV era. There are only 3 rooms on each floor and each floor may be reached via the elevator. The top floor offers several unique and panoramic views of Bruges and it's wonderful architecture this includes the Church of Our Lady, Botaniek Park, the Belfry Tower and of course a roof top view of the beautiful houses in the neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Botaniek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botaniek Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing