We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is charming, innkeeper is wonderful”
Review of Botaniek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Botaniek Hotel
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hotel is charming, innkeeper is wonderful”
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed at the hotel October 24 to 28. Hotel is cozy and charming and central, breakfast is delicious, and the innkeeper Andy is amazing. We forgot our plug adapter and he found one for us to use plus where to find a store to get a replacement. He was friendly and helpful and interesting to talk to. Bruges was lovely and we enjoyed our time there.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor with a great view of the church and red tile rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank journeywoman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    165
    29
    6
    1
See reviews for
114
281
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We've just returned from 2 nights in room 6 quietly located at the back of Hotel Botaniek. We enjoy staying in small, family run hotels which typically reflect local charm & style which this does especially on the ground floor. The bright breakfast room is pleasant & the continental breakfast included fresh fruit salad; bread rolls & sliced loaves; sliced cheese & ham; cereals; boiled eggs; a selection of croissants; jams/spreads & yoghurts with different kinds of rolls & croissants each morning for variety. The residents sitting room was nicely decorated for Christmas. Reception service was excellent, most helpful with a map being offered & advice provided about the main attractions & recommended restaurants. Our request for a second map the following morning was no problem at all (unlike earlier guest's feedback).The bedroom however was a little disappointing for 3 star accommodation. There was no central heating just a very noisy, & not very effective, wall mounted electric heater & no heating at all in the bathroom. Luckily the weather for mid-Dec was relatively mild last weekend & we were just about warm enough with the single blanket & a quilted cover. The bathroom was very tired with cracked tiles, discoloured grouting & a chipped soap dish. No tea & coffee making facilities in the room but hot drinks were available through room service. The location was excellent, just a few mins walk to the main square but on a quiet road.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sh0reThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Me and a bunch of friends stayed here for New Years Eve 2010-2011. We had pre booked at a very reasonable price and are main concern was being close enough to walk to the main square...

The hotel was in a perfect location and was about a 2 minute walk from everything, the rooms were very large and nicely done and the owner was extremely helpful and kind and very accommodating.

I highly recommend this for any travellers looking to get a good cheap nights sleep and be in the heart of the action!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverwoods1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed at Botaniek for two nights on a city break, great little boutique hotel, made a nice change from the sterile chains where every room is the same. Its more shabby chic than luxurious but as you are staying in a medieval town, it fits the atmosphere really well. It was certainly clean and lots of nice touches to make it look very festive at this time of year.
What was really special was the service, Andy was incredibly helpful right from our arrival to departure, showing us where to go on the map, checking train times for us and ordering our taxi to the station, he was lovely and made us feel really at home. The continental breakfast was fine, like that in any other similar hotel in which I have stayed.
My only comment would be about the quad room in which we stayed, as we were four on a girls weekend away, the second double bed in the room is only really suitable for two children sharing not adults, but we asked for another put you up bed, which Andy swiftly provided and we were fine, the main double bed is big and very comfortable, better than mine at home!
I would definately return to this hotel if I visited Bruges again as it is so central and convenient for everything.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoozieColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Went for a weekend trip with my parents and stayed at the Botaniek. Check-in is fine and the lift up to the floors is small but fits 2 people. We have a room with 3 beds but it was very cramped with the 3 beds. The bathroom was light but needs some re-grouting of the tiles and floor. There is a tv in the room with the only decent channel being The Discovery Channel. Breakfast was ok, but do get down early as you may find things have run out and takes a little while to replenish. As per other reviews, the location is great and just around the corner from the main streets and squares. We took a taxi from the station to the hotel and cost 10 euros. There are restaurants near to the hotel. we went on a trip around WW I sites in Flanders and Ypres with Flanders Fields Battlefield Tours, which was a great day out. The owners are really helpful and spoke English well. I hope they can spend some money on improving the quality of the rooms as it would be a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Me and my husband stayed 2 nights in this hotel on september 8-10 2011 in our 2 weeks trip to bruges and Normandy (France).

We stayed all the way in three stars hotels and hotel Botaniek was the worst.

Pro:
Location !!!as many people wrote here a very easy access to all places.

Con:

The room that we got was tiny (very very small), with out a proper door between the room ant the bathroom, just some plastic shutter.

The bad was AWFUL: we had a simple straw matress which maybe OK for a youth hostel and not for a 3 stars hotel, we got up with a back ace.

The service:

We asked in the morning to have one more map of the city (a small map with a lot of ads) they didn't want to give us and said that we already had one last night. We had to argue with them in order to have another map.

No one suggested to help us with the luggage.

It is OK hotel for 2 stars and good loacation, nothing more then that

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivzid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We have just returned from a three day stay at the Hotel Botaniek in the heart of Bruges. We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on tripadvisor... especially one entitled "stop looking - you've found it"! We couldn't agree more! The main advantage to this hotel is it's location - very convenient and within walking distance of all the major attractions, but away from all the hustle and bustle. Friendly staff, clean/comfortable room (if a little small - we were in the attic) and breakfast included... what more could you ask for?!

Room Tip: Request a room with a city view (although even the rooms on the other side of the Hotel have a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolBloggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.4 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botaniek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botaniek Hotel

Property: Botaniek Hotel
Address: Waalsestraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#12 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Botaniek Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Botaniek*** is an 18th Century Mansion elegantly renovated into a charming hotel The Hotel is situated right in the very center of historic Bruges. While located conveniently in the heart of the city. We are very well know for our tranquil atmosphere, which makes the Botaniek*** an ideal Hotel especially after a busy sightseeing day. We are located on a very quiet street only 50 meters from Bruges picturesque and romantic canals. We are also only a few minutes walking distance from the Main-Square, “Burg” and “Market”. There is no better place than the Hotel Botaniek. An ideal starting point from which to discover first-hand the “Venice of the North”. The hotel Botaniek*** is complete with a breakfast room that has been tastefully decorated by the owner, and a quiet sitting room with furniture reminiscent of the Louis XV era. There are only 3 rooms on each floor and each floor may be reached via the elevator. The top floor offers several unique and panoramic views of Bruges and it's wonderful architecture this includes the Church of Our Lady, Botaniek Park, the Belfry Tower and of course a roof top view of the beautiful houses in the neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Botaniek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botaniek Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing