We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lot to Like at Botaniek”
Review of Botaniek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Botaniek Hotel
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A Lot to Like at Botaniek”
Reviewed 28 April 2008

This small but pleasant hotel delivers a lot at a fair price. The innkeeper/owner, Yasmine, responded promptly to our questions before we booked and was equally welcoming and hospitable upon arrival. Unlike many small European hotels this one has an elevator so you don't have to carry your luggage up four flights of stairs. It also has clean and modern bathrooms with plenty of hot water for baths and showers. The rooms are not lavish but comfortable for the amount of time you will likely spend in them. The continental breakfast included in the price is more than adequate. Yasmine provided many good suggestions for where to eat -- we were not disappointed by any of them. She was also generous about allowing us to use her computer when ours went kaput.

The hotel is located within walking distance to most places you will want to see. There is no street parking, so if you are bringing a car I recommend you park at the secured car park within a short walk to the hotel. Personally, I like giving business to women-owned establishments but would not recommend it if it wasn't a good value. I'd say you won't go wrong at Hotel Botaniek.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, modern bathroom, and helpfulness of the innkeeper
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    169
    30
    6
    1
See reviews for
126
299
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2008

We drove into Bruges knowing nothing about the city and stopped at the first cafe we saw to ask where we should look for accommodations. The very nice proprietor looked at a map with me and i told her the area in which we were interested. She called the Hotel Botaniek and they said come on over. Driving there was a bit of a hassle due to one way streets, but we managed. The hotel is clean and neat, the room was kind of shabby, but the price was right and so was the location. The best thing about the place is the owner. We adored her and even asked her to go to dinner with us. She's helpful, immediately accommodating if there's any issue regarding your stay, and goes way beyond what one would expect from someone running a hotel. She spent almost an hour with us the day we checked out, contacting hotels in amsterdam for us to see if we could book a room. She was patient and kind and we were actually sad to say good-bye to her. She was the highlight of Bruges for us. And she recommended a very good restaurant around the corner also called the Botaniek (no connection). She made our stay in Bruges a very pleasant one. And there's a wonderful little dog onsite as well.

  • Liked — the owner
  • Disliked — nothing was problematic
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clapton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch new zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

This hotel is a little gem. In a quiet street in the heart of the old city. The hosts were extremely helpful and kind while the lift was valuable because of my wifes walking restrictions. This was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel as hard to find hotels with lifts in old building. Would recommend this boutique hotel to everyone. I thought the breakfast was typical of continental breakfasts that you get in Europe.

  • Liked — central location quiet street lift
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maturetraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2007

Found the hotel through the Lonely Planet guidebook. A little difficult to find, in part due to the fact that we had to walk through much of central Brugge as a big foot race was taking place and busses could not take is closer. We saw plenty of hotels even closer to attractions, but this one´s location was fine. Room was small but nice. View out our window nothing special. Breakfast was fine. Estimate on walking time to the railroad station was wildly off, but overall we had no complaints. Only meal that was included for us was breakfast. We had an excellent dinner at a small French restaurant called Calis.

  • Liked — Quietness, location
  • Disliked — Ordinariness
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2006

We booked after reading reviews here and the hotel website. Like others we took the "Bruges in a Carriage" package, and added a day. We thought that the best things were :

* pleasant and helpful managers on site
* whilst not great, the location is quiet and convenient for main sights
* pleasant breakfast room
* overall, the package was pretty good value and we enjoyed the various "bits included" !

but we were not so happy with :

* rather small double room facing back of hotel (ones at front are larger).

* breakfast is modest - no fruit, no toast, no croissants - and every morning something had "run out" by the time we ate (eg. the boiled eggs or the yoghurt). We ended up eating the cold meat and cheese, which is not my favourite breakfast!

* the included meals at a local restaurant (the Park) - its a good class place BUT we had no choice at all on the menu for each night. On the "culinary" 4-course night, unfortunately I did not like any of the four courses.... BUT it would have cost some 18-20 Euros extra to replace them with alternatives. Given that the items included on the 4-course menu were separately priced at some 39 Euros, this is rather a cheek - so, great if you happen to like them, not so good if you do not. We were also made to feel just a little second class once we handed in our voucher eg. our white wine was not placed in a cooler but just left on the table, and also not served by the waiter (contrast to other guests). Its a shame, as the chef clearly is good and some dishes were very enjoyable. Overall, there are lots of good restaurants in Bruges, and that 39 Euros (or whatever the Botaniek pays the Park) might perhaps have been better spent elsewhereeg. there is no vegetarian option at the Park apparently, so presumably one would have to pay extra..

* mosquitos! Not the fault of the hotel of course, but I was bitten at least 12 times, and apparently this has been a "good year" !
It was very hot, and as the hotel has no AC or fans, it was a tricky choice between boiling on the bed with windows closed or risking the mosquitos (although there certainly is a plug-in in the room, and I was probably bitten elswhere).

This all sounds less positive than overall we felt, but the hotel is basically a nice B&B, so its better not to have TOO high a set of expectations!

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Jobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antrim
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2006

We booked this hotel on a word of mouth recommendation. On review of the hotel's website we opted for the 'Bruge in a Carriage' package- great value.: 3 nights B & B with 2 dinners each, romantic horse drawn carriage ride, canal trip and entry into the 'Half Moon' Brewery. Mustn't forget the box of chocs, drink, and museum card with reductions off entrance to many of the city's must see places. All for only around 400 euros all in!
We hired a car and drove from Charleroi airport and the hotel even provided us with private parking for 10 euros a day.
Bruges is a lovely city and the hotel is only a few strides away from the main squares and close to great resteraunts and bars, in a quiet back street. Our room was on the top floor - clean and compact with pleasant decor and great views of the city. We were woken every morning by the bells from the main Belfry- not an unpleasant way to start the day. Breakfast was fine - choice of cereals, breads, juices and hot drinks,cheese and ham with yoghurts and boiled eggs also available. I will agree with other reviewers that we have had more substantial breakfasts in other Belgian accommodation however I did not feel let down by what was available.
The couple who manage the hotel are very helpful and friendly with nothing too much bother. They run a welcoming establishment which is fantastic value for money and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mobiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2005

Excellent hotel! The owners were lovely and helpful. Location of the hotel was great, right in the city centre yet in a quiet street so away from all the noise for a good night rest.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holidaymood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel du Sablon
Grand Hotel du Sablon
#14 of 97 in Bruges
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botaniek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botaniek Hotel

Property: Botaniek Hotel
Address: Waalsestraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
#12 Family Hotel in Bruges
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Botaniek Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Botaniek*** is an 18th Century Mansion elegantly renovated into a charming hotel The Hotel is situated right in the very center of historic Bruges. While located conveniently in the heart of the city. We are very well know for our tranquil atmosphere, which makes the Botaniek*** an ideal Hotel especially after a busy sightseeing day. We are located on a very quiet street only 50 meters from Bruges picturesque and romantic canals. We are also only a few minutes walking distance from the Main-Square, “Burg” and “Market”. There is no better place than the Hotel Botaniek. An ideal starting point from which to discover first-hand the “Venice of the North”. The hotel Botaniek*** is complete with a breakfast room that has been tastefully decorated by the owner, and a quiet sitting room with furniture reminiscent of the Louis XV era. There are only 3 rooms on each floor and each floor may be reached via the elevator. The top floor offers several unique and panoramic views of Bruges and it's wonderful architecture this includes the Church of Our Lady, Botaniek Park, the Belfry Tower and of course a roof top view of the beautiful houses in the neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Botaniek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botaniek Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing