We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, = enjoyable stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Botaniek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Botaniek Hotel
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, = enjoyable stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

The reason I chose this hotel for a mini-break, was the price and the location. It is in the heart of Brugge, and you can be in the main squares within minutes. The hotel is basically a converted house, and only has nine rooms. We were on the top floor. The room itself is a little small but is extremely clean. The bed looked inviting with crisp white sheets, and I had no concerns about hygiene., The bathroom too, was spotless. There were coffee and tea making facilities in the room. Breakfast was good. There was a large variety ranging from croissants, to fruit, to ham/cheese and breads, and all appeared fresh and again I had no apprehension about the cleanliness. The hotel owner was VERY helpful and approachable, a huge help during our trip, supplying us with little maps and tips about where/what to do.

So in summary, I would certainly return to this quaint hotel. What I would say to people contemplating this hotel is this :- if you are looking for a great location within easy reach of the Centre, if you are looking for a good price, friendly owners, clean accomodation , - then this could be for you, Especially if like me, you view a hotel as comfortable base from which to go about your trip. If you are looking for all the 'bells and whistles', then you need to pay more.. Walking around Brugge, there are some beautiful hotels there, which would indeed be more luxurious - obviously the price would reflect this. So I guess I'm saying that you get what you pay for. However,this more than fitted the bill, and I will definetely be returning to this hotel.

As for Brugge itself, - Wow ! Please consider hiring a bike to get around.- it's very easy as Brugge is flat. We had a great time cycling around. So many beautiful sights to see, you will not be disappointed. Remember your camera !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    158
    27
    6
    1
See reviews for
104
255
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

The location of the hotel was 5 stars, walking distance from city sights and happily we found parking place due to the hectic location. Beside the friendly and helpful personel, the room has nice old fashion furniture but unfortunately, the rest of the room was a big deception with very uncomfortable soft bed, dusty carpet and black mole in the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarceloenJen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

The location is great: you are in the center, 5 min walking distance from the main square. The room we stayed in was quite big, but the bathroom was really small. All the furniture is quite old and it would definitely need a bit of renovation. However everything was clean.
The persons are friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was included in the price: only basic food available (bread,jam, ham, cheese) but still nice. Overall the hotel was ok for the price we paid (70 euro/night for a double room), but honestly I don't think it is a 3 star hotel. Moreover they say that the wifi is for free in the whole building, but the signal does not reach the 2nd floor, so you have to go to the hall/breakfast room to be connected to the Internet.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefymat_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed with 2 small children in a very adequate double room. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. However, two lamps were without bulbs and there was no tea/coffee making equipment - pretty essential.

Breakfast was great if you like chocolate sprinkles. Cold coffee on day two due to a confusion over plugs.

The staff were excellent and very helpful.

In all an ideal, if quite expensive (for what it is) place to stay almost in the heart of Brugge.

On Brugge in general - a gorgeous city, but wise up restaurant owners and remember we are customers and not vermin. At least we saved on the tips though.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnybiam35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

We booked 4 double rooms and had a nice stay arriving Saturday 1st December. Rooms were fine and the service nice and pleasant. Hotel is in easy reach of main square and parking is quite easy 100 metres away for 10 eur per day. This is about my 40th trip to brugge and the hotel was fine , perhaps slightly over priced based on my previous experiences but that's just nit picking.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

The young family who owns and runs this little hotel were most welcoming. Our room on the third floor gave us a beautiful view of the city, including sunset and sunrise, and a hot air balloon. Room was clean and accommodating. They recommended a beautiful, charming little restaurant for dinner which was a most delightful experience. Hotel is close to the heart of the city for walking. Great value for the money and very good breakfast.

Room Tip: Top (third) floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruthiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Very good location, in the middle of the old town, very close to most attractions, restaurants and bars. It is an old (medieval?) building, fully renovated. The rooms are regular size, like most 3 star hotels. The breakfast is just OK, bread and croissants, ham and cheese, eggs and juice. What i didn't like at all, was the bathroom door, wich is not a normal door but a folding plastic door. They could have done something better than that, for sure. I ve never seen such a door in a 3 star hotel. But hey, you get what you pay!!! Plus the guy at the lobby, is very polite and helpful. If you want a cheap hotel, this is it.

Room Tip: Top floor (floor #3) has a great view to the city center (roofs etc), but don't expect any kind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiltieTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fevery
Hotel Fevery
#7 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botaniek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botaniek Hotel

Property: Botaniek Hotel
Address: Waalsestraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#12 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Botaniek Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Botaniek*** is an 18th Century Mansion elegantly renovated into a charming hotel The Hotel is situated right in the very center of historic Bruges. While located conveniently in the heart of the city. We are very well know for our tranquil atmosphere, which makes the Botaniek*** an ideal Hotel especially after a busy sightseeing day. We are located on a very quiet street only 50 meters from Bruges picturesque and romantic canals. We are also only a few minutes walking distance from the Main-Square, “Burg” and “Market”. There is no better place than the Hotel Botaniek. An ideal starting point from which to discover first-hand the “Venice of the North”. The hotel Botaniek*** is complete with a breakfast room that has been tastefully decorated by the owner, and a quiet sitting room with furniture reminiscent of the Louis XV era. There are only 3 rooms on each floor and each floor may be reached via the elevator. The top floor offers several unique and panoramic views of Bruges and it's wonderful architecture this includes the Church of Our Lady, Botaniek Park, the Belfry Tower and of course a roof top view of the beautiful houses in the neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Botaniek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botaniek Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing