We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and romantic stay in Brugge”
Review of Botaniek Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Botaniek Hotel
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This nice, elegant, charming and atmosphere hotel has been visited by me and my lady in April 2014. We stayed only for one night, but it was enough to feel and understand how beautifull this Hotel is and how warm and friendly are the owners.The room was fantastic decorated, with super comfortable bed and big bathroom. The breakfast is serving in pictoresque dining room, it is rather modest, but fresh, tasty and enough to charge you until lunch.
Looking forward to be back in medial age Brugge and this cosy Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 606 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We spent last weekend in Brugge, at the Hotel Botaniek, and we had a great time Mostly due to the advice & kind consideration shown to us by the Management, particularly Veronica, who went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed.
This Hotel is a period building with nice modern touches and very centrally located.
I advise you to Choose this Hotel, as at the end of your stay you will feel as though you have just visited friends, rather than stayed at a Hotel, I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is your basic old hotel - more like a glorified bed-and-breakfast - that oozes charm. The furnishings are old (and my double bed was really two twins pushed together) but pretty. The ground-floor breakfast and sitting rooms are lovely. You'll probably need a map to find the place the first time, but once you orient yourself you should have no trouble, since everything in central Bruges is walking distance from the everything else. And the people really aim to please. Thankfully, there's a little elevator. There's also wi-fi, but it can be slow and it failed entirely one night that I was there. Also, the odd plastic screen screen isn't a tight fit over the tub, so that it's impossible to shower without spraying water all over the bathroom. But I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slsiege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location just a 100 yards from the river and the same again to a beautiful park.The hotel has been taken over recently by a wonderful man called Brent.He and his staff are helpful.informative and very friendly.The breakfast was wonderful and the ambience of the hotel was magnificent.We really could not find any fault.Book here you wont regret it.Sean Paul and Ringo Belfast

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louisric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

When I arrived at the Botakiek Hotel, the owners informed me that they had only owned it for a week. Well, they are off to a good start. There are only 9 rooms, so you get a lot of attention and personal service from the owners, a friendly husband and wife team. The husband is a chef and bakes the rolls and croissants at breakfast, which is by the way outstanding. There is even a small bar in the hotel with the feel as if you are in a living room having a drink. The rooms are huge, especially for Europe, and mine had a rolltop desk and a huge armoir. The bathroom is modern and comes well stocked with toiletries. It is located about a 20 minute walk from the train station and about a 5 minute walk from the historical center. I could not have been more pleased with my stay at the Botaniek and I hope these new owners have much success.

Room Tip: Since it is located on a side street, there is no noise from the street, so all rooms I would assume...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hoosierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in January 2014. The hotel is located just in the center, 5 mins walk to Markt. The breakfast is good. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. We read in the forum that room no 9 has a great wiew and asked for that room at the time of reservation. I'm glad we did. Room No7,8 and 9 are located on the top floor and have a great view of the city through their large vindow.

Room Tip: Try room No9 ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sinemsvisits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Two important things in a hotel. Good shower and comfy bed. This place has both. The hotel is a little tired but the staff are very welcoming and helpful. Great central location and the views from the top floor are lovely. For the price this hotel is good value.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank TWWelwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#9 of 97 in Bruges
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Relais Bourgondisch Cruyce - Luxe Worldwide Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botaniek Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botaniek Hotel

Address: Waalsestraat 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
#12 Family Hotel in Bruges
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £84 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Botaniek Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Botaniek*** is an 18th Century Mansion elegantly renovated into a charming hotel The Hotel is situated right in the very center of historic Bruges. While located conveniently in the heart of the city. We are very well know for our tranquil atmosphere, which makes the Botaniek*** an ideal Hotel especially after a busy sightseeing day. We are located on a very quiet street only 50 meters from Bruges picturesque and romantic canals. We are also only a few minutes walking distance from the Main-Square, “Burg” and “Market”. There is no better place than the Hotel Botaniek. An ideal starting point from which to discover first-hand the “Venice of the North”. The hotel Botaniek*** is complete with a breakfast room that has been tastefully decorated by the owner, and a quiet sitting room with furniture reminiscent of the Louis XV era. There are only 3 rooms on each floor and each floor may be reached via the elevator. The top floor offers several unique and panoramic views of Bruges and it's wonderful architecture this includes the Church of Our Lady, Botaniek Park, the Belfry Tower and of course a roof top view of the beautiful houses in the neighbourhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Botaniek Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botaniek Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing