We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does the biz”
Review of Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flanders Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“It does the biz”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This place gets most things right for a city centre hotel. It's not bang in the centre (so no intrusive noise when you're trying to get to sleep) but it's only ten minutes leisurely walk away from it (so you get a spot of exercise). It has a pool if that's what you want. The rooms - if ours was typical - are a bit dim, thanks to having dark brown walls and all indirect lighting, but who goes to a place like Bruges to sit in their room all day? The heating is a bit vigorous, but this seems to be a fault of a great many hotels, and the a/c put it right. Breakfast is generous if a bit run-of-the-mill ("the only country that knows how to do hotel breakfasts properly is the USA". Discuss.). There is a parking charge of - I think - 14 euros a night, but before uttering cries of outrage, reflect on the fact that the alternative is an underground car park ten minutes walk away which will cost you just as much. The hotel website makes it clear that there is a charge for parking. If that sort of thing appals you, don't go there.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    679
    147
    36
    17
See reviews for
393
957
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We were made to feel very welcome by the front of house staff, who directed us to local attractions and eateries.
Tastefully decorated rooms with an enormous bed!
Great breakfast.
Really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaMFriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed for 3 nights & made to feel welcome. Just ask for want help you require & staff are glad to explain & Jan the General Manager is a gent. Why not take advantage of the bar happy hour 4 to 6. Nice room & comfy bed. Best meal was De Pepermolen Restaurant down the road from hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazzSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

After reading the previous reviews for this hotel, we were really looking forward to our stay here. And we weren't disappointed. I guessed it was popular when I had to book months in advance, and after staying there I can fully understand why, We drove to Bruges and with the aid of the sat nav. It took us right to the hotel door. My husband is registered disabled, so we were able to park right outside the hotel. But I did notice the hotel had its own carpark out the back. The young lady who checked us in was really friendly and helpful. After we checked in we quickly unpacked and headed for the main square.Turn leftt out of the hotel and its a ten minute stroll Turn right and just two or three minutes walk is a huge supermarket. Bruges itself is beautiful at any time of year, but with the christmas lights and the ice rink in the markt square it was stunning. After a few hours we headed back to the hotel, for a quick swim before dinner. The pool was lovely, and we used it in the mornings and later in the afternoon, it was the perfect pick me up.
Our room was small, but spotlessly clean and very warm and cosy. We had tea and coffee, and the bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, scrambled eggs, bacon, cereal, fruit, yoghurts, cold meats, cheese etc. We could not fault this in any way. The staff are really pleasant and helpful. We will definatley go back to Bruges. and most definately stay at The Flanders Hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Very nice hotel only 10 minutes walk from Grote Markt. Hotel has a small swimming pool which was nice after walking all over Bruges to come home and soak in the pool

Staff and management each can speak more than one language. As I can only speak English, it was nice to be able to converse in my language. Staff and management very knowledgeable and helpful in answering all my questions.

Hotel very nice, clean, with large room with comfortable beds. WiFI is free but only available in the lobby due to the fact that this hotel was once a monastery and the walls are very thick making it difficult for signals to penetrate.

Hotel has a lounge. Very nice breakfast buffet. Parking is available but there is a cost involved. I stayed 4 nights on this visit and would like to stay at this hotel again on my next visit. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed for one night on a drive back from Croatia. Booked this hotel with a view to having a quick look around Bruges whilst getting back to UK.
The location was really quite good and as other guests have reported it's a short easy walk right into the centre of Bruges. The room we booked was more than adequate and the price paid was, we felt, very reasonable.
A few things on the downside, bearing in mind we had just driven from the Austrian/German border so tiredness may well have been a factor, when we arrived even though we had been told we had a parking place reserved, I did get the impression it was a bit of a case of more luck than judgement that we actually got one, it was very busy. The fact that it does have parking though is a big bonus.
Again perhaps due to the long drive we had just done I found the receptionist efficient but bordering on unfriendly, not exactly welcoming.
The lift is somewhat quirky and we eventually chose to use the stairs, no real problem there, but just don't panic if it stops between floors, stay calm and read the, specific to that lift, instructions.
In the morning we were very happy with the breakfast and the staff in the breakfast room were lovely, very friendly, polite and efficient, couldn't have asked for more.
In the morning we had a couple of hours walking round the centre, my wife really enjoyed it, the buildings are very pretty and quaint all well manicured. I just felt it is now basically a place that caters solely for tourists, so many restuarants, chocolate shops, souvenir shops etc that it doesn't seem to have much, for want of a better word, soul.
But all in all, glad we went and the Flanders is as good as anywhere I'd say to stay

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed here one night when exploring Bruges - and didn't regret it at all. Fantastic location - a couple of minutes walk from the main square, on a nice quiet street.

Staff were very friendly, and knowledgeable. I didn't make use of the pool, as there's so much to see and do in Bruges!!

The bar is very classy with, and with free wi-fi at all times, and a 50% discount during happy hour (4-6pm) it started the evening very nicely.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Only thing to consider is that the bed I stayed in was very, very low - so probably not suitable for people with impaired mobility. Though maybe this was just my room!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJJChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,522 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#16 of 97 in Bruges
448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanders Hotel

Property: Flanders Hotel
Address: Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#17 Family Hotel in Bruges
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flanders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern yet cosy, family run - In historic city centre, 5 min walk from the Market Square and all main sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, LateRooms, Agoda, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing