We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything I look for in a city break”
Review of Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flanders Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Everything I look for in a city break”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

It tooks us approx. 25 mins to walk to the Flanders hotel from Bruges station, having quite a few stops to keep checking the map - quite easy to find with a good street map. Located slightly north east of the centre of Bruges, it took us about 10 minutes to walk into Markt Square, so an excellent location. Lots of restaurants around, so dining out is easy - you are just spoilt for choice! I would recommend you research restaurants on Trip Advisor before setting off. The hotel building is very old, but modernised inside. The bed was very comfortable, the room spotlessly clean, as was the bedding and fluffy towels. The buffet breakfast was good and always seemed to be topped up. The courtyard that leads out from the bar is lovely, and I can imagine this being very popular at happy hour (4-6) during the summer months. All in all, an excellet hotel, nothing to complain about at all, and I would definately stay here again if I return to Bruges.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val_G_England_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    673
    143
    36
    17
See reviews for
384
945
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
156 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The hotel is situated a little way outside of the main tourist hub - which is great as it's a little quieter and has some nicer restaurants close by.
The ground floor i.e. reception, bar and breakfast room seem to have been recently renovated so they have a real contemporary look. However the guest rooms are a little old-fashioned. We stayed on the 3rd floor our room (No.308) which was quite small and felt quite dated. However it was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable (probably the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in!). The breakfast is fab with a great selection and hotel staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tibbs0675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We chose this hotel as it was in a good position giving us easy access to central Bruges.

Whilst this is a 4* hotel we have stayed in better but for the price we paid we could not grumble and the bed was very comfortable giving us a great night’s sleep before embarking on a good breakfast and then a full days sightseeing.

The Barazar lounge bar is a great place to unwind after walking, going on a canal tour or a horse & carriage tour - especially between the hours of 4pm – 6pm which is ‘Happy Hour’. During ‘Happy Hour’ a Chardonnay and a Belgian Beer was less than €4 – not bad. The staff within the Barazar are very friendly.

The only disappointing point was that they didn’t have any restaurant facilities but with so many restaurants around this wasn’t a major issue. We ate at Park Restaurant (No.1 on TripAdvisor) and De Stove (No. 10 on TripAdvisor) which we would highly recommend.

Prior to arriving at Flanders Hotel I informed them that my Wife was celebrating her birthday on the day we arrived and although I was not expecting a bottle of Champagne – it would have been nice for the hotel to recognise this fact with a Birthday Card or a simple acknowledgement. Sadly nothing was forthcoming, unlike many other hotels we have stayed at in previous years – a sad reflection on the hotels customers service levels.

Although it is a good base it cannot be classed as a Romantic Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheOriginalBaldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I stayed here last weekend for one evening within a group of 6 girls. We had 2 triple rooms which were very spacious with 3 single beds , separate toilet and large bathroom with walk in shower - no bath but that didn't bother us - and a small balcony. We even had tea and coffee making facilities which you don't come across very often in Europe. The rooms were very clean and we think recently refurbished. The hotel itself was ideally situated and we thoroughly enjoyed the modern bar with half price drinks between 4-6pm ! Breakfast was served til 1030am and was also excellent with a lot of variety.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for a group of people and I would stay here again should I visit Bruges for a 5th time !!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NR1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel and its staff was very relaxing and the reception and all other staff welcoming and helpful. Room, whilst modest in size was very comfortable and clean, bathroom excellent and breakfast equally so and as selections of food ran down it was replenished automatically, irrespective of the time.
Used the bar a couple of times - service was friendly and efficient.
We asked staff to recommend and book a restaurant for dinner - the first chosen was booked out, the second was very good and found without prompting the staff.

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Recommended for both business and pleasure. Rooms are all quiet and some have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRH1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury,Wilts
Level Contributor
347 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here in late Feb 2012 for three nights. The room was very nice, lovely bathroom. Breakfast was great large selection of foods. The staff were very helpful especially when I forgot my continental plug the reception let me have one from their stock. It is close enough to the centre but in a quiet area and I felt very safe there. The only down side was the bar attatched to it. It looked very nice but we found the drinks the most expensive in the city. Even the happy hour prices were not cheap. Also the bar man was the rudest I have ever been served by. When I asked for 4 beers, small ones and a bottle of wine and 4 glasses I was told no by the barman and told "you people just take, take, take". Now I was celebrating my birthday and my friends wanted to toast my birthday. He made me feel very small as he did this in front of everyone in the place. My friend who was with me when this happened is a landlady and she said she had never seen anyone so rude and he would have been sacked in her pub. Well we voted with our feet and went elsewhere. Otherwise I would recommend this hotel but NOT the bar.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

it is ok
the superior room are not really special
theycharge for parking in thier yard 14 ero a day,,,

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanders Hotel

Property: Flanders Hotel
Address: Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#17 Family Hotel in Bruges
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flanders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern yet cosy, family run - In historic city centre, 5 min walk from the Market Square and all main sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing