We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in ideal location”
Review of Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flanders Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
East Sussex
8056
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Room Tip: Book an executive room on the third floor - these are very well appointed and spacious rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,817)
There are newer reviews for Flanders Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 1,817 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Stayed at the Flanders hotel last weekend with a party of 8. Had not been to Bruges before so were not sure of location but proved to be a good choice. It's a 10 minute stroll to the main square and other key parts of the City. It's a 12 Euro cab from the station. The rooms were ok although not spectacular and the beds comfy. All non smoking from my understanding but designated smoking areas outside including under heaters on the terrace.

The room we had was 206 and was a family room which was perfectly adequate. Bathroom etc was fine and slightly sunken bath/shower was lovely. Breakfast was good and as you'd expect in terms of choice. Bar was nice although pricy out of happy hour. Staff at the hotel very helpful and assisted with maps, directions, cabs etc.

Bruges itself was terrific. It's very pretty, compact and not overly expensive. The river tour is a nice way to see the buildings etc but the tour lacks any genuine story or history. The Brewery tour was good fun and value although a little slow due to the number of steep steps up and down. The guide was excellent.

A great weekend.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank dddunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We visited Bruges for a long weekend with four couples. We had a lovely room (no. 152) which had a huge bed, separate toilet and bathroom and patio doors (no balcony) which opened onto the courtyard by the bar.

Our friends had rooms which were on the side of the hotel where the building works are taking place and were woken up at around 7am by the builders, although one friend did say that she forgave them when they started whistling "Jingle Bells"!

The breakfast was perfectly sufficient (although no "full fry") but we all found it to have a good selection.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the centre and the reception staff were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and booking of tables and taxis.

We feel this hotel had everything we needed for a short break but do note that there is still building work taking place.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Flanders is an easy walk from the Burg and Markt squares and close to some good restaurants. Our room was warm and clean. The bathroom quite spacious with a good shower (no tub). The reception staff were welcoming and helpful. On the ground floor there is a largish, modern bar which seemed to be popular with both residents and locals. Bar prices were reasonable (for Bruges!). The breakfast room is on two levels but the breakfast buffet is only on the upper one (ground floor). The selection at breakfast is acceptable but not wildly exciting. The breakfast staff, again, were all friendly and helpful.

Above all this is a hotel for which we felt offered good value for money (which is not always the case in Bruges).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

It tooks us approx. 25 mins to walk to the Flanders hotel from Bruges station, having quite a few stops to keep checking the map - quite easy to find with a good street map. Located slightly north east of the centre of Bruges, it took us about 10 minutes to walk into Markt Square, so an excellent location. Lots of restaurants around, so dining out is easy - you are just spoilt for choice! I would recommend you research restaurants on Trip Advisor before setting off. The hotel building is very old, but modernised inside. The bed was very comfortable, the room spotlessly clean, as was the bedding and fluffy towels. The buffet breakfast was good and always seemed to be topped up. The courtyard that leads out from the bar is lovely, and I can imagine this being very popular at happy hour (4-6) during the summer months. All in all, an excellet hotel, nothing to complain about at all, and I would definately stay here again if I return to Bruges.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val_G_England_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The hotel is situated a little way outside of the main tourist hub - which is great as it's a little quieter and has some nicer restaurants close by.
The ground floor i.e. reception, bar and breakfast room seem to have been recently renovated so they have a real contemporary look. However the guest rooms are a little old-fashioned. We stayed on the 3rd floor our room (No.308) which was quite small and felt quite dated. However it was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable (probably the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever slept in!). The breakfast is fab with a great selection and hotel staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tibbs0675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We chose this hotel as it was in a good position giving us easy access to central Bruges.

Whilst this is a 4* hotel we have stayed in better but for the price we paid we could not grumble and the bed was very comfortable giving us a great night’s sleep before embarking on a good breakfast and then a full days sightseeing.

The Barazar lounge bar is a great place to unwind after walking, going on a canal tour or a horse & carriage tour - especially between the hours of 4pm – 6pm which is ‘Happy Hour’. During ‘Happy Hour’ a Chardonnay and a Belgian Beer was less than €4 – not bad. The staff within the Barazar are very friendly.

The only disappointing point was that they didn’t have any restaurant facilities but with so many restaurants around this wasn’t a major issue. We ate at Park Restaurant (No.1 on TripAdvisor) and De Stove (No. 10 on TripAdvisor) which we would highly recommend.

Prior to arriving at Flanders Hotel I informed them that my Wife was celebrating her birthday on the day we arrived and although I was not expecting a bottle of Champagne – it would have been nice for the hotel to recognise this fact with a Birthday Card or a simple acknowledgement. Sadly nothing was forthcoming, unlike many other hotels we have stayed at in previous years – a sad reflection on the hotels customers service levels.

Although it is a good base it cannot be classed as a Romantic Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheOriginalBaldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.2 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#19 of 97 in Bruges
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanders Hotel

Address: Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#17 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £91 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flanders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern yet cosy, family run - In historic city centre, 5 min walk from the Market Square and all main sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing