We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pricey youth hostel”
Review of Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flanders Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A pricey youth hostel”
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

Poor service, rooms not well maintained and very cheaply furnished (no natural light and very poor artificial lightning set-up). Very noisy, the pool filter worked all night and it was extremely noisy. European service standards, that is to say, very poor service (I asked for an adaptor to plug in my computer and off course they did not have one, but they answer rudely, also breakfast was Ok, but coffee is not self service and it got to the table once we we done eating). The wifi was ver frustrating, yes it is there, you can connect, but then it is so weak that it is hard to get anything in your computer. All in all, the overall package was one for a hotel that will charge half the price. Yes, location is good, but not unique. Explore the best western, better located.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    670
    142
    37
    16
See reviews for
379
940
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

By and large it was a good experience except for when we really needed service the most.We had spent the day wondering around a cold but beautiful Bruges. We arrived back to an even colder bedroom. Working in Facilities Management, I know how the air con should work but it didn't. The biggest annoyance was the girl on the desk who hadn't got a clue but was trying to convince us that she did. We reported the problem several times, including taking a trip downstairs to see the girl literally twiddling her hair as I and my partner remained in our igloo like room huddling under the duvet to keep warm. We were due to go out for our anniversary dinner, however it was so cold in the room, we were disinclined to change and we missed our dinner as a result
Apart from that everything was great, including the night manager who was friendly, welcoming and as helpful as he could be given the situation. It is ideally located and the price in comparison to other local hotels was affordable. The room we were initially given was a beautiful room, one of the new ones that had been refurbished recently. When we moved rooms (eventually) we were given a clean but very old room in need of some décor.
Breakfast was not 5* but pretty good choice for all.

Room Tip: Ask for a "Newer Room" as they have just upgraded some of the rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wills T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Flanders hotel last weekend with a party of 8. Had not been to Bruges before so were not sure of location but proved to be a good choice. It's a 10 minute stroll to the main square and other key parts of the City. It's a 12 Euro cab from the station. The rooms were ok although not spectacular and the beds comfy. All non smoking from my understanding but designated smoking areas outside including under heaters on the terrace.

The room we had was 206 and was a family room which was perfectly adequate. Bathroom etc was fine and slightly sunken bath/shower was lovely. Breakfast was good and as you'd expect in terms of choice. Bar was nice although pricy out of happy hour. Staff at the hotel very helpful and assisted with maps, directions, cabs etc.

Bruges itself was terrific. It's very pretty, compact and not overly expensive. The river tour is a nice way to see the buildings etc but the tour lacks any genuine story or history. The Brewery tour was good fun and value although a little slow due to the number of steep steps up and down. The guide was excellent.

A great weekend.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dddunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

We visited Bruges for a long weekend with four couples. We had a lovely room (no. 152) which had a huge bed, separate toilet and bathroom and patio doors (no balcony) which opened onto the courtyard by the bar.

Our friends had rooms which were on the side of the hotel where the building works are taking place and were woken up at around 7am by the builders, although one friend did say that she forgave them when they started whistling "Jingle Bells"!

The breakfast was perfectly sufficient (although no "full fry") but we all found it to have a good selection.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the centre and the reception staff were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and booking of tables and taxis.

We feel this hotel had everything we needed for a short break but do note that there is still building work taking place.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The Flanders is an easy walk from the Burg and Markt squares and close to some good restaurants. Our room was warm and clean. The bathroom quite spacious with a good shower (no tub). The reception staff were welcoming and helpful. On the ground floor there is a largish, modern bar which seemed to be popular with both residents and locals. Bar prices were reasonable (for Bruges!). The breakfast room is on two levels but the breakfast buffet is only on the upper one (ground floor). The selection at breakfast is acceptable but not wildly exciting. The breakfast staff, again, were all friendly and helpful.

Above all this is a hotel for which we felt offered good value for money (which is not always the case in Bruges).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

It tooks us approx. 25 mins to walk to the Flanders hotel from Bruges station, having quite a few stops to keep checking the map - quite easy to find with a good street map. Located slightly north east of the centre of Bruges, it took us about 10 minutes to walk into Markt Square, so an excellent location. Lots of restaurants around, so dining out is easy - you are just spoilt for choice! I would recommend you research restaurants on Trip Advisor before setting off. The hotel building is very old, but modernised inside. The bed was very comfortable, the room spotlessly clean, as was the bedding and fluffy towels. The buffet breakfast was good and always seemed to be topped up. The courtyard that leads out from the bar is lovely, and I can imagine this being very popular at happy hour (4-6) during the summer months. All in all, an excellet hotel, nothing to complain about at all, and I would definately stay here again if I return to Bruges.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val_G_England_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#10 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanders Hotel

Property: Flanders Hotel
Address: Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#17 Family Hotel in Bruges
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flanders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern yet cosy, family run - In historic city centre, 5 min walk from the Market Square and all main sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing