We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flanders Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel during the month of april 2013.
The hotel was decent but lacked the "wow factor" that other 4star hotels can have, its just a good hotel but nothing more.
The personal (all of them) are really very nice.
Our room was good but the beds were very very soft and it was very hot in the room, the door didn't close well, there are no international tv channels on the tv (no cnn no bbc,,......)
The bathroom was recently renewed there is no bad just a large shower, there also were no closets in the bathroom so you can't place you belongings.The prices of the minibar are cheap for a 4 star hotel that was a good surprise.
Breakfast was very good (just the coffee was not that great).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandGretel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    662
    142
    37
    16
See reviews for
374
929
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

The Flanders hotel was an excellent start to our holiday, the friendly reception staff stored our cases in the reception while we toured the medieval city. When we got back we checked into a beautiful room which was well furnished and tastefully decorated. I particularly liked the page illuminated picture behind the bed and the large shower. The reception staff gave us guidance for our evening meal and we walked around the corner to three possible restaurants before choosing one. Returing to the room, the curtains provided a superb blackout and we slept soundly. The late breakfast enabled us to rise gently without pressure and was well appreciated. The bar in the late afternoon was superb and I drew the environment on the iPad.
See more of my art at my website: www.craig-longmuir.co.uk

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CraigLongmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We recently stayed at The Flanders for three nights. It is B+B only, but , the choice of food for breakfast is excellent, The rooms were modern and spotlessly clean and the staff were more than helpful no matter what your question. There was a swimming pool but we didn't use it as there wasn't a shower. If I have a complaint its that the music in the bar in the evenings was a little too loud for us, but was turned down when we asked, so, overall it was a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: We were in 351 on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 749misschris749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We booked the Flanders Hotel in Bruges a few days before we travelled and needed parking. Our car is quite large and so we were concerned that we had good sized parking spaces. Well what an amazing hotel. We couldn't fault it, it was easy to find using sat nav, despite on of the bridges across the canal being closed. The parking was well signed and the spaces a great size given we were so close to the main squares. This is not our first visit to the City and so were really pleased with this choice of hotel. We Were early to arrive and so asked if we could drop our bags off and then come back later. The wonderfully helpful receptionist said a room was ready and we were welcome to check in early. The rooms are a good size, very clean and nice and modern. Beds very comfortable and linen nice. Tea and coffee were available and when we asked for some additional milk, they supplied fresh milk which was very unexpected. The bar is great, really good wine, beer and cocktails and the barman very friendly. We used the swimming pool which again was a great bonus. Breakfast is served in a lovely area, great selection and again, everything very clean and great service. Couldn't fault this hotel or the staff - great find.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisedolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milnrow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Let's face it, wherever you are staying in Bruges that's within the outer canal ring, you're never too far away from the centre of things. The Flanders Hotel is a small-ish place (51 rooms I think) and this allows the personal touch to shine through. Quality rooms that are comfortable and well appointed. Our most recent stay landed us at the top of the house in room 351 which was a fabulous room in the roof space.

The staff are first rate and the breakfast offering very high quality. With a swimming pool and on site parking, the stay is well catered for. We transferred as foot passengers from Zeebrugge and strolled through the old town from the station drop-off. Returning, we picked up a bus from outside the hotel for €2 each.

Everything we did whilst in Brugges was within easy reach of the hotel and a carreallyis not needed in this compact historic city.

Room Tip: We had room 351 and assume it's one of the best as it features in their marketing. A lift serve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

nice cozy hotel excellent and personal attention, very good, excellent to have a good stay in Bruges during your vacation, or romantic weekend,

I personally recomiento the hotel, its location, central, easily accessible.

A greeting.

Room Tip: if I am several friends or catch famila ideal family room where you can be together and the price ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel but we spent a lot of time drinking in their bar - really reasonably priced drinks, lots of complimentary snacks. lovely comfortable environment, and really good service, if the common parts of the hotel (inc toilets) are any thing to go by i'd bet the hotel would be lovely to stay in too!
Good location too, about 5-minute walk to the main square.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanders Hotel

Property: Flanders Hotel
Address: Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#17 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flanders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern yet cosy, family run - In historic city centre, 5 min walk from the Market Square and all main sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing