We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Friendly and Good Location”
Review of Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flanders Hotel
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Warm, Friendly and Good Location”
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights B&B for a birthday treat for the wife. I had contacted the hotel prior to arriving to get directions on how to reach them from Brussels main train station. There was a prompt and quick response which was full of helpful information which was typical of all the staff during our stay.

We stayed in a superior room, 'number 304' which overlooked the main street. It had all the main comforts you could need and was bright and welcoming in its appearence. The breakfast had a good choice of hot and cold dishes with fresh fruit, youghurts and pastries in abundance.

I felt that the location of this hotel was great as it was just far enough away from the centre 'Markt' only about 5-7 mins walk, but it was also near some great restaurants and beautiful scenary that you walked through each day and evening.

We couldn't falt the staff as they were all so helpful with local knowledge and tips of where to eat out and also vist some of the less touristy spots. If we were to visit Bruges again we would choose this hotel again. My only minus point was that smoking is still allowed in the bar.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LardyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    905
    673
    143
    36
    17
See reviews for
384
945
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2009

For my first visit to Belgium I had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel as the staff went out of their way to be very friendly and informative speaking amazing English. With great recommendations for local evening food.
The hotel and our room was very clean and modern also set in a great location with sights, shops and restaurants within walking distance.
Also a wide choice of food for breakfast was available. The hotel even has a small pool to relax in.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at the Flanders Hotel, it's a high quality hotel but still feels personel & friendly.

I had never been to Belgium before & therefore had lots of questions for the staff. Isobelle & Steve at reception both spent time with guests, giving directions, making recommendations for trips or where to eat etc & the advice was always spot on. We ate at 2 resaturants they recommended & the food & service at both were great.

The hotel really tries to please it's English guests, with hot breakfasts, BBC & ITV available in your room, & English spoken so well by the staff, in particular Steve at reception, I (wrongly) assumed he was English!

Our room was great - spacious & nicely decorated with a modern bathroom. Good location just 5-10 minute walk to market square but lots of better places to eat & drink within a 2 minute walk.

Overall a really enjoyable stay, even though I was there on business, the hotel did it's best to make sure I had a good time.

Kerry Townsend

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryannSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We stayed here on our first trip to Bruges. It was the perfect base to explore the wonderful city from. The friendly and informative staff gave helpful recommendations to us especially for very good food locally. Our room was very clean, very well serviced throughout our four day stay. Breakfast was better than advertised with plenty of choice and the most helpful of staff. There is an excellent and easily accessed car park

Alan and Liz, St Albans, Herts, England.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbeyFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2009

Reception was friendly and efficient, rooms clean and (very) warm. As mentioned above the breakfast was first class. Well positioned within walking distance of all major sites.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ensor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2009

I went to Bruges with my girlfriend for a romantic weekend and was very pleased with my choice of hotel. Impressions are excellent from the start with a very modern and clean reception area. The staff at the reception desk really went out of there way to recommend the finest restaurants and the best attractions in town. We tried his recommendations and they all proved to be top notch. One place he recommended had a choice of 400 beers and is well worth a visit, even for just the grub.
The room was very clean, spacious and had a comfy bed.
All in all this was a great deal as breakfast was included and it was only a 5 min walk to the centre of town. Only a 15 min walk from the train station which is also very handy.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

I recently stayed at the Flanders Hotel which was easily accessible by foot from the main sights. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Room clean and smart, slippers and robes provided! TV channels tuned to UK channels! Great shower and very comfortable bed. Loved the breakfast, buffet style, lots of choice. Bruges is a compact city, lots of lovely sights. The only downside was the price of meals in local restaurants, but that was mainly due to the poor value of the euro to the pound. Also I understand the VAT is high in Belgium. Try quieter side streets away from the main square for cheaper meals. Some good value restaurants down by the Beginjhof area. Boat trip is worth doing, interesting facts and commentary. Chocolate Museum also worth a visit, though lot of stairs involved. Diamond Museum not so good - distinct lack of diamonds in my opinion! All in all, a great hotel, no complaints and a very interesting city. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireBuddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.3 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanders Hotel

Property: Flanders Hotel
Address: Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#17 Family Hotel in Bruges
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flanders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern yet cosy, family run - In historic city centre, 5 min walk from the Market Square and all main sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing