We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flanders Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

We have just returned from 4 nights in Bruges at the Flanders Hotel. The hotel is a great location just a few minutes walk from the main squares. The staff were excellent -very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great. What we saw of the hotel looked modern and spotless and our room -on the 3rd floor was just great-quiet and peaceful, modern and with everything in excellent condition.
We would heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bansteadfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    661
    142
    37
    16
See reviews for
372
929
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cambs, uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

As our driver dropped us off he informed us that it was one of the better hotels in bruges. As we picked the first cab from the station we can be fairly confident that he was not bribed! Staff were helpful and spoke excellent english. We were very happy with our room which was elegantly presented in a modern style (superior plus) and the extra comfy gigantic bed made us sleep far more than we meant to. Some nice creature comforts (dressing gowns/ slippers/ toiletries etc) and lovely hot water for bubble baths.
Breakfast was good with bacon and eggs aswell as the normal continental fare. We enjoyed a few hours in the bar as well. Friendly staff and a great, reasonably priced selection of beers and cocktails.
Bruges is picturesque and perhaps best described as a chilled out Venice. It's probably best experienced in the sunshine. We highly recommend it for a city break. The boat trip particularly was worth the 6 euros. We explored the whole city by foot and there are beautiful builings/views at every turn. The downside of this is that the local authorities are apparently reluctant to spoil the facades with cash machines so be warned - go with supplies of cash. The one ATM we found was out of order and not everywhere takes cards.
Many thanks to the staff - we found them very easy to talk to and helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Nicola and Will Miers

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkikearns30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

This is a one strange hotel - it's kinda Frankenstein made up of two different parts - one's modern and the other isn't :-) The bar is in the modern part and is really trendy with load of black leather and marble. If you're lucky there's also a nice chatty barmaid (or a bit depressed lady owner, if you're not that lucky) who will make you feel very welcome. Yep, this is the main problem. The whole stuff is very nice and helpful, but the owner, who sometimes appears behind the bar or reception desk will let you know, that she's doing you a favour by serving customers directly and she'll make sure to spoil your stay. She doesn't even hide the fact, that she's prejudiced against certain races as she can be bit rude and avoids an eye contact with Black people (yes, I can vouch for that). Don't leave anything in the only fridge in the reception, like baby milk etc.), because the owner isn't very keen to fetch it from the fridge without involving the housekeeper and unleashing the whole chain of command, even the fridge is next to her - she just "doesn't do that" personally!
There's a lottery with the rooms too. Some are in the new wing and are nice, but for example the family room with three/four beds are cramped next to the back entrance with the charming view of the car park and overwhelming smell of chlorine from the nearby swimming pool. Yes, there's a mini swimming pool which is quite fun.
Breakfast is very nice and served in a small veranda type room with the view of a mini garden with fountain and some koi carp. The only word of advice is: never bring the breakfast to your room as you will be charge double for the room service! Very weird, that you have to pay for something you do yourself and the charge on your bill will appear as a "room service". Twenty euro for that priviledge. Make sure you give yourself a tip.
Flanders Hotel is well located on a quiet street, but not as well as Martin's or Crown Plaza. Take your left after leaving the hotel and walk for about 15 mins and you're right in the centre of Bruges. There are some shops nearby if you need to buy a bottle of mineral water, cigarettes or a pint of Leffe. There are also some small local pubs and cosy restaurants nearby on your right.
Stay there if you travel as a couple and make sure to book the suite. The rest isn't worth it - especially the family rooms. It's a mystery why this hotel displays four stars, but confusion seems to be Bruges' speciality

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyGuyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanders_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2009
We greatly regret the experience as described by ‘FamilyGuy’ and the fact that we were not directly informed of these grievances when or shortly after clients say to have stayed with us late last year. Flanders Hotel prides itself on optimal customer care and has, over the years, accumulated a great number of accolades from guests and the hotel industry alike, referring directly to the quality of our staff and the services they perform. This in line with the general consensus on our hotel on this very site, as well as other similar databases.

The management has somewhat of an idea which former member of staff is foremost being referred to and have to stress that she was never part of the hotel management team, let alone a (co-)owner of the hotel. She left the company in February of this year and therefore these occurrences, no matter how they came about, wil not be repeated. Without knowing the clients identity we are unable to look into the ‘breakfast issue’ in detail, though we understand very little of what could have possibly gone on, with the regular charge for a very lush breakfast tray that includes items not available at the buffet to be brought to the room being €12, not €20.

We take this opportunity to extend our sincerest apologies to the client in case of having been offended as described and also to assure anyone who reads this that all our accommodation is of similar standard. With intention, we do however not offer a chain-like product and the style and precise lay-out of our rooms does differ, matching the architectural and cultural nature of Bruges’ historic inner-city. Clients who plan to stay with us may for example, at the time of booking, wish to request a more traditional or a more contemporarily furnished room and we are nearly always able to take this into account when allocating rooms on the day of arrival.

Finally, on a lighter note and in all fairness to her, we do need to point out that poor old Sybil Fawlty was by far the more professional of the two and we probably wouldn’t even hesitate to employ her ourselves (bar the excessive flirting with young men perhaps).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

We came upon the Flanders Hotel by chance and what a lucky find. Freindly, comfortable and well appointed - even has a little swimming pool. Excellent breakfast and several excellent restuarants nearby for the evening meal. If you have a car the hoel parking is a god send as all sightseeing is done on foot or by boat. Well done Flanders you were our salvation after a cold miserable and wet drive.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValHexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenH77
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

I've just returned from a 1 night break to Bruges.
My husband and I stayed at the Flanders Hotel and found it to be excellent.
Slightly off the beaten track - but still only a 5 min walk to Market Square. I asked for local recommendations from the front desk and was given a few tips on the best spots for beer / food / coffee's - all tips where spot one.
The breakfast at the hotel was very nice - it's self service and has all that you need.
Overall I had a fantastic trip to Bruges and would be happy to stay at the Flanders hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

My husband & I spent 4 nights at the Flanders Hotel just before Easter. It was perfect for a city break - fantastic location, excellent service, modern, clean and with very knowledgeable staff who were never too busy to provide advice on places to eat or visit.
We stayed in a superior room that was spacious and comfortable; breakfast was excellent and the bar had a modern but relaxed atmosphere.
The hotel made some excellent recommendations for supper - several of which mirrored Trip Advisor recommended restaurants.
Bruges itself is a beautiful city and highly recommended for a relaxing short break & I'd return to the city and to the Flanders Hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeDee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights B&B for a birthday treat for the wife. I had contacted the hotel prior to arriving to get directions on how to reach them from Brussels main train station. There was a prompt and quick response which was full of helpful information which was typical of all the staff during our stay.

We stayed in a superior room, 'number 304' which overlooked the main street. It had all the main comforts you could need and was bright and welcoming in its appearence. The breakfast had a good choice of hot and cold dishes with fresh fruit, youghurts and pastries in abundance.

I felt that the location of this hotel was great as it was just far enough away from the centre 'Markt' only about 5-7 mins walk, but it was also near some great restaurants and beautiful scenary that you walked through each day and evening.

We couldn't falt the staff as they were all so helpful with local knowledge and tips of where to eat out and also vist some of the less touristy spots. If we were to visit Bruges again we would choose this hotel again. My only minus point was that smoking is still allowed in the bar.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LardyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
0.6 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.3 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#9 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanders Hotel

Property: Flanders Hotel
Address: Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#17 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flanders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern yet cosy, family run - In historic city centre, 5 min walk from the Market Square and all main sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing