We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flanders Hotel
Ranked #19 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I booked this hotel direct with them via e-mail and they were very helpful with my questions and requests.
Upon arrival we were early for check-in though the lady on reception did see if our room was available it was not and we were able to leave our luggage and return any time after 2pm to check-in. We booked a superior + room and were not disappointed, comfy bed, small shared balcony and large shower.
We were only there for one night and would have loved to have stayed longer to be honest, Bruges did not disappoint though we purposefully left a couple of must do's for a return visit! At which time I'm certain we won't hesitate to stay at The Flanders once more!
Great breakfast, lovely bar, all staff we encountered were most helpful, great location. I would most definitley recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kashmir28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    679
    149
    36
    17
See reviews for
396
957
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Booked a 3 night stay and with my wife being pregnant, we thought it would be nice to stay at the Flanders and have a quick dip in the pool after a day sightseeing. Unfortunately, the pool was closed on arrival and stayed closed the whole stay - due to technical issues!
Our room - 121 - was disappointing for a room in a 4* hotel. It was above the pool at the back of the hotel, up some particularly steep stairs that would never have got past UK building regs! The room was well-sized and the bed was comfortable but the decor was tired (orange) and disappointing.
The reception staff and breakfast were both very good and the public areas look nice - but we don't tend to spend our time in these areas.
We normally book well and research meticulously but this was disappointing. You just can't be sure whether your room will look like the ones on their website or the real-life pics on here!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyboy19762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dumbarton, scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

The Hotel Flanders is a central address that buses 6 and 16 from the town’s train station run by. The main market square, the Grote Markt is a brisk ten minute walk away. While it’s a short journey, a dearth of pavements between the Station and the historic Centre make shanks’ mare most inadvisable for anyone carting luggage
The hotel has a handsome white façade and a fine reception area. Moving further inside, the bar has a funky yet elegant look and there is a late afternoon happy hour .
Upstairs corridors seem a little dingy and dated, with aging art prints. Although a wee bit lacking in character, rooms are wonderfully comfortable and spotlessly clean. Bathrooms are excellent .
The hotel has a pool-replete with robes for hire- but this is best described as ”bijou” and looks mobbed with more than one swimmer therein.
Safety deposit boxes are available, but down by reception. Although helpful staff were assiduous about security, an actual safe in the room would have been more to my liking.
One beef in my book would have to be the over-loud piped music that tweely pervades reception and breakfast area first thing in the morning. While said breakfast was excellent and served with a smile, cheesy, 100% unsolicited sound effects didn’t enhance this punter’s most important meal of the day. It’s a total when you are trying to talk business with reception staff or rifling through the contents of your safety deposit box when under the gun for time .
The hotel's location on Langestraat is peaceful on the edge of the historic Centre . It is bustling without being noisy or rowdy and at a remove from tourist crowds. Whilst somewhat lacking in raw excitement, the Flanders is a safe mid-budget bet for your stay in this magnificent west Flemish burg.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fidelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2009

What a find! A gorgeous, comfortable, hotel in a stunning building, gracious staff, and a 5 minute walk to the square, shopping, and museums, Hotel Flanders was our base in Brugges. Wonderfully priced, and including an abundent buffet breakfast, we look forward to our stay there the next time we are in Brugges, a town so historically perfect we could have used a few more days to explore all it has to offer.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wenderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Stayed one night in a superior + room. Room and bed were comfortable enough, however the toilet was seperate from the bathroom and didn't have a washbasin. The buffet breakfast was good but with the emphasis on the cold meats rather than the warm items.

The hotel is about five minutes walk from the main square and there is some limited parking in front on the street which is free from 19h00 to 9h00.

I paid about 118 Euros for a double with breakfast which seemed reasonable for Brugge.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

This was the first trip my husband and I had made to Bruges. The hotel staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. We had a spotless, comfortable room -nice to have a bath as well as a shower. The breakfasts are buffet style and include a variety of hot and cold dishes to make your selection from. The hotel has a small swimming pool - a welcome refreshing break after a day of serious sightseeing. The hotel also has a very classy bar which is great for a quiet drink .The hotel is about ten minutes walk from the two main squares ( the 'Burg' and the 'Markt' ) in the old centre of Bruges. There are also numerous restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycouple72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livingston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We would recomend the Hotel Flanders, near the centre of Brugge its a great location, and the staff are real good with local info, its clean and friendly, with very good staff, also a great location for a nice stroll into the town.
many thanks chris and sia

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kringal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#16 of 97 in Bruges
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanders Hotel

Property: Flanders Hotel
Address: Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#17 Family Hotel in Bruges
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Flanders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern yet cosy, family run - In historic city centre, 5 min walk from the Market Square and all main sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing