We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay”
Review of Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flanders Hotel
Ranked #21 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Stayed at the Hotel Flanders from the 19th September until the 20th.This was our eigth stay and cannot fault the service of all the staff that work at the hotel.We have watched the extesion being renovated over the years and it certainly has added value to the hotel.The bar staff are very obliging and friendly never mind the time of day or night.We shall be staying again this year during the Christmas Market's.Certainly recommend without hesitation.

Thank Woody023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2009

I booked this hotel direct with them via e-mail and they were very helpful with my questions and requests.
Upon arrival we were early for check-in though the lady on reception did see if our room was available it was not and we were able to leave our luggage and return any time after 2pm to check-in. We booked a superior + room and were not disappointed, comfy bed, small shared balcony and large shower.
We were only there for one night and would have loved to have stayed longer to be honest, Bruges did not disappoint though we purposefully left a couple of must do's for a return visit! At which time I'm certain we won't hesitate to stay at The Flanders once more!
Great breakfast, lovely bar, all staff we encountered were most helpful, great location. I would most definitley recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kashmir28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Booked a 3 night stay and with my wife being pregnant, we thought it would be nice to stay at the Flanders and have a quick dip in the pool after a day sightseeing. Unfortunately, the pool was closed on arrival and stayed closed the whole stay - due to technical issues!
Our room - 121 - was disappointing for a room in a 4* hotel. It was above the pool at the back of the hotel, up some particularly steep stairs that would never have got past UK building regs! The room was well-sized and the bed was comfortable but the decor was tired (orange) and disappointing.
The reception staff and breakfast were both very good and the public areas look nice - but we don't tend to spend our time in these areas.
We normally book well and research meticulously but this was disappointing. You just can't be sure whether your room will look like the ones on their website or the real-life pics on here!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannyboy19762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

The Hotel Flanders is a central address that buses 6 and 16 from the town’s train station run by. The main market square, the Grote Markt is a brisk ten minute walk away. While it’s a short journey, a dearth of pavements between the Station and the historic Centre make shanks’ mare most inadvisable for anyone carting luggage
The hotel has a handsome white façade and a fine reception area. Moving further inside, the bar has a funky yet elegant look and there is a late afternoon happy hour .
Upstairs corridors seem a little dingy and dated, with aging art prints. Although a wee bit lacking in character, rooms are wonderfully comfortable and spotlessly clean. Bathrooms are excellent .
The hotel has a pool-replete with robes for hire- but this is best described as ”bijou” and looks mobbed with more than one swimmer therein.
Safety deposit boxes are available, but down by reception. Although helpful staff were assiduous about security, an actual safe in the room would have been more to my liking.
One beef in my book would have to be the over-loud piped music that tweely pervades reception and breakfast area first thing in the morning. While said breakfast was excellent and served with a smile, cheesy, 100% unsolicited sound effects didn’t enhance this punter’s most important meal of the day. It’s a total when you are trying to talk business with reception staff or rifling through the contents of your safety deposit box when under the gun for time .
The hotel's location on Langestraat is peaceful on the edge of the historic Centre . It is bustling without being noisy or rowdy and at a remove from tourist crowds. Whilst somewhat lacking in raw excitement, the Flanders is a safe mid-budget bet for your stay in this magnificent west Flemish burg.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fidelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

What a find! A gorgeous, comfortable, hotel in a stunning building, gracious staff, and a 5 minute walk to the square, shopping, and museums, Hotel Flanders was our base in Brugges. Wonderfully priced, and including an abundent buffet breakfast, we look forward to our stay there the next time we are in Brugges, a town so historically perfect we could have used a few more days to explore all it has to offer.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank Wenderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Stayed one night in a superior + room. Room and bed were comfortable enough, however the toilet was seperate from the bathroom and didn't have a washbasin. The buffet breakfast was good but with the emphasis on the cold meats rather than the warm items.

The hotel is about five minutes walk from the main square and there is some limited parking in front on the street which is free from 19h00 to 9h00.

I paid about 118 Euros for a double with breakfast which seemed reasonable for Brugge.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

This was the first trip my husband and I had made to Bruges. The hotel staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. We had a spotless, comfortable room -nice to have a bath as well as a shower. The breakfasts are buffet style and include a variety of hot and cold dishes to make your selection from. The hotel has a small swimming pool - a welcome refreshing break after a day of serious sightseeing. The hotel also has a very classy bar which is great for a quiet drink .The hotel is about ten minutes walk from the two main squares ( the 'Burg' and the 'Markt' ) in the old centre of Bruges. There are also numerous restaurants in the vicinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycouple72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,290 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.3 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#27 of 97 in Bruges
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanders Hotel

Address: Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#17 Family Hotel in Bruges
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £73 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flanders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern yet cosy, family run - In historic city centre, 5 min walk from the Market Square and all main sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing