We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great breakfast, friendly staff.”
Review of Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flanders Hotel
Ranked #20 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We had a comfortable, quiet, standard room at the back of the hotel overlooking the fountain and fish pond. Bathroom roomy. Everything very clean and in good condition. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,826)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,826 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2009

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Flanders Hotel and would definately recommend it to anyone considering a trip to Bruges. The Hotel is wonderfully positioned a short walk from Burg and Markt Squares, the room was airey, clean and tidy with a very large and comfortable bed! The staff were excellent, spoke fantastic English (puts us to sham!) and were extremely helpful, with everyone including the bar staff providing us with good advice and recommendations about where to eat etc. It was so refereshing to stay at a hotel where they were not simply trying to squeeze every last Euro out of you - they were more interested in ensuring we had a pleasant time in Bruges. I would also recommend the hotel's bar, as unlike other hotels we have stayed in, the drinks in the hotel bar (particulary the beer) was comparible with that in Bruges town.

Bruges itself is beautiful, we took some lovely walks and a boat trip on the canal and found we were spoilt for choice when it came to eating given the vast numbers of lovely cafes and restaurants to eat in. We did not feel eating out to be particularly expensive as we felt what we received on each evening was fresh and extremely tasty. On average over the 3 nights we paid between 50 to 60 Euros for dinner for 2 (2 and 3 course meals) and this included wine with the meal. You could go cheaper and you could you go more expensive - there is something for everyone's taste.

All in all we had a lovely short break and I believe Flanders Hotel provided a level of service and attention I have not experienced for quite some time. I will definaltely be recommending this hotel to friends and family and any future trips to Bruges would definaltey mean a stay a the Flanders Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EPMCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

My daughter & I have just enjoyed a week in the Flanders in Brugges. It is a clean, comfortable & very well positioned hotel a 10 minute walk to the centre of the sights of Brugge & its wonderful churches, architecture & shops, especially the numerous chocolate shops. The room we had was very comfortable & was kept spotlessly clean, with fresh towels each day. The staff are very helpful & courteous, & do everything they can to make your stay a good experience. I would highly recommend this hotel. The only downside to our visit was the cost of eating out, it is very expensive, it is a shame the Flanders don't do an evening meal because I am sure it would be as delicious as their breakfasts, they are buffet style, plentiful, both continental & English in comfortable surroundings.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARYLOUESSEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Flanders Hotel is a lovely hotel. The facilities are very modern especially the bar area & the rooms are a good size with a nice modern bathroom. My only complaint would be the beds (single) are a tad on the small size more like a 2.6 & a bit uncomfy but other that that i couldn't fault it.

The location of this hotel is also great as was only a few minutes walk from the markt & burg & plenty of other attractions.

The staff at the hotel were all extremely friendly & helpful and they all spoke superb English which always helps. Probably the best staff i have come across in a hotel.

Bruges is a lovely place to visit. It's buildings & canals are fantasic & it's such a clean & tidy place would deffinetly go back. My only compliant is how expensive the food is, but then again that's probably because the pounds so bad against the euro.

Alltogether i had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleekjaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Stayed at the Flanders for two nights, (Friday & Saturday) - booked via internet. Enquired on-line about a parking space before we left - this was waiting for us on arrival - pay on check out (12 euros a day).
Arrived early afternoon and all was ready for us - superior rooms on the 1st floor. Rooms were very well appointed including gown and slippers - and extremely clean
Only comment on the rooms - they were a bit on the dark side - even with the lights on. Many hotels seem to be like this - rather dark. these rooms had a separate toilet to the bathroom - useful.
The bar had a happy hour for 2 hours each day - prices, even though the euro is a disaster, were not too bad.
Breakfast was adequate - scrambled egg & bacon, toast, cerials, fruit juices, fresh fruit, ham etc, all buffet style
Location was a short walk to the main square - there were plenty of restauants local to the hotel if needed - but all restaurants in Brugge are appearing dear - it,s that euro again!
All in all - we had a brilliant time and would certainly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melvynevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2009

This was our first holiday/break with our new 3m old baby. We booked a bigger room which turned out to be on the front of the hotel which was great. A travel cot was provided, which was a good standard (we had brought our own just in case), and the room/bathroom was lovely and modern. Only slight issues were the steps down to our corridor - only 3, but with a pram a bit of a pain, and they are currently digging up the cobbles outside which made a dreadful racket (especially as we have had a summer of pain from our pavements being dug up at home!) Breakfast good and the hotel was really busy so a good atmosphere. There was a happy hour on but we didn't go because of the baby.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanton0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Also booked a Eurostar trip for 3 nights. The hotel is a comfortable 15-20 minute walk from the station through the main part of the city which was very convenient. It also has some great restaurants in the same street. The staff were all very knowledgeable and helpful and the breakfast has a great sellection of food. The bar off reception was also fantastic - offering half price drinks between 4pm and 6pm (which was very welcome after a day of walking and eating!).

The rooms were spotless and very well equipped (bath robe, slippers, tea/coffee etc). The only complaint we had was that we stayed in a room facing the street so the street noise kept us up.

I will definitely be staying here again if I go back to Bruges!

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Meg0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Navarra Brugge
Hotel Navarra Brugge
#15 of 97 in Bruges
2,252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#23 of 97 in Bruges
1,558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
0.2 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flanders Hotel

Address: Langestraat 38, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#17 Family Hotel in Bruges
#17 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £82 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flanders Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern yet cosy, family run - In historic city centre, 5 min walk from the Market Square and all main sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing