We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Hotel de Goezeput

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Goezeput
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Hotel Goezeput is really nice for a short stay in Bruges. I had all the comfort I needed; good breakfast, good shower, clean and good room, really good bed, quick heating and a friendly staff. Its located 5 minutes from the main square, still is a very quiet neighbourhood, I slept at the streetside and could not here a thing. I'll sure come back when I'm back in lovely Bruges

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hotel is about a five minute walk from the two main squares, the Markt and the Burg and also about five or ten minute walk from the train station. The hotel was very clean, the staff friendly and the breakfast a typical continental buffet. The beds were very comfortable the room a good size, the shower room was compact but the shower was lovely. The room had excellent heating, it was cold when we arrived but within about half an hour the room was lovely and warm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor as they have beutiful beams
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan504022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Stayed 3/01/12 -06/01/12 - I was charmed by this hotel from the beginning with its blend of old and new. The doors open to a wooden staircase leading up to our room. All the floors are polished oak and the room was charming (although quite small) will a good size bed and nice quality sheets. The bathroom was in an installed vestibule in the corner of the room and the toilet was dirty; we also found a pair of children's underwear on the top shelf of the clothes shelves on the wall. We had quite a busy stay so we did not get a chance to tell them (we just didn't use the top-shelf!) There was no safe in the room either but plenty of plug sockets which was very convenient! The breakfast buffet was fabulous! Huge variety of food (although the coffee was horrible, sorry - and no English breakfast or earl grey teas?) and even bright and early the staff are lovely and always smiling (particularly the blonde lady who checked us out). Finally- to our disappointment we realised as we were packing that the novelty Brugge Zot glasses were taken by the cleaner! I have no idea why that would happen and I would quite like them back, but what can you do? Nothing else was taken so we assumed they may have thought we took them from their bar, which we did not!
Either way the hotel is such good value, comfy beds, friendly service and great breakfasts...
It is hard to say I would not still recommend the place to anyone who goes to Brugge!

Room Tip: The smaller rooms have tiny bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alix_Whyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karel_lievens, Owner at Hotel de Goezeput, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay and review.
About your glasses of Brugse Zot, people order a lot in the bar to take it the room and than glasses are brought back to clean, so this is a mistake, we can always send them to you if you want? Why did you ask for it? Safes are getting installed this weekend into the rooms.

Hopefully you had a nice time in Bruges.

Kind regards,

Karel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I visit Bruges every year, since i know Hotel Goezeput i always go back to this spot!
Very nice friendly host, comfortable rooms and beds!
It's a nice and cosy place.
I travel a lot and stayed in a lot of different hotels, for me the Goezeput gets a 10/10!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoardnBreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed 29&30/12/11. A charming, 17th century building, with old twisting staircase leading up to delightful, wooden-beamed rooms and oak floors polished to a deep bronze sheen. Our room was up in the eaves and looked down the cobbled road, across ancient rooftops to the floodlit church tower. Simply delightful. Excellent twin beds, wonderful, firm mattresses, new pillows and high quality bed linen. We had two nights of great sleep. Newly installed, tiny ensuite shower room with large, thick towels. It was quite cold in Bruges and the room's heating was great, responding immediately to changes. Breakfast had a good array of ham, cheeses, boiled eggs, croissants and bread. When we stayed there were no room-safes but these are about to be installed. It would be perfect if there were tea/coffee making facilities and a small fridge in the room. There are a variety of extremely good restaurants just around the corner in T'Sand and it is within a short, easy walk of the Markt and Bruges centre. There is huge underground parking under T'Sand but the entrance is tricky to find being off the Bruges Ring.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are up in the eaves and are beautifully atmospheric.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue_the_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We arrived and knew immediately that we had picked a great hotel. The bar downstairs was modern but fitted well within the building. It was Christmas, and the sparkly tree added to the relaxing and comforting atmosphere. Our rooms were amazing. We were in the attic, and once you duck under the beams you arrive into large rooms with exposed beams and great views over the city. The en-suites were compact, but had lovely showers. Big beds and some random English channels on the TV.
The hotel does not have a restaurant for dinner, but does provide a continental breakfast. For me it was fine, cereals, meats, cheeses, toast, etc, my boyfriend said he would have liked a little more variety. That was the only criticism he, or any of us had. We would highly recommend this hotel, and its central location really does make this the perfect choice.

Room Tip: The rooms in the attic were great, but a sneaky look in some of the other rooms (once the guests had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

i stayed at hotel 'de goezeput' on a recent trip to europe. it's exactly what i needed after a long flight. right in the heart of town and all the action, yet quiet enough to get a really good night sleep. beautiful old building, clean, quaint rooms, really comfortable beds, great breakfast, modern bar, hospitable, friendly staff and close to the train station!
although i was a tourist, at the goezeput i felt like a local. a real glimpse of what it's like to live in this charming city.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allygirl_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#16 of 97 in Bruges
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.3 mi away
Hotel Van Eyck
Hotel Van Eyck
#65 of 97 in Bruges
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#9 of 97 in Bruges
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Goezeput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Goezeput

Address: Goezeputstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Bruges
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £69 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Goezeput 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal spot for getting to know Bruges and its inhabitants. Recommended by "The Rough Guide" and "Le Guide du Routard". Karel will give you a friendly welcome to the charming family hotel "De Goezeput," located in an 18th century monastery. He recently renovated the ground floor to create a modern bar-salon where the local inhabitants of Bruges also like to drop in for a drink and a chat. We will offer you a pleasant stay and warm hospitality in a delightful setting. The hotel is situated in the historic center between the Cathedral and the Our Lady Church, just a 5 minutes walk from the Market Square and close to all the main touristic spots and museums of Bruges. It is the perfect base for exploring all aspects of the city of which we are so proud. - Modern lounge with cosy fireplace - Terrace - Free internet + Wireless LAN - All rooms have television and a private bathroom with toilet and shower. - Children under the age of 3 stay for free in their parents room. Bar: Monday - Thursday open until 9 pm Friday and Sunday 11 pm Saturday evening closed. PARKING: you can park the car in the guarded parking which is situated to the left of the front of the railway station. Cost: 3.50 Euro/24h. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Goezeput reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Goezeput Hotel
De Goezeput Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing