We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, very warm”
Review of Hotel de Goezeput

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Goezeput
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2008

Bruges is a wonderful city in which to spend a few days, the locals are friendly, the food is great and don't forget the beers!! The city is a fine example of medieval architecture and Hotel Goezeput is a very old converted monastery/convent.

The room we had was on the top floor up a winding staircase, and naturally because it is an old building there isn’t a lift and no air conditioning. We stayed there during very warm weather for May and having a south facing room on the top floor it was very warm in the room. The curtains remained closed as much as possible during the day and open during the night to let what little breeze there was in and sleeping on top of the sheets incurred several large mozzie bites!! However, that (and the too soft bed) are the only downsides to this hotel and frankly for the location and price (€40 ppn) it was worth it.

The location is in a residential part of the old town about 10 minutes walk from the train station. It is then only about 5 minutes from the Markt and the Burg and the very pleasant Dijver street beside a canal. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in the area and no end to the sights and places to visit.

The staff in the hotel are very friendly, the breakfast, although it doesn’t have a good selection (bread, ham, cheese, fruit and preserves) there’s plenty there and a small terrace, which in the heat was very welcome in the mornings. The rooms are all ensuite although ours was cosy to say the least! However, it was clean.

I’d recommend this hotel for its price, convenience and friendliness, but if the weather is warm and you get a room at the top of the house you might find it a little uncomfortable. (I’m guessing it could also be a little cold in the winter, although there was a substantial radiator in the room.)

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank blueyedpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2008

My girlfriend and I wanted to make good use of the long summer, so we drove to Brugge in Belgium for a nice weekend get away. Normally we chose a hotel chain, but we wanted something more authentic and optioned for De Goezeput.

De Goezeput located in the hart of the city, with every major tourist attraction in walking distance. The hotel is located in an old monastry. When you enter the building, you arrive in the main hall with an old large wooden staircase and a door to the small reception to your right. The reception is manned by young and very cheerfull staff and check-in was quick and easy, including tips about where to park your car the cheapest in the city (which is near the train station).

There is no elevator at De Goezeput and our room was on the upper floor of the building, right at the attic. Our room was old, with the wooden beams clearly visible in the ceiling for that genuine old look! Our room wasn't revamped yet, but the hotel was doing a revamp of the rooms while we were there.

The room had two beds, which were a little soft for my taste, a small seating area and a couch. In one corner of the room was sort of large box, which was the bathroom with toilet and shower. The bathroom was old and outdated, but it fullfilled it's function.

Breakfast is served in the small, but pleasent bar of the hotel (at the reception) and although the choice wasn't that big, it was enough.

All in all, the Goezeput was a nice little hotel, with some flaws, but all hotels have that! If you want to try something else than a hotel chain, I can recommend this one to you.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonHomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2007

Just lovely! Congratulation to the management for the very good transformation.A big improvement to the rooms by last year.
Very nice and friendly staff. And very child-friendly!
Thank you for the lovely stay and good memories!
Fam. Orban from Kalimantan

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank Julien_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2007

Hotel De Goezeput was the first hotel we ever stayed at in Brugge, and we have been to this fabulous city many times!

The hotel is located in a converted monastery and some of the rooms have beamed ceilings. Our room was spacious, with a settee at one end, the beamed ceiling and a nice window view. The only downside was the wooden floor, which was very cold to walk on in December! The bathroom was small, but very clean with a nice powerful shower.

Breakfast is of the buffet kind, and is very pleasant.

Only one downside - get here later than tea time and you could find that the owners have gone home. This happened to us, but thankfully two guests helped us find our room. That is the only thing I would warn about with this hotel because otherwise it is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BelgiumFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2007

We Have just returned from a three night break in the Hotel De Goezeput. We arrived early in the day and the lady on reception was very nice and let us put our bags in our room. Having travelled very early that morning we decided to have a nap that afternoon, well it was impossible cars directly outside and people banging doors. We were in room 1, which was on the ground floor facing directly on to the street we couldnt look out of the window or pull up the blind as people could look straight into our room, it was as if the cars were in our room. We asked to change rooms but were told this wasnt possible. The room wasnt particularly clean I wiped black marks from the floor with a tissue and the shower wasnt that clean. Breakfast was fine and the staff were pleasant and the location is good, a short walk to the station.
Unfortunately, the bar was closed for two evenings, I was disappointed as I was looking forward to sitting and playing board games and having a drink, I had read about this in another persons review. Overall it wasnt too bad for the price we paid, I think we were very unlucky with the room we were given, perhaps if you had a room higher up away from the road it would have been ok.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank orangeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2007

My friend and I found this lovely hotel simply by wandering around Brugge. The hotel has a great "common room" where they have several board games available. We were here a week or so before Christmas, and playing games by the cheery fire with a Belgian beer was a wonderful way to spend an hour or so away from the cold.

Our room was on the top floor, a double for which we paid about 75 euro. The room had gorgeous wooden beams all throughout the ceiling, and a skylight which afforded an unbeatable view of the Cathedral.

The hotel is simple in decor, but clean and comfortable. The absolute best part of the hotel is its location. It is nicely situated between both the Cathedral and the Church of Our Lady on a quiet residential street. The staff was incredible: always willing to offer directions or to answer any questions.

Breakfast was included with the cost of our room and usually consisted of toast, pastry, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea or juice.

Would definately stay here again the next time I am in Brugge.

  • Stayed: November 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katecolorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2007

Best thing about the hotel is its convenient location. It is clean and facilities basic. The place seems to be ran by a single person on its own by a friendly lady. It is a budget hotel and we didn't expect high standards of the place but everything we needed was there. Only thing I can criticise of the place is that the room wasn't very warm during our stay. The radiators were only slightly warm and I wore socks to bed. I would choose to stay at this hotel again in the warmer season.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kumacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#41 of 97 in Bruges
1,114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#15 of 97 in Bruges
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#8 of 97 in Bruges
633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Goezeput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Goezeput

Address: Goezeputstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
#26 Family Hotel in Bruges
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £75 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Goezeput 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal spot for getting to know Bruges and its inhabitants. Recommended by "The Rough Guide" and "Le Guide du Routard". Karel will give you a friendly welcome to the charming family hotel "De Goezeput," located in an 18th century monastery. He recently renovated the ground floor to create a modern bar-salon where the local inhabitants of Bruges also like to drop in for a drink and a chat. We will offer you a pleasant stay and warm hospitality in a delightful setting. The hotel is situated in the historic center between the Cathedral and the Our Lady Church, just a 5 minutes walk from the Market Square and close to all the main touristic spots and museums of Bruges. It is the perfect base for exploring all aspects of the city of which we are so proud. - Modern lounge with cosy fireplace - Terrace - Free internet + Wireless LAN - All rooms have television and a private bathroom with toilet and shower. - Children under the age of 3 stay for free in their parents room. Bar: Monday - Thursday open until 9 pm Friday and Sunday 11 pm Saturday evening closed. PARKING: you can park the car in the guarded parking which is situated to the left of the front of the railway station. Cost: 3.50 Euro/24h. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Goezeput reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Goezeput Hotel
De Goezeput Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing