We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool historic spot in a good location”
Review of Hotel de Goezeput

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Goezeput
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Great place tucked away in historic Bruges. The location is about a 10-min walk from the station in the southern part of the city. You'd probably not randomly walk along the street, so it's very quiet, but only 5-10 minutes from the center of the city. Very historic building, and we had a beautiful and huge room in the top floor loft (highly recommended if you can get it).

Front desk is very relaxed but friendly, be a little careful if you arrive at a strange time because they sometimes close up. There was some construction going on outside, but we couldn't hear it in our room. Only real problem was a clogged shower that leaked a little in the bathroom -- not a big deal, really. Overall, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can handle the narrow and steep stair, try to get a top floor lofted room
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlannerGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Goezeput
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

The hotel is located between the train station and the old town, within walking distance of both. Great if you're coming and going by train. It is slightly out of the center but it is a lovely and easy walk to the center.
We arrived after the reception had closed for the night, but we had planned this in advance and were given an entry code for the building and our room numbers. It went exactly as planned with no problems.
A useful map with all the streets was in the room. The room was clean and nicely decorated in a modern style, while the common areas retained their traditional charm.
A nice breakfast is included and served in the bar/restaurant (we didn't eat there other than breakfast).
We have no complaints! I would likely stay again if returning to Bruges.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderlustCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Considering that this establishment is a 2 star hotel, it did provide a comfortable and clean bed (very soft, 2 twin beds as a double) to sleep in and a traditional continental breakfast (breads, cheese, meat, hard boiled eggs, and basic cereal) that is served between 8:30-10:30am. The location is ideal and just outside of the centre of the city in a quieter area. The market square (8 minutes), train station (10 minutes), and the rest of Brugge is a short walk away.

The rooms are minimalistic in design, which was fine. However, the pictures posted on the website are quite deceiving, as not all of the bathrooms have been updated.

We were in room 8 (basic double room), which was located down the hallway from the other rooms. This was fortunate because the walls are thin and you can hear noises from all over the hotel from your room. We were also facing away from the road, so there was minimal outside noise. This hotel does not have air conditioning, however the windows could be propped open to allow in a nice breeze.

Our main concern was the bathroom (which was basically a closet stuffed with the fixtures of a bathroom). If you were a bit larger you would have great difficultly manoeuvring around. As well, it NEEDS to be updated with newer fixtures and have the tiles replaced (has a bit of mold). The shower curtain was stained along the bottom because it sits in the water, as it drains extremely slowly (even the sink). I feel like the cleaning staff should have realized that the drains did not work.

Overall, the service was fine and they were able to print train tickets out for us which was very nice! For our price point this was a decent place to stay at.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WineTravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

An easy walk from the train it is in a relatively quiet spot (for Bruges that is). The building is very old c.1750 but well renovated. We were on the top floor in a large, clean, twin room looking out over a medieval street. Bathroom was small but new and we had a little sitting area.

Staff were excellent and the breakfast room was very warm and welcoming. We liked everything about it. An easy walk to the Groet Markt.

Excellent. ( note older people will struggle with the stairs)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lajetidreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I recently traveled to Brugge with my husband and 3 friends. We stayed in a room with 5 beds. The room was nice, comfortable and very clean. The location was central to everything you want to see in the city and within walking distance to the train station. The owner and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Would recommend to friends and family!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lccrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

- we had room number 3 - bigger, light and quite room
- friendly and helpfully staff
- good and rich breakfast
- hotel is in the centre and near train station (800 m)
- only one things was strange - pictures on the wall at room - no stylish to the hotel - but it is only my opinion:-)

Room Tip: number 3 in the first floor for two people
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

At less than 20 minutes on foot from the station this hotel has a great location if you're on foot, bearing in mind the street and sidewalks are cobbled so it will be a bumpy and noisy walk, but that's all part of the experience. It's also just as close to the centre of Bruges, but off the beaten path enough to be quite. Our room on the top floor was spacious and comfortable, however the handle for the bathroom was broken so we both locked ourselves in at some point. Breakfast was plentiful and replenished quickly, and the service was great. The hotel is set in a former monastery, which is just the sort of place I love. Because of this the floors were a bit creaky, and you could hear other guests moving about, but that's standard across Europe. I wouldn't hesitate to return again or recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Be sure to have the door code if you're out late, as there aren't staff on at the front desk...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glitterhoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#16 of 97 in Bruges
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#9 of 97 in Bruges
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Goezeput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Goezeput

Address: Goezeputstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Bruges
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £69 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Goezeput 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal spot for getting to know Bruges and its inhabitants. Recommended by "The Rough Guide" and "Le Guide du Routard". Karel will give you a friendly welcome to the charming family hotel "De Goezeput," located in an 18th century monastery. He recently renovated the ground floor to create a modern bar-salon where the local inhabitants of Bruges also like to drop in for a drink and a chat. We will offer you a pleasant stay and warm hospitality in a delightful setting. The hotel is situated in the historic center between the Cathedral and the Our Lady Church, just a 5 minutes walk from the Market Square and close to all the main touristic spots and museums of Bruges. It is the perfect base for exploring all aspects of the city of which we are so proud. - Modern lounge with cosy fireplace - Terrace - Free internet + Wireless LAN - All rooms have television and a private bathroom with toilet and shower. - Children under the age of 3 stay for free in their parents room. Bar: Monday - Thursday open until 9 pm Friday and Sunday 11 pm Saturday evening closed. PARKING: you can park the car in the guarded parking which is situated to the left of the front of the railway station. Cost: 3.50 Euro/24h. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Goezeput reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Goezeput Hotel
De Goezeput Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing