We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked wrong date, still a room.”
Review of Hotel de Goezeput

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Goezeput
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Booked wrong date, still a room.”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Earlier this year I booked a trip to this hotel but the travel agency had made a mistake and booked the wrong date.The booked it for the next day.The hotel had one room left and they gave it to us without extra charge.This was a really good service because the could also let us pay extra or rent to room to someone else.

It's was a nice small hotel with an open fire and I asked to where the toilet was and then the lady behind the desk told me it was in my room and I was like how can that be.
What looked like a closet was actually the bathroom with toilet.
That was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    288
    99
    18
    9
See reviews for
123
359
55
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Nice hotel tucked out of the way, a short walk down an alley to Bruges main street for shops. Room was very nice, had number 3 which has a lovely view across the old roof tops of Bruges with ivy around the outside of the frames. Room was spacious and modern compared to the rest of the hotel. The lobby was old and had character, 1890/1900 era, but good.

Very quiet when we were there, and would go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The Hotel de Goezeput is walking distance from the station and only a couple of minutes from the centre of town. The hotel itself has a historic feel and is in keeping with the beautiful flavour of the city. Rooms are simple with TV and free wifi. In my room, the bathroom was a sort of wooden cabin built into the corner of the room and there were some intermittent problems with a damp smell coming in to the room but the staff promised to attend to this when notified.

Breakfast is a cold buffet from 0830 which is a little late if you have an early start to make but is perfectly adequate when to set you up for the day.

The staff were friendly and obliging and the room was serviced daily.

This is a nice, simple accommodation option for a short stay in Brugge and is excellently situated.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Great place tucked away in historic Bruges. The location is about a 10-min walk from the station in the southern part of the city. You'd probably not randomly walk along the street, so it's very quiet, but only 5-10 minutes from the center of the city. Very historic building, and we had a beautiful and huge room in the top floor loft (highly recommended if you can get it).

Front desk is very relaxed but friendly, be a little careful if you arrive at a strange time because they sometimes close up. There was some construction going on outside, but we couldn't hear it in our room. Only real problem was a clogged shower that leaked a little in the bathroom -- not a big deal, really. Overall, I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: If you can handle the narrow and steep stair, try to get a top floor lofted room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlannerGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The hotel is located between the train station and the old town, within walking distance of both. Great if you're coming and going by train. It is slightly out of the center but it is a lovely and easy walk to the center.
We arrived after the reception had closed for the night, but we had planned this in advance and were given an entry code for the building and our room numbers. It went exactly as planned with no problems.
A useful map with all the streets was in the room. The room was clean and nicely decorated in a modern style, while the common areas retained their traditional charm.
A nice breakfast is included and served in the bar/restaurant (we didn't eat there other than breakfast).
We have no complaints! I would likely stay again if returning to Bruges.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderlustCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Considering that this establishment is a 2 star hotel, it did provide a comfortable and clean bed (very soft, 2 twin beds as a double) to sleep in and a traditional continental breakfast (breads, cheese, meat, hard boiled eggs, and basic cereal) that is served between 8:30-10:30am. The location is ideal and just outside of the centre of the city in a quieter area. The market square (8 minutes), train station (10 minutes), and the rest of Brugge is a short walk away.

The rooms are minimalistic in design, which was fine. However, the pictures posted on the website are quite deceiving, as not all of the bathrooms have been updated.

We were in room 8 (basic double room), which was located down the hallway from the other rooms. This was fortunate because the walls are thin and you can hear noises from all over the hotel from your room. We were also facing away from the road, so there was minimal outside noise. This hotel does not have air conditioning, however the windows could be propped open to allow in a nice breeze.

Our main concern was the bathroom (which was basically a closet stuffed with the fixtures of a bathroom). If you were a bit larger you would have great difficultly manoeuvring around. As well, it NEEDS to be updated with newer fixtures and have the tiles replaced (has a bit of mold). The shower curtain was stained along the bottom because it sits in the water, as it drains extremely slowly (even the sink). I feel like the cleaning staff should have realized that the drains did not work.

Overall, the service was fine and they were able to print train tickets out for us which was very nice! For our price point this was a decent place to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WineTravelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

An easy walk from the train it is in a relatively quiet spot (for Bruges that is). The building is very old c.1750 but well renovated. We were on the top floor in a large, clean, twin room looking out over a medieval street. Bathroom was small but new and we had a little sitting area.

Staff were excellent and the breakfast room was very warm and welcoming. We liked everything about it. An easy walk to the Groet Markt.

Excellent. ( note older people will struggle with the stairs)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lajetidreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#17 of 97 in Bruges
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#11 of 97 in Bruges
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Goezeput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Goezeput

Property: Hotel de Goezeput
Address: Goezeputstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Bruges
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Goezeput 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal spot for getting to know Bruges and its inhabitants. Recommended by "The Rough Guide" and "Le Guide du Routard". Karel will give you a friendly welcome to the charming family hotel "De Goezeput," located in an 18th century monastery. He recently renovated the ground floor to create a modern bar-salon where the local inhabitants of Bruges also like to drop in for a drink and a chat. We will offer you a pleasant stay and warm hospitality in a delightful setting. The hotel is situated in the historic center between the Cathedral and the Our Lady Church, just a 5 minutes walk from the Market Square and close to all the main touristic spots and museums of Bruges. It is the perfect base for exploring all aspects of the city of which we are so proud. - Modern lounge with cosy fireplace - Terrace - Free internet + Wireless LAN - All rooms have television and a private bathroom with toilet and shower. - Children under the age of 3 stay for free in their parents room. Bar: Monday - Thursday open until 9 pm Friday and Sunday 11 pm Saturday evening closed. PARKING: you can park the car in the guarded parking which is situated to the left of the front of the railway station. Cost: 3.50 Euro/24h. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Goezeput reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Goezeput Hotel
De Goezeput Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing