We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern touch in an old architecture”
Review of Hotel de Goezeput

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Goezeput
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Don't get put off with the old architecture and interior of the hotel - it's part of the Bruges charm. The room I stayed in is modern and comfortable. I stayed at the lower level, so that saves me the hassel of carrying some very heavy luggage up the stairs. Good breakfast area with a nice fireplace. Good modern facility with good strong wifi (enough to stream videos). I was confused when I enter the room because there's only two closet doors and nothing else. Turns out one of the closet door is the entry way into a bathroom! The downside is that the hotel light comes on automatically when someone is within the vicinity, so that makes coming in on a rainy October evening a bit eerily. The reception was off duty the evenings we stayed in, so you have to walk in the dark until you're completely in the middle of the lobby before it lights up - same goes for the lower floor rooms. I've reported a lost/stolen item in the hotel, but so far, the hotel is not responsive - other than that, a good stay (perhaps the atmosphere would be better in summer) - though beware of mosquitos - big ones, even in October!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellayyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Had a wonderful time in Brugge. Hotel was right in central area and walking distance to train station. Great breakfast
Room was cozy and charming. Highly recommended for romantic getaway ! Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Gladys R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights in this lovely hotel. My room was small - as advertised, but very sweet, and nicely decorated. It's in a good spot, in a lovely old street. It's very close to everything, but far enough away from the main sq etc to be nice and quiet. Breakfast was nice. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sssshhhh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My Wife and I were booked to stay at the Hotel de Goezeput on the 9th October for 1 night. we arrived via Zeebrugge at 10 am and were met in Reception by Isobelle who was extremely helpfull. She allowed us to put our cases in our room early, then assisted us in booking e-tickets for the train to Ypres.
Our room was nicely appointed, very clean, light and airy. We both had an excellant nights sleep on the very comfortable bed. The next morning we had a continental style Breakfast that had plenty of choice. Once we checked out our Hosts were gracious enough to allow us to leave our bags at the Hotel whilst we explored the city. We both enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in returning to this little gem of a Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sitemanLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is really a lovely little hotel for exploring Bruges. The style and decor is traditional and homely, and the owner is very friendly, who is happy to chat and share her knowledge of Bruges (and other parts of Belgium too!)
Breakfast is a typical Continental buffet, with meats, cheeses and croissants... More than a fair start to the day for the price.
Location is great, 10 min walk from station and about 7 from the main square. Also a minute from a fantastic old church (whose name escapes me). Saying how close it is, it is however far enough that it is not so trodden past as to make it noisy at night. Really a great location

Would definitely recommend and use again!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DavrosFelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

the location was a blessing and a curse. easy walk from train station and very close to everything in old bruges. however, we stayed in the lower floor room 1 and found it to be very noisy because of the narrow cobble street echo and the amount of pedestrians and others. the hotel is older and so was our mattress which showed it's age. the floor was tiered due to updating presenting falling potential late at night. but because it is older it does have bruges charm. and the en suite was small but updated and comfortable. breakfast buffet was limited but we enjoyed being able to eat in the outside courtyard. staff and owner were friendly but early checkout became a negotiation. their room rate was reasonable plus. if you opt for this hotel my advice would be to avoid the lower floor rooms by confirming upstairs in advance.

Room Tip: away from street and upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asaservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Hotel de Goezeput was a wonderful base for touring Bruges!
The staff, one of whom was the owner, went out of their way to make our stay a good one. Our room was clean and comfortable. The view from our window (15) was outstanding, and the breakfast delicious.
This hotel was a delightful mix of old world charm and modern touches.

Room Tip: We had 15 on the top floor. It was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank downeaster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#15 of 97 in Bruges
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#42 of 97 in Bruges
1,117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Goezeput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Goezeput

Address: Goezeputstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
#15 Family Hotel in Bruges
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £66 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Goezeput 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal spot for getting to know Bruges and its inhabitants. Recommended by "The Rough Guide" and "Le Guide du Routard". Karel will give you a friendly welcome to the charming family hotel "De Goezeput," located in an 18th century monastery. He recently renovated the ground floor to create a modern bar-salon where the local inhabitants of Bruges also like to drop in for a drink and a chat. We will offer you a pleasant stay and warm hospitality in a delightful setting. The hotel is situated in the historic center between the Cathedral and the Our Lady Church, just a 5 minutes walk from the Market Square and close to all the main touristic spots and museums of Bruges. It is the perfect base for exploring all aspects of the city of which we are so proud. - Modern lounge with cosy fireplace - Terrace - Free internet + Wireless LAN - All rooms have television and a private bathroom with toilet and shower. - Children under the age of 3 stay for free in their parents room. Bar: Monday - Thursday open until 9 pm Friday and Sunday 11 pm Saturday evening closed. PARKING: you can park the car in the guarded parking which is situated to the left of the front of the railway station. Cost: 3.50 Euro/24h. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Goezeput reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Goezeput Hotel
De Goezeput Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing