We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Friendly”
Review of Hotel de Goezeput

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Goezeput
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The hotel was a mixture of old and modern. We found staff very friendly, breakfast was basic, but good. Room was warm and lovely. Close to the cathedral, and everything was so easy to get to. Very reasonable price and I would happily go there again. Only complaint would be soundproofing of rooms, we had quite a loud couple next door to us, who were noisy after enjoying nightlife and alcohol.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 755 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

I've just returned from a fantastic long weekend in Bruges. Much research was done prior to booking our hotel and with the fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor for Hotel de Goezeput coupled with its central location, it felt like a no brainer to book it. If you're thinking of staying here, you may find the following information of interest.

We travelled by Eurostar and on arrival in Bruges found the hotel really very easily. It's about a 10 minute walk from the station and located on what initially seems like a quiet backwater of a street (Goezeput Straat). We were arriving late and so I did have to liaise with the hotel prior to arrival and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is a former monastery and is quite small. It has a huge wooden staircase (a very creaky one at that) leading up to the main rooms. There is also a very welcoming bar area with a fire and is also the area where breakfast is served.

We stayed in Room 4 which was tiny although I don't think it was the smallest of their rooms? The shower and toilet is in a 'tardis' type setting within the room and if you were 'curvaceous' would struggle to manoeuvre! The sink is in the main room area. The building is obviously old and I appreciate that there may be issues with plumbing, but it was soon apparent that the toilet system wasn't quite as it should be. Lets say that only No'1's were allowed in our hotel room for fear of blocking the entire system and flooding the room. The water levels in the loo constantly rose higher than they should. We did report this and the hotel staff were very helpful in getting someone to take a look at the pump, but the situation didn't improve for us. Whenever any of the other guests flushed a toilet in their room, it seemed that our toilet began to 'talk' or rather gurgle. Loudly. This happened regularly during the night (and woke me up a lot).

The decor is modern however, and although bijou the room was fine for our needs as really it was just a base! On the first night, the room was quite warm so we opened the window and this resulted in me getting no sleep whatsoever as along with the 'talking toilet' and the 'creaky staircase' the 'quiet' back water street isn't actually that quiet and I was woken up numerous times (no one seems to sleep in Bruges) by people dragging their trollies along the cobbled street, vehicles tearing down the road or just by people talking / screaming loudly on their way past. I think the noise level is increased due to the fact that the streets are small and narrow with buildings either side. Noise just bounces off everywhere.

The rooms have wooden floors and with the wooden stair case there isn't much sound proofing. I think we just happened to stay on a weekend where other guests didn't really care if they woke everyone else up, but as they climbed the creaky staircase at 3am onwards, talking loudly and 'shusshing' each other, I did lie awake and wonder if I'd get any sleep over the three nights I was staying there!

That aside, I didn't let it spoil my trip and I can thoroughly recommend Bruges as a weekend trip. I'd highly recommend climbing the 366 steps of the Belfort Tower as you get some fantastic views and also take a walk beyond the main tourist areas along the canals as there are some lovely old streets with beautiful architecture along with the four windmills (I only actually saw three of those).

If you enjoy your food and wine, don't eat in the main Markt area as it's really touristy and the food isn't that special, we found that dining in the restaurants further out were far better and the service was much improved!!

Would I stay again at the Hotel de Goezeput? I would, but I think I'd ask for a room on the top floor!!

Room Tip: Ask for one of their larger rooms and if possible get a top floor room so you won't be woken up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I spent one night in this hotel. The hotel is old, in the bad way. The staff was untrained and unsympathetic. There was one misunderstanding with my reservation and the hotel owner did not behave properly. He was rude and unfriendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in December 2013 whilst visiting the christmas market. It is situated in a quiet back street (allowing a good night's sleep) but only a 5 minute walk from all the attractions so we found it a perfect location from which to base our trip.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the continental breakfast was great, we had a lovely bright attic room and there is a cosy bar area with a fire downstairs.
We had our 18 month toddler travelling with us and the hotel was happy to accommodate him, providing us with a cot and a high chair for our stay.
Would definitely stay here again when visiting brugge.

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the attic rooms (room 15). Room was light and airy with a great view. Comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penny b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My wife and I (25-30 years old) stayed at this hotel in Bruges this December 2013. The hotel is within walking distance from the train station and very easy to find. This hotel is also with in walking distance to all major attractions and restaurants in Bruges. The owners/operators of the hotel are very very kind and helpful. We were able to check in early because our room was ready. The room was small but nice and cozy. The bathroom was nice as well. The rooms have very high ceilings which I liked because It made the room feel bigger. The only negative feedback I have was that in the room we stayed it was a bit noisy with the street and people coming in and out of the hotel. The building is older but very pretty. Also, the door to the bathroom is a sliding door and you did not feel entirely closed in and private when you went to the bathroom. The bed was not the most comfortable but in my experience in Europe the beds are usually more hard. I also think just the change from not being at home makes sleeping a bit harder during traveling :) The TV we had was small as well but we didn't come to Bruges to watch TV. There were plenty of English channels and the wifi worked very well. The breakfast was included and they had a very nice spread of choices to eat from. Having a breakfast was really a great experience included with this hotel. I really did enjoy this hotel experience and would recommend staying here as it was nice, friendly and very reasonably priced. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Get a larger room if you can afford it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the last weekend. We were a group of three (Mum and Dad and daughter of 23 years) visiting Bruges fro the Xmas Market, and the room proved a great base for our trip.
Breakfast was great, lots of good quality ingredients for the typical continental breakfast of croissant, breads, spreads, cheeses and meats.
However, the trip was somewhat marred by the fact that there were problems with the plumbing on our first night! The toilet was blocked and despite our best efforts, we couldn't unblock it. When I reported the issue the following morning, it turned out there was a problem affecting 3 other rooms and the plumber had been called! He soon fixed the issue.
The only other drawback was the lack of any real water pressure in our shower and the fact that it was difficult to regulate. It proved just sufficient to wash properly, but would be improved by a pump.
Beds were really comfy though and the position of the hotel was no more than a 7 minute walk from the centre of Bruges.

Room Tip: Bring your own travel kettle if you want a cuppa in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PathManSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here end of November for 2 nights, very good hotel, clean, good amenities, central location and informative staff. Being a 2 star did not expect toiletries but they were provided, breakfast - good continental, room cleaned to high standard, very old building with modern rooms / bathroom. Would recommend for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcorn21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.2 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#15 of 97 in Bruges
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#42 of 97 in Bruges
1,117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Goezeput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Goezeput

Address: Goezeputstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
#15 Family Hotel in Bruges
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £66 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Goezeput 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal spot for getting to know Bruges and its inhabitants. Recommended by "The Rough Guide" and "Le Guide du Routard". Karel will give you a friendly welcome to the charming family hotel "De Goezeput," located in an 18th century monastery. He recently renovated the ground floor to create a modern bar-salon where the local inhabitants of Bruges also like to drop in for a drink and a chat. We will offer you a pleasant stay and warm hospitality in a delightful setting. The hotel is situated in the historic center between the Cathedral and the Our Lady Church, just a 5 minutes walk from the Market Square and close to all the main touristic spots and museums of Bruges. It is the perfect base for exploring all aspects of the city of which we are so proud. - Modern lounge with cosy fireplace - Terrace - Free internet + Wireless LAN - All rooms have television and a private bathroom with toilet and shower. - Children under the age of 3 stay for free in their parents room. Bar: Monday - Thursday open until 9 pm Friday and Sunday 11 pm Saturday evening closed. PARKING: you can park the car in the guarded parking which is situated to the left of the front of the railway station. Cost: 3.50 Euro/24h. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Goezeput reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Goezeput Hotel
De Goezeput Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing