We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic weekend!”
Review of Hotel de Goezeput

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Goezeput
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great hotel, great location, great breakfast and lovely staff. What more can you ask? the rooms are large, clean and modern. so close to all nice things to see in Bruge but on a quiet street so you dont get all the noise from the party people.

Room Tip: great family rooms. we slept 4 and was great value.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Goezeput
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

307 - 313 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I booked a room on this hotel and informed I would require a late check-in. The hotel agreed to the check-in hour and provided an access code to the door. When I arrived after 22 hours of travel, the code to the door did not work and I was left on the street (all this at 11:15 PM) trying to find a hotel with an available room in an almost sold-out Brugge.
I hope I don't have to fight to get a refund for a room I never stayed in. This is the worst travel Nightmare!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank Bianca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karel_lievens, Owner at Hotel de Goezeput, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor, your comments are important to us, as they help us improving our service.

We are sorry about what happened the day of your arrival. We have given you the wrong code to get in once the hotel is closed at night. The system works perfectly, just the code was not right. Once again, we apologize.

Like we told you personally, you could stay the second night for free, and we keep the offer of a complimentary stay as compensation.

On the other hand, you had booked with a non refundable rate but, your credit card did not work so we could not charge your stay in advance like the booking conditions state. However that would have meant a cancellation, we decided to keep the booking till the arrival day.

We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you in the future so we can change the experience that you had.

Best regards,

Karel Lievens
Owner & Manager

Hotel De Goezeput

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My grown son and I stayed here in May, we reserved one of the top rooms with the beamed ceilings and it was beautiful .!The breakfast was good, the woman at the front desk was so nice and helpful and friendly. The bathroom had been remodeled,
and the only complain I had was the shower floor was slippery so maybe some anti slip strips on the bottom. Everything else about this hotel was wonderful . It was quite and there were plenty of plugs for charging. The covers on the beds were so heavenly , I was just so snuggled into my bed that I didn't want to get up and the beds were very comfortable. There was a safe in our room. The stairs up to the top floor were steep but I am my 60's and had no problem only
if you had large luggage. Last but not least the view out of our room of 2 churches was Fabulous and then as they lit up at night it was so beautiful. I wasn't sure about this hotel due to a couple of bad reviews but I would stay here again and again and The Hotel Goezeput was just a great place to stay and an excellent location, we walked from the train station with our luggage about 10-12 mins. We loved this hotel and it was very clean and the price was excellent!
Please give it a try!

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank dptolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A charming hotel in the back streets of Bruges, in close proximity to all the major sights. Our room was comfortable and had excellent views, the buffet breakfast was very nice and plentiful. It also has a cosy bar with a roaring open fire for the colder evenings

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I am very glad to have stayed here because of it's location. The staff speaks English and we're accommodating and hospitable. The number of occupants are well managed so that it did not appear crowded for the size of this place. Basic amenities in good working condition. Reasonable price plus breakfast included. Really saves time. Do book in advance...think this place is a hot favorite....so look no further.

Room Tip: If you have much luggage ask for low floor else you have to carry it up the stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JasonKaiLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Not much more to add. Perfect location. Simple but cosy and homely with everything you need, not more. And good taste. Reception is very basic as they normally have just one youngster in charge of everything but they do a great job.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank istareh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Bruges is a must see if you are Belgium, this hotel is walking distance to everything, its about a 10 minute walk from the train station. We stayed in room 15 and absolutely loved it at night you can open your windows and see the lights from the main square. Isabelle was extremely friendly and even gave us advise on where to go to dinner, she recommended a local place that was great, we also had an early morning train to catch so we would not be around for breakfast so prepared a breakfast tray for us the night before. Although this was not the most expensive hotel we stayed at during out trip it was definitely our favorite. We cannot wait to go back for another visit and stay in the same place.

Room Tip: if you can pay extra for the 3rd floor rooms they are larger and you have a great view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yenisandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#16 of 97 in Bruges
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Botaniek  Hotel
Botaniek Hotel
#9 of 97 in Bruges
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#18 of 97 in Bruges
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Goezeput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Goezeput

Address: Goezeputstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Bruges
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £69 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Goezeput 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal spot for getting to know Bruges and its inhabitants. Recommended by "The Rough Guide" and "Le Guide du Routard". Karel will give you a friendly welcome to the charming family hotel "De Goezeput," located in an 18th century monastery. He recently renovated the ground floor to create a modern bar-salon where the local inhabitants of Bruges also like to drop in for a drink and a chat. We will offer you a pleasant stay and warm hospitality in a delightful setting. The hotel is situated in the historic center between the Cathedral and the Our Lady Church, just a 5 minutes walk from the Market Square and close to all the main touristic spots and museums of Bruges. It is the perfect base for exploring all aspects of the city of which we are so proud. - Modern lounge with cosy fireplace - Terrace - Free internet + Wireless LAN - All rooms have television and a private bathroom with toilet and shower. - Children under the age of 3 stay for free in their parents room. Bar: Monday - Thursday open until 9 pm Friday and Sunday 11 pm Saturday evening closed. PARKING: you can park the car in the guarded parking which is situated to the left of the front of the railway station. Cost: 3.50 Euro/24h. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Goezeput reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Goezeput Hotel
De Goezeput Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing