We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, quiet.”
Review of Hotel de Goezeput

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Goezeput
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great location, quiet.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

If you come out the front of the train station into the square and walk straight up Oostmeers Street you will be at the hotel in an easy 15 minutes. The hotel is very well situated on a quiet back street but extremely close to the centre. We have an attic room and kept the window closed (as I am a light sleeper) so found the room was slightly warm but fine if you slept on top of the covers. No mosquitos in sight, maybe it's the time of year. The breakfast was...continental, and very good. No air conditioning or sound proofing but it is in a very old building...like the rest of Brugge. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Seen the family room on the second floor and it looked good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    282
    96
    18
    9
See reviews for
119
352
54
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely two night stay here. Good location, walked up from train station (15 mins) and five minutes' walk from centre. Big, big triple room (#7 I think) with en-suite bathroom, clean and comfortable and great wooden floors (no dusty carpet blues here!). Windows looked out onto street but no noise problems in this street. Breakfast served 8.30-10:30, large selection of fruit, cereals, hams, cheeses, eggs, different bread types etc. Staff polite and smiling. Warning! If you're tall, bend down when you come down the stairs. I didn't and saw stars....

Room Tip: We loved room 7: spacious and quiet and with a great view of the church spire, especially when lit u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrythedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First, the positive comments about this hotel. Situated equal distance between the main train station and city centre, you could reach the hotel in about 10 minutes' walk with luggage. Going to the city centre is a breeze. Staff at counter is friendly and helpful.

The negative is, as with all hotels in the old city, don't expect lifts. Hence, not suitable for physically handicapped as well as older people. To add to it, if you are assigned a room on the 3rd level, the stairs are steeper and steps are smaller than the first flight going up to the 2nd. We did not open the windows at night even though it would be cooler as we were bitten by mosquitoes?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kit Chuen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

When we arrived we were met by a lovely young lady called Isabelle she showed us to our rooms we had travelled with friends our room ,room 1 on ground floor wasn't too bad but our friends weren't happy with there room opposite ours room 2 ,they asked to be moved and Isabelle agreed to move them the next night as the hotel was fully booked on the night we arrived .

We spent our first night in room 1 (standard double) and we found it a little noisy with people walking by late at night, our window was looking out onto the pavement. I also didn't like the idea you had to keep the blind closed otherwise people walking by could look straight into the room.

Next morning we too asked to be moved ,no problems they moved us to room 3 twin bedroom (they pushed the beds together for us) it was on the second floor at the back of the hotel ,lovely large bright room 2 very large windows to open & small table and chairs, Very clean as was our first room to be fair.
Breakfast was excellent all fresh,lots of choice,cereals,croissants,cheeses, fresh baked rolls ,boiled eggs,ham's, fresh bread to toast yourself, marmalade,jams,chocolate spread,cheese spread fresh fruit ,tea ,coffee,hot chocolate,and fresh fruit juices.As much as you can eat & drink.

Very close to station only 10 mins walk , Brugges centre 10/15 mins walk perfect location for visiting Brugges .We booked the hotel through booking.com several months ago and got a great deal for the 4 of us.
Isabelle was very helpful she gave us a map and marked on it how to get to the market place and back to the hotel,nothing was too much trouble for the staff, we were looked after very well.
.A must ! go on a bike tour with Quasimundo bike tours morning tour around brugges 1 1/2 hours . Afternoon by the canals 4 hours brilliant .if we had not had to change our rooms i would say that our stay was Excellent for a 2 star hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book double rooms 1 or 2 on the ground floor, we loved room 3 1st floor a twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn_bo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tequesta, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I really have no complaints with this hotel, except there was no air conditioning. Normally, I don't think this would be a problem but it was really warm when we were there. The hotel was in a great location, was very clean & tidy, and had a nice breakfast offering.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenpig25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moonraker_9
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for the first night of our summer holiday. Bruges is not an easy city to navigate, and we had called ahead as we're running a little late. The chap at the hotel called us later when we were trying to find the hotel in Bruges to check everything was ok, very thoughtful of him. The hotel is very central, in a quiet side street and is a lovely old building. The room was not big (but it was described as "small double" so no complaints). The bathroom was very nicely appointed and the breakfast in the morning was included in the price and had everything we wanted. The building is typical of the city I think, with a lovely wood panelled hall way and wide stair case. No lift, but that's not an issue for us. Parking was recommended at the station, which was about 10 mins easy walk (2 mins drive) and very reasonable at 3.50 Euros for 24 hours. Would stay at Goezeput again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank iain2eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This little hotel is perfectly situated.. 10 mins walk from the station through the lovely park, a stone's throw from the center of Bruges but in a backstreet so with no nigh-time noise.
The small (superior double) but perfectly formed room with an equally small, but functional bathroom was fine.
Lovely self-service buffet breakfast, with good coffee, which we enjoyed in the cute little courtyard.
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would recommend this hotel highly.
The only drawback for us was that we were in a top floor, superior double room, and as temperatures soured to 30 degrees the room was unbearably hot!

Room Tip: If the forecast is hot then maybe choose a normal double as opposed to a delux or superior as the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurvyShervy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#17 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.8 mi away
Hotel Fevery
Hotel Fevery
#6 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Canalview Hotel Ter Reien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Goezeput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Goezeput

Property: Hotel de Goezeput
Address: Goezeputstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Bruges
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Goezeput 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal spot for getting to know Bruges and its inhabitants. Recommended by "The Rough Guide" and "Le Guide du Routard". Karel will give you a friendly welcome to the charming family hotel "De Goezeput," located in an 18th century monastery. He recently renovated the ground floor to create a modern bar-salon where the local inhabitants of Bruges also like to drop in for a drink and a chat. We will offer you a pleasant stay and warm hospitality in a delightful setting. The hotel is situated in the historic center between the Cathedral and the Our Lady Church, just a 5 minutes walk from the Market Square and close to all the main touristic spots and museums of Bruges. It is the perfect base for exploring all aspects of the city of which we are so proud. - Modern lounge with cosy fireplace - Terrace - Free internet + Wireless LAN - All rooms have television and a private bathroom with toilet and shower. - Children under the age of 3 stay for free in their parents room. Bar: Monday - Thursday open until 9 pm Friday and Sunday 11 pm Saturday evening closed. PARKING: you can park the car in the guarded parking which is situated to the left of the front of the railway station. Cost: 3.50 Euro/24h. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Goezeput reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Goezeput Hotel
De Goezeput Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing