We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost! Bitterly disappointing.”
Review of Hotel de Goezeput

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Goezeput
Ranked #29 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2009

I do not aim to bore you (inevitably though, it will happen) with my long list of what is wrong with Hotel de Goezeput. If you already know you are not staying there, move on to something nicer and do not even waste your time on this. If, however, you think that the bad reviews are simply unfortunate slips in otherwise great hotel, do consider my points to avoid ending up like me, bitterly wishing to have chosen ANY other hotel over this.

If the hotel staff were honest about what they are offering to guests, I would not complain here (even though serious gaps in professional service are too hard to tolerate). The website promises you exactly what a couple wants for a romantic getaway: great cosy rooms in a small family hotel, close to city centre, interesting interior style, affordable price.

The website does not, however, promise (or warn you about) the following:

- Your room will resemble the pictures no more than Cork resembles Bruges.
- If you want a room that is the same as photographed, you have to ask for one of the 4 rooms on top floor which are “luxury” and therefore will cost you more. You have to request them separately during booking, but the website does not give you that option or tell you about it.
- The hotel did not charge us for changing to the top room, and that’s the only decent thing they did. We could not change the first night as the extra night was added in a hurry due to the airline changing in our flight days. However, the second day, when rooms were available, at first the receptionist did lie about availability of those “luxury” rooms.
- The website does not say that staff will storm into your room while you are there without even waiting after a knock (and will not apologize when confronted about it).
- There is no “Do not disturb” card available, so expect to be disturbed. Literally. As above.
- The website does not provide pictures of old bed covers, broken furniture, stained towels and stained extra pillows in the “standard” rooms.
- The website does not show chipped paint, broken shower cabin doors, dusty drinking glasses or absence of liquid soap near sink in the “luxury” rooms.
- You will not be told in advance to expect smell of cigarettes (that was apologized for, but a suggested way to rectify it was, I quote, “to open the window”. This is quite witty, but the receptionist was not kidding). This only happened in the “standard” room but could have easily happened in any room since the smoke alarms were nowhere in sight.
- The cleaning lady forgot to leave fresh towels for used ones. So we came back to the room at night to find one towel for both of us. The receptionist is not available in the evening, so we helped ourselves from the wardrobe in the hall, where the towels are stacked. I know this is a human error that could have happened anywhere, but in this hotel it’s just one of the long string of things that went wrong. I did not even bother to complain about this to the staff, as I preferred to interact with them as little as possible already at this stage.
- Breakfast, thankfully, was alright. Nothing special or interesting, but at least no unpleasant suprises there.

In summary: avoid at all cost. This was absolutely the worst, most disappointing, stressful hotel experience I have had.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TanteGretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

481 - 487 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2009

Having seen the beautiful rooms featured on the hotel's website I was really looking forward to surprising my wife with such a treat. Unfortunately the room we had - room 2, the only room left I was told when we arrived, was very different. Stark and very cold for December in Bruges, the bathroom had no heating at all!! We were only booked for the one night so had no reason to linger. The bar and dining area is really nice and welcoming and that fire...warmed us after a long day sightseeing in this beautiful town.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GandMLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We arrived on 29/12/08 for 3 nights. We have stayed in Bruges before but not at this hotel and it did overall exceed our expectations for a 2* hotel. Checked in very quickly, arrived at our room (4) which was on the 1st floor and faced a side street.

The room was small, quirkly shaped and had the smallest bathroom I've ever seen, with just room for a shower and loo. The basin was cleverly put in the corner of the room, with a mirror over the top. The smallness of everything did not bother us too much as we were only there 3 nights. It was clean and not too many stairs to stagger up!! More hanging space for clothes would be good.

The hotel is about 5-10 mins walk from a main shopping area and the Market Square. There are a couple of supermarkets on this main street, and in the little square before the T'Zand square a Pizza Hut, which although the service was a little slow, the food was good.

Can also recommend the Gruthouse restaurant - set menu 16 euros for 3 courses. As usual with a lot of touristy places, prices always cheaper off the main square and central shopping areas.

We had a few drinks in the hotel bar which was warm and cosy - around 7 euros for a good measure of Smirnoff Blue Vodka and a bottle of tonic. Breakfast, although continental style, was excellent.

Would certainly return to this little hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2008

We arrived late evening at the hotel and despite letting them know there was no-one to greet us. In fact, all the doors were unlocked and keys in the door. We left messages on the 'contact hotel' button on the door but it was 1:30am before we spoke to someone and gained access to our room. The cleaners had left the windows open during the day which were above our suitcase - our clothes got rained on.

The location is fantastic but we wouldn't return. We didn't see the bar open during the three days we were there either.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aliceapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

Booked this through Eurostar and got a good deal on price, the total price we paid for 2 nights with travel was less than a single night would have cost had we booked directly

We walked from the train station and easily found the hotel, we were greeted warmly on arrival by a lady who spoke such perfect English with a slight Manchester accent that for a moment I thought it was a mancunian family running the hotel.

Our room was spacious and simple, a double bed, a set of bunk beds and a wardrobe, table and chair. The neutral colours were lovely, although there was a dubious looking stain on the throw. We had a bathroom with a shower and a front view towards one of the churches.

We were 5 mins from the main street, yet the road seemed so quiet. No double glazing so yes the traffic noise from cars on the cobbles does seem loud, and occasional people passing by at night in high heels does make a clattering noise.

Breakfast buffet was lovely.

My only gripes were that one of the two radiators in our room didn't work so it did seem rather cold, and there was an unpleasant smell of drains in the stairwell which occasionally reached the room.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma_and_Dan_Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

I was a bit doubtful about booking when I read some of the reviews for this hotel, but was pleasantly surprised. Its a small hotel, but has a sort of family atmosphere. It was a lovely experience to stay in such a historic building, with wooden beams above you at night, and the bells of the local churches in the mornings.
Its convenient to all the main Bruges attractions, ( 5 minutes walk to the Markt, St Jans Hospital etc. 10 minutes to the railway station and Minnewater) the costs were reasonable.
Breakfast was simple but tasty and filling, staff were friendly, generous and helpful.
The hotels little street map was very useful

We ve developed a soft spot for Flanders, Bruges, and a particular soft spot for Hotel de Goezeput,

We ll be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MAD4TRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Hotel De Goezeput was perfect for our needs visiting Brugge for the first time from the U.S. The hotel is a quick walk from the train station once you know you're on Oostmeers street (signs are not tooapparrent). We were warmly welcomed and the checkin was easy and quick. There were two fights of stairs to carry our suitcases but since we were traveling Belgium and France by only trains we packed light and it was an enjoyable ascent in the cozy hallways (and my wife and I are nearly 60!). The room was a delight with beamed ceilings and an awesome view of the lane outside the hotel aswell as the Market Belfry. The room was very large and the bathroom clean and adequate. The walk to downtown is easy as well through the quaint vilage streets. I'd recommend this hotel to most anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Abelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#34 of 97 in Bruges
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Biskajer Adults Only
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cordoeanier
Hotel Cordoeanier
#41 of 97 in Bruges
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albert 1 Hotel
Albert 1 Hotel
#16 of 97 in Bruges
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Golden tree hotel
The Golden tree hotel
#67 of 97 in Bruges
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Goezeput? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Goezeput

Address: Goezeputstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Bruges
#15 Family Hotel in Bruges
#37 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £66 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de Goezeput 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ideal spot for getting to know Bruges and its inhabitants. Recommended by "The Rough Guide" and "Le Guide du Routard". Karel will give you a friendly welcome to the charming family hotel "De Goezeput," located in an 18th century monastery. He recently renovated the ground floor to create a modern bar-salon where the local inhabitants of Bruges also like to drop in for a drink and a chat. We will offer you a pleasant stay and warm hospitality in a delightful setting. The hotel is situated in the historic center between the Cathedral and the Our Lady Church, just a 5 minutes walk from the Market Square and close to all the main touristic spots and museums of Bruges. It is the perfect base for exploring all aspects of the city of which we are so proud. - Modern lounge with cosy fireplace - Terrace - Free internet + Wireless LAN - All rooms have television and a private bathroom with toilet and shower. - Children under the age of 3 stay for free in their parents room. Bar: Monday - Thursday open until 9 pm Friday and Sunday 11 pm Saturday evening closed. PARKING: you can park the car in the guarded parking which is situated to the left of the front of the railway station. Cost: 3.50 Euro/24h. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Goezeput reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Goezeput Hotel
De Goezeput Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing