We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel, very friendly!”
Review of Hotel Groeninghe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Groeninghe
Ranked #80 of 232 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a little bit more expensive than we wanted to pay at 95 euros but as it is in an excellent location it is well worth the money. The room was nice and clean and the breakfast was wonderful with lots of fresh fruits and delicious pastries! The owners are helpful and friendly. Would definitely come back. Parking in bruges is tricky but this hotel is really close to a convenient underground carpark! It also has a good wifi connection.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Traxsonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

In May traveled about Belgium and Holland. This property was our least enjoyable. Had the weirdest bathtub I have ever seen. If we had been handicapped no way we could have taken a shower in the enclosure. Breakfast was stale. Eventho breakfast was included in our room we ate elsewhere. Owner of property was not very friendly. We booked the room at information center when we arrived in town. This was the only thing about Brugge we did not LOVE.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed three nights and really enjoyed it here. Great breakfast of breads, yogurt, home-made jellies, lunch meats and cheeses and good coffee! The host is very friendly and helpful with tips for the area. Quiet street but close to everything (and a short walk to the train for daytrips elsewhere...I went up to the coast and explored the resort towns using the Kosttram commuter rail...very inexpensive for all-day on/off). I was on the second floor (in Europe they call it the first floor!) and with a heavy suitcase, I was glad to have to go higher. Very reasonable price, so I would go back and I recommend it for anyone visiting Bruge.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so I was glad to be on the second floor (one flight up from the lobby...in Eur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nagled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

So, this place really surprised me. I have stayed in many non-chain hotels in the middle of European cities before and have been generally underwhelmed. Groeninghe is the shining exception. It has all of the European charm you want thrown in with nicely furnished rooms, clean bathrooms, excellent location, and a very friendly staff. Oh, and the breakfast was fantastic. I felt as if I could relax in their quaint courtyard for hours.

When you have a clean comfortable place to stay with a friendly and helpful staff, it just makes your entire trip better. When I come back to Bruges, Groeninghe will definitely be where I stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 which was perfectly comfortable. The view was of rooftops looking toward the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Excellent good value friendly clean hotel. Owners helpful and hospitable. Able to park motorbike outside on the street or close to the hotel. Short stroll to the centre. Excellent continental breakfast. Small lounge with facilities to purchase a wine or beer and to relax. Looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

If you want a quality small hotel, convenient for the old town but away from the tourist melee, look no further. The owner was a delight - greeted us warmly on arrival and very willing to help with anything we needed.
Room was not large, but perfectly reasonable for the size of hotel and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was an attractive continental style buffet (no British fry ups here) with a good selection of fruit, cereals, meat, cheese and fresh local bread.
Room rates are not cheap, but by no means expensive by Bruges standards. It's apparently fully booked every weekend throughout the year, which tells you a lot.
There is a comfortable lounge if you want to relax for a while without being stuck in your room and all that Bruges has to offer is a short walk from the door. What's not to like?

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a lovely surprise to arrive in this welcoming & friendly little bed & breakfast. At the end of our couple of days staying here, the owners felt like friends. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The rooms were nicely furnished warm & spotlessly clean. The breakfast had all the little extras such as ham, pate, fresh fruit, cheese, eggs, waffles, yogurt etc.
The lounge & breakfast room was modern & stylish & the hotel was in an excellent location, fairly close to the station & in the old part of Bruges.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shimansky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant 't  Putje
0.5 mi away
Hotel Malleberg
Hotel Malleberg
#36 of 97 in Bruges
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Floris Karos Hotel
Floris Karos Hotel
#56 of 97 in Bruges
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Adornes
Adornes
#11 of 97 in Bruges
847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bla Bla
Hotel Bla Bla
#33 of 97 in Bruges
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dukes' Palace Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Groeninghe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Groeninghe

Address: Korte Vuldersstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range: £52 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Groeninghe 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Groeninghe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing