We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude owner - I wouldn't stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Groeninghe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Groeninghe
Ranked #74 of 230 Bruges B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rude owner - I wouldn't stay here”
Reviewed 22 July 2010

My wife and I were sheltering in the doorway of this hotel from one of the occasional summer showers you get in Bruges. The owner - a stout, dour - looking character, saw us and came across to close the door, pushing us out into the rain!

Draw your own conclusions about the hospitality you can expect here.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidinItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    50
    7
    1
    7
See reviews for
27
65
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Simply fantastic!

Very generous and delicious breakfast, including cold cuts, cheeses, various breads, cereals, fruits, yogurt, juices, milk, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, eggs, innumerable spreads, etc.

Excellent location in a quiet street near the concert hall. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the train station too.

The hotel is well kept and the towels and sheets are changed daily. An alarm clock is provided too. The bathroom is clean and modern. Importantly, there is free wi-fi internet access. The hotel dates back to the 1850s, and staying there gave me a much better feel for the city since the hotel blends in with the rest of historical Brugge.

The hotel is family-owned, and everyone was extremely kind, helpful, and quick to offer advice on places to visit and to eat at.

I visited Brugge for a scientific conference in June, and I would definitely go back and stay at Hotel Groeninghe in a heartbeat. Thanks Laurence and Johan!

Minor Comments: I thought that the hotel room rate was appropriate. Although, some luxury hotels like the Crowne Plaza may be much newer and more up-scale, they are also much more expensive. In any case, I enjoyed staying at Hotel Groeninghe because I felt like I was genuinely living in Brugge. Other reviewers have mentioend that there are some stairs which may be problematic if you have limited mobility or have a lot of luggage. While there, I did not see anyone have a problem though. There is only one key per room, so if you are sharing a room and split up to see the city, you may have to leave your key at the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kornkit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Hotel Groeninghe. The room was cosy, clean and warm and had everything we wanted, includng a kettle!! The beds were comfortable and had proper pillows. Breakfast was buffet style and there was lots of choice served with good coffee.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We stayed in Bruges for three days and had a great time at our little hotel. With inly five 5-10 minutes to walk to the market plays, the hotel is both central but quite. The hotel is run by the owner and her father. Both speak very good english. She additionaly speaks german. The have a great breakfast (even strawberry´s in winter). Bruges is a must see city...

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichaelS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
93 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

This hotel is very correct but not really fantastic as I can read it. The room is clean and comfortable but mine located on the third floor (i.e. under the roof) was small.
This hotel has 12 rooms. If you have one on the first or on the second floor (rooms with numbers from 1 to 8), it is OK. If you get one on the third floor (rooms without numbers but with letters - from A to D), i.e. under the roof, try to avoid it if : 1) it rains at night because you will hear the rain slashing the roof and the roof window and you will not sleep because of the noise created by the rain ; 2) the weather is sunny and warm because it will be very hot in your room due to its location just under the roof. Otherwise a room under the roof is OK for maximum 2 nights.

Breakfast is rather simple : some fruit, corn flakes, yogurt, bread and jam. No croissant for instance.

The owner is nice and helpful.

€ 105,-/night is a bit expensive for such a hotel

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellyn, IL
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Our group of 9 stayed here in 6 rooms for 5 nights. My husband and I loved our room #5 on the second floor which faced the back and featured a view of tiled rooftops and a steeple. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our proprietress was always smiling and helpful. She recommended some great places for dinner such as the Flemish Pot and Gambrinus. Breakfast was simple but great and we could get a boiled egg if we wanted. She set up a laptop for us and there's an honor bar in her office. The location of this hotel is on a quiet street roughly equal distance from the main square and the train station. You can walk here from the train, though the cobbles are a bit tough on the wheeled bags. While there is a hostel next door, we didn't have any noise (though it was September). This hotel was a great home away from home in Brugge.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ILJilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

My small family stayed there for a long weekend. We booked the rooms via their website and had problems with our reservation. Please, please, please call to confirm your reservation and you will probably receive far better care than we did.

When it was realized that we had jacked up the reservation the owner was very short with us and stayed that way the whole weekend. We never felt comfortable or welcome.

The hotel itself is absolutely nothing special. We stayed in the attic or the 4th floor with a tiny little room, tiny little bathroom and windows you could not look out of if you were over 5'3" tall. The bed was comfortable and the place was for the most part clean. The "family" rooms are on the top floors and if you've ever had to hike your luggage and a two year old up 4 flights of steep stairs you know why we won't be staying there again. If you have the slightest physical disability request a 1st floor so you only have one flight to climb. Breakfast was your standard European spread where the only thing hot is the boiled egg.

I was worried that it was going to be a noisy neighborhood as there is a hostel next door but it was fairly quiet. It is a quick 10-15 minute walk to the city center and right off of a fairly chic shopping street. There is a plethora of restaurants in the general area- but be aware very few are family (or two year old) friendly.

There is no parking at the hotel and the owner told us to park at the train station for 2.50 Euro and was about a 10-15 minute walk back. However, you can park in the city center lot, pay 8.70 Euro and have a 3-5 minute walk. A lot easier with luggage!!

Brugge was a pretty little city that is easy to walk. I encourage you to take the carriage ride first. It is a great way to get your bearings.

I can't not recommend this hotel, but if you do choose it, please confirm your reservation with the hotel, ask for a first floor room, and don't take your children.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wyogiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.0 mi away
Leopold
Leopold
#75 of 97 in Bruges
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
Hotel Restaurant Loreto
#48 of 97 in Bruges
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Goezeput
Hotel de Goezeput
#30 of 97 in Bruges
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Het Gheestelic Hof
Hotel Het Gheestelic Hof
#39 of 230 in Bruges
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lokkedize
Lokkedize
#11 of 34 in Bruges
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huis 't Schaep
Huis 't Schaep
#5 of 230 in Bruges
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Groeninghe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Groeninghe

Property: Hotel Groeninghe
Address: Korte Vuldersstraat 29, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Groeninghe 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Groeninghe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing