We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacobs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jacobs Hotel
Ranked #72 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Three of us stayed at this hotel for three nights. Hotel Jacobs is in a reasonable location for Brugge, reception staff are friendly, rooms and bathrooms are large and well equipped with plenty of car parking available.
Car parks are valid for 4 hours; reception staff were very helpful and changed our timer each day to avoid walking back to the car throughout the day.
Unfortunately the rooms are extremely noisy - doors constantly slamming from other rooms, hearing people walk up and down the stairs all night, people underneath our room talking and our door banging during the night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    189
    107
    46
    34
See reviews for
101
211
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London,England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed 2 nights. They had a double bed plus an extra ,utilised the space very well.The hotel is right opposite a lovely church. Walking distance to Market Square. comfortable rooms. breakfast was good -pancakes, croissant, porridge,toast,hams,cheese,cakes etc. Though they say free wifi , very brief connection,barely 10 min a day if you're lucky. You will need to eat out ,rest of the day,bring bottles of drink if you need for the night as the hotel does not provide. There is no kettle,tea,coffee etc in room. Breakfast is served early so have to wait till then to have a cuppa. Our luggage was stored in the hotel after check out so we could go out not having to drag it along.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank payasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had a great one night stay at Hotel Jacobs. The woman at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were nice and clean and there was a really yummy breakfast included. It is only a 5 minute walk to the main square...but bring your map! I'd recommend this spot to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I am just back from a short break to Bruges to celebration my Father's 50th birthday. Myself, sister (both grown ups!), Mum and Dad shared a quadruple room for one night and were delighted with our choice of room and hotel. I would definitely recommend the quadruple room for families; it was more of an interconnecting room set up with a king sized bed in the main room with tv, wardrobe, desk etc and two single beds in the other room, complete with own sink, mirrors and storage space. The bathroom was large as well, with a monsoon style shower cubicle. All very clean with lovely big windows looking out to the church across the road. Loud but pleasant wake up call from the bells!
The lady on the front desk was very helpful and kind, and breakfast was perfectly lovely for a continental.
The hotel location is about a ten minute walk from the very centre of the city...I would recommend using a map as Bruges is a bit of a maze! If you follow the map though then you shouldn't have a problem as the streets are well signposted.
On another note, if you are interested in WW1 then I would recommend the Flanders Fields Battlefield tours. They are run by a man called Nathan who was fantastically knowledgeable in all areas of the WW1 battles that took place in the area with an intimate tour, door to door pick ups and a running commentary on the history of WW1 for the journey over to the Flanders region. I would recommend the evening Last Post tour.
The horse and cart tours from the main square where the Belfry is located are also fantastic. The tour guides give a great tour around the city for 30 minutes and the horses are well cared for. We stopped half way round the tour for the horse to have a rest, some food and water and a splash down with cool water.
I hope this is helpful! Bruges is such a beautiful city!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingK85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We booked one nights stay at Hotel Jacobs via booking.com and when we arrived they informed us that they had over booked and could not honor our booking. They didn't offer to help us find alternative accommodation even though it was a bank holiday weekend in Bruges.

They were rude to us. One person trying to say we had never made a booking with them even though the other person (receptionist) found our booking on their system.

I was really looking forward to our stay here however was highly disappointed at the way we were treated. Luckily, booking.com were fantastic and found us alternative accommodation within 10 minutes which was in a better location.

If you book Hotel Jacob, make sure you phone in advance to double check as they may not have honoured your booking either.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bruges hotels

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel is in a good location - only 5 minutes from the main square and all the attractions. The staff are very friendly and was given several suggestions on where to eat and drink by the young lady on reception.
The room was small but clean and tidy and did the trick for us.
The breakfast was the standard European offering and I had no complaints although I'd be lying if I said it would live long in the memory.
One down side was the bar. My girlfriend wanted a gin and tonic only to be told they had no ice or tonic water!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBerkshireBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

It's a nice hotel but it's not exactly in the heart of the town. It's about a 5 minute walk from the main square which isn't bad I suppose but I would exactly call this the historic heart as they like to claim.
The room was nice and had a good bed and shower. A bit disappointing that breakfast is so expensive at 25 euros for 2!! That seems a bit excessive and we didn't eat there.

Hotel was fine for a night but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iammmattdoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Floris Karos Hotel
Floris Karos Hotel
#58 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europ Hotel
Europ Hotel
#71 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
Leonardo Hotel Brugge
#70 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
1.2 mi away
Gasthof Groenhove
Gasthof Groenhove
#64 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacobs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobs Hotel

Property: Jacobs Hotel
Address: Baliestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jacobs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home in Bruges and enjoy a breezing charm of Jacobs Hotel in a quiet and picturesque area of medieval Bruges, next to Belfort and the main Market Square of Bruges -'Grote Markt' . The romantic canals of Bruges are only a few steps away from Jacobs hotel, ideal for a nice evening stroll ending your beautiful day in Bruges.All hotel rooms completely renovated in April-June 2012 have private facilities with shower/toilet, hairdryer, flat screen LED -TV, direct telephone line, "living vcolors"ambiant lights. The spacious breakfast room, a peaceful lounge and a cozy bar will help you to relax during your stay in Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Jacobs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacobs Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing