We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for a short break in Brugge”
Review of Jacobs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jacobs Hotel
Ranked #79 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Hotel Jacobs offers are good base if your planning a short trip to Brugge.
The hotel is welcoming and clean and provides a comfortable stay. The rooms are modern and clean, the beds are comfortable and the included breakfast is plentiful and provides a very good variety to suit all tastes.
The hotel is within the historic city and whilst this is great as it's only a 10 minute walk to the Markt and all of the wonder of this stunning city it also means that parking is controlled. For this the local authorities use the European blue disc system which limits parking to 4 hours at any one time, so whilst you can park outside the hotel you'll need to borrow a blue disc from them for a 10 euro deposit. However at night the parking is not controlled so you can park in the evening without a problem.
The hotel staff are very welcoming, helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble, all in all this is a very good base for a short break in Brugge and I'd recommend it to larger families like ours needing a large comfortable room for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonofi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 499 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel in the hurry, did no research as it was a short stay. However, it was a little gem in beautiful city. The hotel staff were so nice, very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location, just a few twisty cobbled streets and a lovely old Bridge away from "market square" the walk is nice and somewhat romantic. All in all, I would definitely go back to this hotel as for what it cost I feel was fantastic value. Thanks again to the staff :-) from Rob and Liisa

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank R o b e r t E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We had a lovely stay in the beautiful town of Bruges. The hotel was clean, comfortable and located in a quiet, sleepy part of Bruges, but only 5 - 10 minutes walk to the city centre, with nearby parking.
The breakfast was good with a variety of different things available.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, and spoke excellent english.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank htrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here for one night in October. The hotel wasn't our first choice but we loved it. We found it easy to find, as bus stops close by. The staff were very friendly on arrival and helpful. Our room was very spacious and large! TV, comfy big bed, warm shower, all very clean and disco lights above the bed for a extra touch. Breakfast was included and had a good variety of foods. We were able to leave our luggage the day we checked out in a locked room. Free wifi connection. The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk into the city centre but we loved the walk due to the beautiful cobble streets of brugge. The staff recommend attractions, restaurants etc. we really enjoyed staying here, definitely good value for money and would come back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GraceS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is quaint, clean and comfortable. It has a great location and an easy walk to all the sights in Brugge. Parking is very easy and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good which was included in the room price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyce2573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed a Week in the Hotel Jacobs.
The Rooms are very small and noisy, but for the Night it is OK.
The Staff ist very friendly and takes care of your Car (almost the whole City is a restricted parking Area). A big plus for the Hotel is the very quiet location in front of a church but just 5 Minutes to the central Marketplace by foot!

The Breakfast is just low quality, convinience baked bread. Very simple...

We take for our next Trip a Hotel which lays a little bit off the centre (Bruges is a small City) and take a better category for almost the same Price.

But for just 2-3 Days the Hotel Jacobs is the perfect choice!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank DanielNi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I can confirm the many negative reviews on here

The good

Staff were generally friendly and helpful
Bed was comfortable
Hotel was in a quiet area but close to Bruges centre
Rooms had obviously been refurbished (except bathroom) and were clean.

The bad

Walls were thin so inevitable noise from other occupants
Superior room was not as described on website
Shower was over bath but sideways on so difficult not to get water everywhere
Bathroom was old and toilet cramped
Wi-fi was very slow

The ugly

Breakfast was a bit of a joke. Buffet laid out but if you wanted fresh toast or pancakes the staff would bring a few pancakes or slices of toast out at a time for 20/30 people leading to a mad rush by everyone. Same thing with the coffee. Seemed like the hotel was a penny-pinching.

The "City Tax". As per other reviews they do charge a city tax. This varies city to city in Belgium, Gent DO charge 2.50 pppn and leave up to the hotels how to collect. There is a city tax in Bruges but this is supposed to be part of the room rate. As they take your credit card details you have no option but to pay. Also they have a notice on reception - Please pay the City Tax - as if it was an option.

In summary I cannot recommend this hotel and would suggest it is poor value on a par with low end chain hotels in the UK

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sky5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Europ Hotel
Europ Hotel
#78 of 97 in Bruges
458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Floris Karos Hotel
Floris Karos Hotel
#56 of 97 in Bruges
1,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#26 of 97 in Bruges
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#28 of 97 in Bruges
1,566 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Weinebrugge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacobs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobs Hotel

Address: Baliestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range: £52 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jacobs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home in Bruges and enjoy a breezing charm of Jacobs Hotel in a quiet and picturesque area of medieval Bruges, next to Belfort and the main Market Square of Bruges -'Grote Markt' . The romantic canals of Bruges are only a few steps away from Jacobs hotel, ideal for a nice evening stroll ending your beautiful day in Bruges.All hotel rooms completely renovated in April-June 2012 have private facilities with shower/toilet, hairdryer, flat screen LED -TV, direct telephone line, "living vcolors"ambiant lights. The spacious breakfast room, a peaceful lounge and a cozy bar will help you to relax during your stay in Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jacobs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacobs Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing