We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Jacobs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jacobs Hotel
Ranked #72 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

Our third stay at this ideally placed hotel in the lovely city of Bruges. And it's the last. Admittedly the previous stay was 15 years ago when the Jacobs had different owners, but what a difference. Our room (303) was very shabby - dirty carpet with a worn through patch by the chest of drawers; old curtains in a bay that had an in-need-of-plastering crack in the ceiling; clothes hooks that had some sort of padding coming adrift, over the mirror; wardrobe with a door that wouldn't open fully due to wall mounted television on which the radio stations (listed) were unobtainable; grubby bathroom floor; elderly pink suite with white toilet seat; wonky flush plunger; plug for wash basin had half the chain missing so wasn't attached. What a disappointment!
To cap things off: We had arrived late on a Thursday afternoon and first thing on the Friday were off on a long day's trip. The Saturday was spent sightseeing too. On Sunday morning I asked the manager/proprietor to book a cab to take us to Bruges station to make a connection with Eurostar in Brussels. I confirmed that this was done first thing on Monday. It was only when we were in the taxi that the driver told us that there was a strike by Belgian railways on that no trains were running. This had been known since Friday. At this point I'll ask, "How many of us read the news or watch the news in a foreign language?" One major thing I like to avoid on a break is the television. I would have hoped/thought that the hotel would have let us know. In fact, why didn't they have a notice on their reception desk? And I had confirmed the booking the morning we left. For us the result was a taxi to Lille, and a fare of 215 Euros, where we managed to make a connection.
A look at my travel map will show that I do travel quite a bit to many different climes and locations. It's a shame that I have to rate this hotel stay as one of the worst yet. The disappointment was compounded by the fact that we took friends with us having recommended the Jacobs to them, and also by the fact that the staff just didn't seem to care.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    191
    108
    46
    34
See reviews for
102
213
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

This place is lovely. Nothing fancy, but great for a few nights. We stopped by on a driving holiday and were able to park outside (although we had to pay for 4 Euros for a permit). The staff were great. One spoke fluent English, and if they didn't they tried! The room was relatively basic but had a hairdryer & TV. The breakfast buffet was lovely and it only takes abotu 8 mins to walk in to the main square.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

On 1st impression the hotel looked really nice, however the room was very tatty and cheap looking. The location was good however with good access to the centre, breakfast was good and so was service.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lau55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

Wonderful, characterful small hotel in a perfectly convenient location of Brugge (even possible to find parking on the street!) . Very friendly welcoming staff gave a lot of useful information. Room was good size, cozy and sparkling clean. Would go back anytime!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentravelertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2009

Spent one night at the Hotel Jacobs as part of a 3 week road trip round Europe. It was in a good and quiet location - 10 minute walk from the town, and the best value hotel we found on the internet to book prior to leaving Englang (paid about 75 euros). Staff were friendly and helpful and our room was ready on arrival at 12pm. The room itself was the main disappointment really, it was small and a bit musty with a soft saggy bed and a tiny en-suite bathroom. The curtains were almost see through so we were awake as soon as it got light. I wonder if we were given this room for having paid a cheaper price on the internet - all three adjacent rooms to ours were empty all night, and we saw when we looked in them were massive, light and airy compared to ours!

This aside, though, there was quite a good self-serve breakfast in the morning included, of croissants, meats and cheeses, bread, cereal etc and coffee and juice. The hotel also takes credit cards. We parked just on the road outside which was free. All in all it was an OK place to stay for the night, but we didn't have a great night's sleep on the saggy bed and I would only recommend it to people on the basis that it was cheap and in a good location. It would probably be described as 'charming and authentic' in a travel guide, but I have to say we preferred the next more modern hotel we stayed at in Ghent with the crisp white sheets, air conditioning and black out curtains for 10 euros less! Philistines, I know.......

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter77Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2007

We had a pleasant room at the top of the hotel, great view across the rooftops to the Belfort, a bit lacking in cupboard space, but made up for by a big shiny modern bathroom, and most important - a very comfortable bed. The staff were helpful, breakfasts good. 10 mins walk from the centre of things, in a very nice neighbourhood with canals a stones throw away.

Transfers from the Superfast Ferry were very well organized, everything ran like clockwork.
Can't wait to go back....

  • Liked — Good bed - slept like a baby.
  • Disliked — Coffee could have been better
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Annaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2007

After failing to get into the hotel of our choice we found the Hotel Jacobs was available and it turned out to be better than our prefferred hotel! The hotel is very relaxing and there were plenty of helpful staff avilable to pass on their knowledge and advice. The room we had, a triple, was very clean, quite spacious and with a very nice bathroom, although the room faced the front of the hotel it was still very quiet. The breakfast room is very pleasant and large with a great choice of cereals and continental style food. A small bar area and a guest lounge are perfectly adequate for such a hotel.
We had stayed in this part of Brugge previously and knew it was a quiet area within easy walking - 10 minutes, of the Market Square with some very nice cafe/restaurants en route.
We'd have no hesitation using this hotel again or recommending this professionally run hotel to anyone else

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — nothing, everything was fine
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bornagaincyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.7 mi away
Floris Karos Hotel
Floris Karos Hotel
#56 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europ Hotel
Europ Hotel
#71 of 97 in Bruges
3.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gasthof Groenhove
Gasthof Groenhove
#64 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Weinebrugge
0.9 mi away
Novotel Brugge Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacobs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacobs Hotel

Property: Jacobs Hotel
Address: Baliestraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jacobs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home in Bruges and enjoy a breezing charm of Jacobs Hotel in a quiet and picturesque area of medieval Bruges, next to Belfort and the main Market Square of Bruges -'Grote Markt' . The romantic canals of Bruges are only a few steps away from Jacobs hotel, ideal for a nice evening stroll ending your beautiful day in Bruges.All hotel rooms completely renovated in April-June 2012 have private facilities with shower/toilet, hairdryer, flat screen LED -TV, direct telephone line, "living vcolors"ambiant lights. The spacious breakfast room, a peaceful lounge and a cozy bar will help you to relax during your stay in Bruges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jacobs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacobs Hotel Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing