We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantanstic Break, Romantic Room, Highly Recommend”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantanstic Break, Romantic Room, Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Wanted to plan a 4 day romantic break in Bruge as never been before. Spent a lot of time on Trip Advisor searching hotels & finally decided on Jan Brito. We were not disappointed. Very friendly & helpful staff, we arrived 3 1/2 hours early so our room was not available, however, was allowed to leave our luggage securely so had the freedom to do some early sightseeing. Stayed in a Baroness Room which was very clean & very nicely decorated & the bed was one of the best i've ever slept in. Also liked the fact that there was a separate shower & bath. Also nicely stocked mini bar with small bottled wines, beer, spirits & chocolate, reasonably priced 5Euros wine, 4Euros beer (i've paid more in this country!! Oh & free Wi-Fi which I was using from the room (not Reception).
Breakfast was very satisfactory, nice selection of cooked (altho they seem to like their bacon very very crisp) & selections of salami, ham, cheeses, fruit cereal, breads, no complaints there. There was a lovely garden to the resr by the breakfast/dining room which was very pleasant.
Lastly, location is just 5/10 min walk to the market square. Tip.. Market Day in on Weds, the Food stalls are an eye opener, try not to eat too much at breakfast!!

Room Tip: Baroness Room very confortable & spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazzyo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    398
    82
    27
    26
See reviews for
161
769
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We've just returned from a short trip to Bruges. This hotel is a very short walk from the canals & famous market place of Bruges. The rooms are all well appointed (we upgraded to a 'Knights room' - very spacious with spectacular medieval wooden beams) The mini bar was well stocked and just about the same price as the hotel bar - again great value. The multi-lingual staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel courtyard garden is a fabulous oasis away from the city. We sat in the sun and drank freezing cold cava. On arrival the hotel will give you a discount card for all the major attractions and museums.

Top Bruges tips: Canal boat trip - This is a 'must do' . Go early in the day to avoid queues.

Bike Hire: Excellent way to see the city and surrounding area. Hire cheapest from the hotel - €9.00 per day

Segway tour - For the slightly more adventurous - absolutely brilliant fun and really easy to operate. €30 for 1hr or €45 for 2 hrs.

For the evening we found the best value restaurants were 'Diligence' on Hoogstraat and 'Boru' Irish bar on Burg.

There are loads of great bars and restaurants catering for all budgets. The excellent beers tend to be cheaper the farther away from the market place you go.

I thoroughly recommend the Jan Brito (and Briges in general) - certainly worth the excellent ratings.

Room Tip: Make the upgrade to a Knights Room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skimonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This is a 4* Hotel with 5* comforts. A very warm welcome and helpful staff throughtout our stay. Clean rooms (we stayed in 2 rooms as we extended our stay) a fantastic breakfast and close to all attractions, five minutes walk fromt her main square.

Room Tip: Our favourite room was The Maids Room, very quit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverfox21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed here for two nights in April. The hotel was in perfect walking distance to the main square and near a lovely park and the canal.

We stayed in a Knight room which was beautifully decorated, spacious and clean. The mini bar was well priced and the buffet breakfast was good, with lots of choice and was replenished frequently.

Our room was quiet and was a joy to come back to after a long day sightseeing. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucyt202016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Having read the reviews on Tripadvisor we booked this hotel for a 2 night stay for my birthday in April. We stayed in a Knights room, which was at the back of the hotel on the ground floor and had a small area outside where we could sit with a glass of wine before going out for an evening meal! It was very quiet, overlooking the garden, and we had no problems sleeping.
Breakfast buffet was lovely with plenty of choice of both hot and cold food.
The staff were extremely helpful e.g. with making restaurant reservations on our behalf.
You can hire bikes from the hotel (which we did) for 9 euros a day, which was cheaper than the local bike hire shops. Rode along the canal to Damme, and beyond to the Siphon restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We were so impressed with the Brito. Our expectations were high following internet / trip advisor research, but they were quickly surpassed.
A friendly welcome, then we were shown to our Baroness room. This overlooked their beautiful, fountained garden.
The room was spacious and very clean (fabric wallpaper too!) and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in with crisp, Egyptian cotton sheets and lots of room.
The wi-fi worked, the bathroom was very clean and well apportioned, and everything was extremely comfortable.
On the first day of our stay we rented bikes (9€ per day) and these were definitely worthwhile for exporing the town. Again the hotel was very helpful with this.
The breakfasts were magnificent!! Enough great food to mean that we only wanted for just a waffle for lunch.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and of course, the hotel is close to the centre of town.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOTTNICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We arrived early on our day of check in smelly and dirty following 3 days at the Groezrock festival. Although there was plenty of time before check in the hotel receptionist took our details, let us drop off our bags and use the toilet facilities to freshen up. We returned not long later and had no problem falling asleep for an hour in the gorgeous garden, it was that quiet, then checked in and slept for 5 hours straight before resurfacing for dinner in the city.

Our room was 33 and was beautiful. Minibar was no more expensive than in the shops and bars, shower was fantastic and the bed was sooo comfy.

Breakfast was a buffet and very good. My wife had 3rds most mornings.

The hotel itself is stunning inside, immaculate everywhere and every member of staff is incredibly friendly. The location is perfect with only 5 minutes from the main square

I really have no complaints and will book again

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#19 of 97 in Bruges
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Navarra
Hotel Navarra
#16 of 97 in Bruges
2,146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Property: Hotel Jan Brito
Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing