We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not up to 4 star standard”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #24 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Jan Brito for 2 nights in a family room.

The hotel was booked largely based on the reviews posted on Trip Adviser and in some respects we felt a little under whelmed by what we found. Perhaps our expectations had been inflated by the many flattering reviews from prior guests?

Of course it is not by accident that the hotel has received such favourable reviews as it does have many good points. The hotel is located in a side street which makes for a quite and peaceful environment (good night’s sleep) yet is still very convenient to various points of interest in Bruges.

The building itself possess lots of old world charm. The public spaces are filled with period furniture that creates an interesting and in some cases quirky environment in which to say.

There is a private garden at the rear of the hotel which is a perfect space to enjoy some time out from sightseeing (the use of aluminium doors / windows in the corridor leading from the main building into the garden was a strange choice and does not sit comfortably in an otherwise historic building).

We could not fault the level of service provided by staff in the hotel. It didn’t matter if we were asking for directions or for cups of tea, the staff always attended to our requests in a friendly and efficient manner.

The breakfast is served in a very pleasant dinning room with views onto the garden. The standard of breakfast is consistent with that generally found in hotels and is best described as being OK rather than spectacular.

Our disappointment was with the room itself. We stayed in a very rustic looking room with slopping ceilings, timber beams etc. Whilst the floor space was very generous, much of the area was not useable due to the steeply raked ceilings. Moving in the corridor between where the beds are located and the small sitting room was difficult due to the low ceiling. Similarly, care was required when getting in and out of bed as there was very limited headroom (again due to the slopping ceiling).

In some ways the décor in the room was starting to look a little tired. When comparing the price / standard of the room with other places we have stayed, we felt it was a little expensive and not at 4 star standard.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simm0ns_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,256 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

What a lovely hotel. Filled with beautiful antiques and gardens. The owners and the staff were very warm and friendly. My favorite hotel on my trip.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chatsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Just got back from the Jan Brito in Bruges where we had a great stay. The hotel was clean and very comfortable, much as I expected from the majority of reviews on Trip Adviser. We had a fairly compact room under the eaves, but contained a large, very comfortable bed and pillows, two easy chairs and table, wardrobe, dressing table and flat screen TV with a good choice of channels, including BBC1 and 2 and ITV1! The option of being able to use the quiet air con during our very warm 5 days was useful, too! The bathroom was a good size and very well equipped. The breakfast was plentiful and good quality, having something for everyone. The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful, and it was good to have the option of relaxing in the lounge, outside in the lovely garden or in the bar. The internet was free to use in reception if you wanted it. Overall, it was in a great location, near the centre sights and restaurants but in a quiet road. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blundellsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Hi, unfortunately we have had a bit of a mixed bag staying at the Jan Brito.

Agree with lots of the comments here great location, lovely front of house staff, nothing is too much trouble, really good buffet breakfast, beautiful gardens, really good wifi, good and reasonably priced mini-bar.

We booked one of the Knight's rooms, and was put in room 4. From the website I thought we would be in an olde worlde room under the eaves / with beams but instead it was a room decorated in quite a "traditional" style, arguable a little chintzy, rather than olde-worlde. Nothing exactly wrong with that and it was brilliant that it was a really large room with a very large bed, but the type of decoration is just not our thing, and would have much preferred to have had a small room with a nicer atmosphere. The bathroom fittings are high quality, the range of satellite channels is better than average, the tv was small and not a flat screen (not that that should matter in Bruges... you should be out enjoying it!)

Our main issue is on our second day, we left the room about 12.15 and came back at about 7.30pm to get ready for dinner. We had left the do not disturb sign on during the morning but taken it off when we left. Oddly, when we got back, the room had been hald serviced, in that our bedspread was missing, and the towels replaced (even though we had done that thing of leaving them hung up so they don't need to be replaced) but nothing else, the pilliows were scrunched where we left them, there was no evidence of any cleaning and the toiletries hadn't been replaced. We didn't have long to get ready for our reservations so didn't have time to complain to reception. It was a bit annoying as I don'ty usually bother taking shower gel when I stay in a four star hotel and it was running out by this morning before we left, as it wasn't replaced yesterday.

The other thing we thought might bother some people is some of the erotic photo-artwork, like the two naked ladies in the breakfast room. Doesn't bother us at all but I'm not sure families with small children or anyone who is offended by this sort of thing would appreciate it. It fits in with the fact that there does seem to be something about the overall taste level of the decoration. Don't get me wrong, lots of this hotel is lovely, but there are some inconguencies.

Overall, the decoration and the problems wiith housekeeping make it hard to agree that this is a four star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WillOnTheHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Jan Brito. It is in a great location (just a couple blocks from the main market square), and has all the historical charm of the town while still satisfying the modern needs for comfort. Our room was lovely, and overlooked a charming fountain garden. The service was wonderful, and the breakfast was excellent. My daughter reported that she had the best hot chocolate of her life there each morning! We highly recommend the Jan Brito!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotel Jan Brito and I cannot fault the hotel in any way. From the moment we walked in the front door the staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was well furnished and clean, even though it was a bit compact. We had booked a Knight's Room which we had thought would be in the eaves on the hotel as shown on the website, but it wasn,t. This did not distract from the enjoyment of our break as the room was more than adequate and very clean. The breakfast was the highlight of the hotel with a buffet selection to die for - bacon & eggs, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, cheese & meat, smoked salmon and pastries & croissants.... the choice was sublime....!! I would not hesitate to go back to this hotel I don't think you would find better for the price in Bruges. The location was also perfect, set well off the main market square, but close enough to be within easy walking distance of all the restaurants and bars....! I can't wait to return to Bruges and the Hotel Jan Brito

Room Tip: 2nd floor knights room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AHomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We have just spent two nights at the Jan Brito after a recommendation from a friend and I am pleased to say it came up to expectations. We stayed in a knight room and were satisfied with the comfort and cleansiness of the room and indeed the hotel in general. Breakfast was nice and the hotel could not really be more centrally located, only a 5 minute stroll from the main square. Staff were all friendly and helpful. If you are going to Bruge give it a try you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham_756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#25 of 97 in Bruges
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#34 of 97 in Bruges
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#26 of 97 in Bruges
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £88 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing