We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for touring Brugge”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #27 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois USA
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ideal location for touring Brugge”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

A GPS definitely helps to reach this hotel. Many narrow and one-way streets but don't let this keep you from staying at the Jan Brito. The staff is extremely helpful both with the accommodations and sightseeing suggestions. Leave your car in the underground car park and walk to see the city's many attractions. Our room was small but adequate. The air-conditioning remote control unit is a bit to figure out but once we accomplished that everything was fine. Breakfast selection was large and more than adequate. The hotel itself is fun to explore. Enjoy the hotel courtyard.

Room Tip: We have recommended the hotel to friends who plan on visiting Brugge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B_Maurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    403
    84
    27
    27
See reviews for
163
778
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dalton, ga
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Hotel has great location, close to all historic sites. Large room and bath although carpet could use a cleaning. Comfortable bed. Beautiful outdoor space, unfortunately couldn't use it because it rained the entire time there. The breakfast was outstanding served in a beautiful dining room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeptemberDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We recently stayed at the Hotel Jan Brito during our first visit to Bruges. We had read good reviews and had been impressed by the hotel's website, but we were still very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It was even better than we expected! It's very reasonably priced and in an excellent location - just a few minutes' walk to most of the attractions in Bruges. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were large and charming, and the garden with the fountain was beautiful. We can't wait to go back to Bruges, and back to the Hotel Jan Brito!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bantoo70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed in a Knights room. Loved the window blinds which appeared like net curtains however, while we could look out people could not see in. would have preferred a larger room however it had a charm of its own.
Breakfast room was beautiful, excellent choice and variety of food. Only negative with breakfast was that the only choice of eggs was scrambled, tasteless and rubbery.
lovely gardens to sit in and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gweaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Returned from a three night weekend stay at the beginning of the month, we stayed at the Jan Brito this time last year too and booked again as we really liked it. Arrived early and as the room wasn't ready we were able to store our bags securely. As we normally spend so little time in our room we chose the basic Maid's room last year, this year we chose the knight's room but didn't like it as much. Think the previous occupant had ignored the "no smoking" sign, so the room was rather smelly but luckily there was a good sized window and air conditioning has now been installed.
We had room 4 and the landing on the floor above creates a lot of noise when the hotel is busy, wished we had paid less and got room 17 like last year! Each to their own.
Other than that, we would still recommend the hotel and stay here again, the staff are friendly, the rooms are comfy and clean, the breakfast is great and always well stocked and the hotel's location is superb.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzziWizzi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed here one night whilst spending my birthday in Bruges with my girlfriend and parents. Great hotel in a building close to the park and just 2 minutes walking to all the action in this very nice town. The building dates back to the 16th century and in 1637 the three buildings have been merged into one big building. We slept in the old horse stable which is one of 4 suites located in the garden. It was a 2 story room with a small living room in the actual stable and a bed and bathroom upstairs. A bit pricey (but I found Bruges to be rather pricey in general) but a fabulous place to stay during your visit in this town.

Room Tip: I think room 21 is the best from the ones I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeinW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Hotel Jan Brito is located in a quiet side street, less than 5 mins easy walk to the Markt Square heart of Brugge.

We stayed for one night in early July 2011, a family of four, two adults and children 9 and 14. We chose this hotel as it was one of the few in Brugge that had a family room/suite. This was more expensive than many other hotels for one room, but generally cheaper than taking 2 separate ones. Breakfast was included also.

We arrived early in the morning, and left our luggage at the hotel. Before we headed out for a day of sightseeing and chocolate consumption, we took tea in the beautiful garden while we planned the day. And what a wonderful, peaceful, and relaxing place it was.

The room was ready for us at 2pm when we came back a bit tired and weary. It was a split level room, with the upper part being in what must have been the old attic. There was a large and comfortable double below, and two singles up top. The kids were thrilled by this arrangement. The only reservation I have is that the wooden staircase leading to the upper part is rather steep, and could be tricky for younger children.

The bathroom was not large, but fulfilled it's function perfectly. There were lots and lots of towels, and extra pillows in the wardrobe too, always a bonus.

The room was warm, as we were there in summer time, but an air conditioning unit is fitted upstairs, and kept the room at a comfortable temp. The street is quiet, so we were able to sleep with the windows open (which were velux type opening onto the roof). Black-out blinds on the windows too, always good for getting the kids to sleep on summer nights.

We enjoyed a slow and filling breakfast, which consisted of the usual european fayre. Plenty of cooked items, cereals, breads and pastries, cold meats and chesses etc etc. Spoilt for choice really.

Again we left the luggage after checkout at 11am, and headed off for more sights and chocolate. When we returned, we enjoyed another lovely cup of tea and some hot chocolate in the lounge (cheapest of the day!) before getting the taxi to the station.

The hotel is in and old 'mansion' and is quite impressive to put it mildly. The staff were very helpful and professional.

Room Tip: Book early to get the family room, Number 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seadog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Property: Hotel Jan Brito
Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing