We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #27 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The hotel was lovely, clean and well presented and the staff were all very pleasant at all times! would definitely go back. The girls on reception are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jennyt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear,

We appreciate you took the time to write a review, and we're pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Providing our guests a memorable stay is what we try to obtain.

Kind regards,
Betty Devos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jan Brito
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

best hotel of our European vacation Spacious combination of old world charm and modern amenites. Room on first floor for three people with towering ceilings.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bkatzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear,

We thank you for your kind words and are pleased to read you loved our hotel.
We’re looking forward to welcome you and your familiy at the Jan Brito hotel again.

Kind regards,
Betty Devos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We had one unforgettable night in Bruges! Firstly there was a lost (though subsequently found) camera then a suitcase key locked inside its suitcase. To round things off a temporary crown fell off my tooth during our evening meal (at Al Riad restaurant - highly recommended - crap dentistry was to blame, not the food!)

The receptionists at the Jan Brito spent ages that night and again the following morning trying to track down a dentist who wasn't on holiday and who could do emergency repairs. This really was service over and beyond the call of duty - they kept on trying until one was eventually found. I will be eternally grateful - especially as the dentist who saw me charged - with an apologetic shrug - a mere 10 Euro.

Unfortunately I didn't get the name of the receptionists in question, but as this was the 28th / 29th July I'm sure you'll know who you are! Thank you once again - we hope to come back to Bruges and the Jan Brito again some day soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The Jan Brito itself was a nice hotel, but we were disappointed with the room. We did pay more for a 'deluxe' room (The Baroness) but on seeing the room, we felt a bit cheated. The photos on the website show the room as much less cluttered, and larger, and I certainly would not describe it as deluxe. It was a bit faded, not much space to move about, and the bathroom window had a large crack in it. We were only there for one night, which we were glad about. Breakfast was quite good, and the building itself was interesting and character-full. They did allow us to leave our luggage there before and after checking in, which was good. But we wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Locate the hotel on a map to make sure the hotel is as 'conveniently located' as it claims.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NorthumberlandKat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyDevos, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Dear,
We regret to read you was disappointed about the room you’ve had.
Each room into our hotel is unique and different, this even within the same room type. This because our hotel buildings are UNESCO protected, and this not only for the façade but also the interior.
On the websites we’re offering a large selection of pictures however we can’t post them all due to the limits.
Kind regards,
Betty Devos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Such a beautiful hotel. The rooms had such character. Ours had all old wooden beams on the wall. It added to the quiant town. The service was great as was the location. My only complaint was our room smelt a little bit like an old house, a little musty. Nothing horrible. Other then that our stay was very enjoyable! Would definatly reccomend

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitparedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyDevos, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2011

Dear,

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Our hotel has indeed a lot of characteristic elements dating from the past centuries.
We’re looking forward to welcome you and/or your friends into the future.

Kind regards,
Betty Devos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The hotel is located in the centre of Bruges in a 16th century house. This House has been tastefully refurbished into a four star hotel, and much of the old house has been kept like the marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, and it has lots of exposed beams.
The hotel is situated in the heart of the town: 30 metres from the most picturesque canals, 300 metres from the City Hall and Market square where there is a very old bell tower. There are approx. 35 rooms all have en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television, minibar. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, the breakfast is good lots of it and you can even get chocolate from the buffet, it also has a good size garden with some lovely flowers in it. From the garden there is also access to some suites my wife and I stayed in one which was to a good standard but the stairs to the bathroom where very steep Public underground parking is nearby but you need to make a reservation.
All the staff where helpful but it is lacking in atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterallen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyDevos, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Dear,

We thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Jan Brito Hotel.
The description of the hotel and the facilities it offers, couldn’t be pointed out better.
For the car parking we indeed recommend to make a reservation.

We’re looking forward to welcome you into the future.

Kind regards,
Betty Devos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I'm saying this hotel is expensive but for all I know so too are all the Brugge hotels. This one cost me Eur150 for a twin room for 1 night, including breakfast. (August 2011)
Having said that the room was OK. Clean and with everything you'd expect in a EUR80-100 room.
Everyone was very friendly with ample on road parking.
Best of all it turned out to be a few steps from one of the best meals I've enjoyed in a long time (Can't remember restaurants name at the me)
Location is Brugge old town centre and everything is just a few footfalls away.
The breakfast was as good as they come, excellent, great variety and delicious.
Having moaned about the price. It's at the top of my list when I return, but I'll haggle before just pitching up there

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickDidThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DimitriThirion, Eigenaar at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Dear,
We appreciate you took the time to write a review. Please be aware that the room rates aren’t only based on interior, but we also have to take into account the good location, the “UNESCO” monument being (renovation), guest supplies (umbrella’s, free WIFI ... ) last but not least as you mentioned, the excellent breakfast buffet with great variety & service we are offering.
We would like to inform you as well that our hotel has 7 different room types in different rate categories.

Kind regards.
Betty Devos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#19 of 97 in Bruges
1,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#26 of 97 in Bruges
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £94 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing