We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #27 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Lovely, well positioned hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Knight room in the annex was clean & spacious. Breakfast offered loads of choice. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pc1966_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Dear,

We thank you for having taken a moment to write a review. It’s a pleasure to read you enjoyed your break and loved the hotel within all the aspects.
We're looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Betty Devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    403
    84
    27
    27
See reviews for
163
778
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed at the Jan Brito for just one night during a European road trip and were very glad that we did.

The hotel is located in a very central location in Bruge, just 2-3 minute’s walk to many of the city’s landmarks but in a quiet enough road that you feel that you are getting away from it all a bit. The hotel was easy to find and we were able to unload the car right outside before putting the car in the nearby underground car park (pay extra).

Check-in was prompt and easy. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

Our room was located on the top floor in the rear of the building accessed via the pleasant courtyard and the peculiar outdoor lift or stairs. Although not large, the room had everything you would need for a short city break and was beautifully designed with nice features including original oak beams in the vaulted roof. The decor is contemporary but also quite unusual (in a good way). Comfortable bed and plenty of wardrobe space. The bathroom was quite large with a powerful shower over the bath and no shortage of hot water. The roof did not have wi-fi. There was a small flat screen TV mounted high up on the wall with a selection of international channels.

The breakfast buffet in the lovely dining room was excellent – a good selection of fresh baked goods, cereals, fruits, meats and cheeses along with a few cooked items. A good choice of teas, coffees and fruit juices.

The hotel appeared to be clean throughout; guestroom, bathroom and common areas. The hotel bar looked very nice although lacking atmosphere (no customers at all). Nice touches throughout the hotel including a basket of umbrellas for customers’ use and a number of old antiques been made use of in a more contemporary way.

We would stay again and we would recommend this hotel to others. It is reasonable value for money (compared to other Bruge hotels) and has more character than most chain hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this review, 25 September 2011
Dear,
We appreciate you took time to write this kind review . It’s a pleasure to read you had a good time at our hotel and would recommend it to others.

However, we would like to inform you about some aspect why you probably think our hotel is quirky. As our hotel is housed into UNESCO preserved buildings, we had strict rules to follow during the refurbishment to keep as much elements as possible in order to reflect the history.
*For instance our “piculair outdoor lift” has been specially developped as we weren’t allowed to instal a regular elavator into the building , because this could damage the building.
*The wall paper into the room you had, is Art Deco style and relects the 18th Century.
We look forward to welcome you and / or your friend at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Betty Devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bolton
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The hotel was lovely, clean and well presented and the staff were all very pleasant at all times! would definitely go back. The girls on reception are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear,

We appreciate you took the time to write a review, and we're pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Providing our guests a memorable stay is what we try to obtain.

Kind regards,
Betty Devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

best hotel of our European vacation Spacious combination of old world charm and modern amenites. Room on first floor for three people with towering ceilings.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bkatzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear,

We thank you for your kind words and are pleased to read you loved our hotel.
We’re looking forward to welcome you and your familiy at the Jan Brito hotel again.

Kind regards,
Betty Devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We had one unforgettable night in Bruges! Firstly there was a lost (though subsequently found) camera then a suitcase key locked inside its suitcase. To round things off a temporary crown fell off my tooth during our evening meal (at Al Riad restaurant - highly recommended - crap dentistry was to blame, not the food!)

The receptionists at the Jan Brito spent ages that night and again the following morning trying to track down a dentist who wasn't on holiday and who could do emergency repairs. This really was service over and beyond the call of duty - they kept on trying until one was eventually found. I will be eternally grateful - especially as the dentist who saw me charged - with an apologetic shrug - a mere 10 Euro.

Unfortunately I didn't get the name of the receptionists in question, but as this was the 28th / 29th July I'm sure you'll know who you are! Thank you once again - we hope to come back to Bruges and the Jan Brito again some day soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The Jan Brito itself was a nice hotel, but we were disappointed with the room. We did pay more for a 'deluxe' room (The Baroness) but on seeing the room, we felt a bit cheated. The photos on the website show the room as much less cluttered, and larger, and I certainly would not describe it as deluxe. It was a bit faded, not much space to move about, and the bathroom window had a large crack in it. We were only there for one night, which we were glad about. Breakfast was quite good, and the building itself was interesting and character-full. They did allow us to leave our luggage there before and after checking in, which was good. But we wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Locate the hotel on a map to make sure the hotel is as 'conveniently located' as it claims.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthumberlandKat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyDevos, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear,
We regret to read you was disappointed about the room you’ve had.
Each room into our hotel is unique and different, this even within the same room type. This because our hotel buildings are UNESCO protected, and this not only for the façade but also the interior.
On the websites we’re offering a large selection of pictures however we can’t post them all due to the limits.
Kind regards,
Betty Devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Such a beautiful hotel. The rooms had such character. Ours had all old wooden beams on the wall. It added to the quiant town. The service was great as was the location. My only complaint was our room smelt a little bit like an old house, a little musty. Nothing horrible. Other then that our stay was very enjoyable! Would definatly reccomend

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitparedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BettyDevos, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Dear,

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Our hotel has indeed a lot of characteristic elements dating from the past centuries.
We’re looking forward to welcome you and/or your friends into the future.

Kind regards,
Betty Devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#24 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Property: Hotel Jan Brito
Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing