We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Camp Hill
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This was just a wonderful hotel. Room was beautiful. Location was great. Breakfast was superb.Owners were marvelous. The hotel does have a small bar area but does not serve lunch or dinner but there are no shortages of restaurants in Bruge. Price was very reasonable given the very high quality of this hotel

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Healey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear,

We appreciate you took the time to write a review.

It's a pleasure to read you had a wonderfull time at our hotel.

We hope to welcome you once more in the future,

Kind regards,

Betty Devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    398
    82
    27
    26
See reviews for
161
769
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Again we visit the wonderful city of Bruge.But this time was made special by staying at the Jan Brito,what a gem perfect location, with wonderful and very helpful staff nothing was to much trouble,accomadation first class breakfast lots of variety and plentiful.You could not pick a better hotel than this one for value for money service and quality well done Jan Brito we will certaintly return to visit you again.many thanks Brisn and Wendy stayed 24/11/2011 to 27/11/2011 Knights room Room 35

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedboy327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear,

We thank you for your kind words and we’re pleased to read you had a lovely time in our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you could not pick a better hotel than ours for your stay in Bruges!
Day after day we attempt to offer a good service and quality for the value of the money.

We can't wait to welcome you again,

Kind regards,

Betty Devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The Jan Brito exceded our expectations, it has been beautifully and imaginatively renovated, full of charm and tranquility. It is centrally located, with the added benefit of an underground car park 3 minutes walk away offering discounted rates for hotel guests. The Duchess room where we stayed, was very roomy, tastefully decorated and immaculatey clean. Whilst the bathroom was big enough to boast both a walk in shower and a bath. Breakfast was served in a very elegant room overlooking a peaceful courtyard garden, being the ideal place to investigate after enjoying the good selection of food that is served for breakfast.The staff are friendly and helpful, what more can be said..........it is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this review, 27 November 2011
Dear Madam,

thank you for taking some of your time to write those kind words.

I'm pleased to read we exceded your expectations and that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel.

Hope to welcome you again in our hotel on another occasion!

Kind regards,

Betty Devos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Brilliantly located for wandering around the beautiful streets of fairytale Bruges, Jan Brito is a welcoming, charming hotel with plenty of character. Our room was immaculately decorated and the bathroom was spotless. The bathroom could have actually been smaller to make way for a larger bedroom, but for a 2 night stay the room size was managable. Breakfast was in a lovely room with lots of choice of food and drink. When pulled up outside to check-in we left our bags and were given a pass to enter a nearby carpark where we left the car for 2 days for 20 Euros, very easy. Would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine-sangria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The room and hotel was fantastic and well cleaned. The breakfast was superb.
Recommends strongly

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickeheterjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed at the Jan Brito with my husband back in February it was our first visit to Bruges and had the most amazing time. Bruges is beautiful as is the Jan Brito, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it. We decided to drive as it was quicker than the Eurostar and worked really well for us as there is a car park about 150 yards from the hotel which is very safe and well lit, so those of you considering driving please don't be worried and go for it, it's also easier to get all your beer purchases home!! We stayed in a Duchess Room it was very spacious and comfortable with a seating area which was really nice it overlooked the garden at the rear of the Hotel so very quiet. The room did look slightly "tired" in places but still very nice. It's worth wandering around the hotel and looking at the renovation pictures, it is truely amazing what they have done. Breakfast was quite impressive with both a hot and cold buffet selection with cold meats, cheese and cereal. Another tip don't buy beer in the beer shops find a supermarket (the name and location of the one we used has slipped my mind, but do some research before you go) you will save a fortune.

One last thing on our first night I booked a table (before we left) at the In't Nieuw Museum which is an easy walk from the Jan Brito but in the opposite direction to the centre of Bruges, we had the most wonderful evening it was very much like an English pub but with an indoor BBQ, it was cozy and warm and the hospitality was wonderful staff were incredibly friendly without being imposing, my husband is very into his beer so got chatting to the landlord and it was well worth his while he ended up with getting tasters of most of the the beers, I think he drank more this way than what we actually bought !! The landlord loves to talk about beer and is an expert on the subject and an incredibly nice guy. If you do intend visiting the In't Nieuw Museum, book a table it isn't the largest of places and very popular, worth noting though, one group of diners did have a dog with them so if this bothers you it might not be the place for you, didn't bother us but I know not everyone is keen.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinab42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We booked this hotel as part of a 4-night Eurostar deal (it actually turned out cheaper than booking transport and accommodation separately) and it was fabulous. We were booked into one of the Knight rooms, which are the standard rooms, but even so this was one of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. It was well equipped and nicely decorated, quiet, with a VERY comfy bed. Breakfast was great, too - there was lots of choice and it was pretty tasty. Add to that the central (but not too central) location and the helpful staff and you've got a pretty impressive hotel, I'd say! Would thoroughly recommend you go. And if you're feeling plush, the more expensive rooms and suites (which we managed to take a peek at) look divine.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Psammead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Academie Hotel
Academie Hotel
#20 of 97 in Bruges
2,112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Property: Hotel Jan Brito
Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing