We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #27 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stay at Hotel Jan Brito June 2011. Booked a package deal: Eurostar with hotel. Our room was clean, wooden beams on ceiling, nice wooden furniture and most important for me a clean bathroom with shower. Staff pleasant and helpful, one night I brought a bottle of wine back to our room, it was not chilled so I asked if we could have some ice? The receptionist just went to the lounge/bar and came back with an ice bucket filled with ice. Well considering the wine was not from the hotels bar, I think that's good service or should things like that just happen? Anyway had a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PauliegirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    403
    84
    27
    27
See reviews for
163
778
39
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed two nights on our second visit to the Jan Brito. We had the Maids Room on the 2nd floor, accessible by lift or stairs. It was a very small but comfortable room with a bar fridge, large flat screen TV with some English channels, and good wifi. Parking is available nearby for E8.70 per 24hrs. It is a very short walk to the centre of town. Huge buffet breakfast with hot eggs, bacon, sausages, and cereals, breads, yoghurts, meats, cheeses, and jams. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We decided on the Jan Brito for a 3 night stay in Bruges after reading many reviews and everything was as expected. We had requested one of the Knights rooms in the annexe and it was perfect for us - fairly compact but tastefully decorated, clean and cosy. The breakfast room is a beautifully renovated space with lovely windows looking onto the garden and is ideal for starting a day in Bruges. So many other reviewers comment on the breakfast and they are all correct! Freshly squeezed fruit juice, delicious fruit salad, cereals, yogurts, cheese, smoked salmon, eggs, sausages.......not forgetting the tasty breads and rolls..... with plenty coffee and a variety of teas. Luckily there's little effort needed to walk into the centre of Bruges afterwards as everything is within easy reach but it's definitely worthwhile to explore further afield as well. This is a carefully restored building which, with its attentive and welcoming staff, must rate as one of the best places to stay while in Bruges.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jea17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Our party of 4 stayed at the Jan Brito for 4 nights in April in rooms 3 and 4. both rooms were clean and very comfortable, infact we overslept the first night and were late to meet our friends for breakfast!!! We found all the staff extremely helpful, and nothing was too much trouble.
As for breakfast, what a delight, we all found more than enough for our needs and my husband even went back for seconds! The Jan Brito is very handy for the centre and i would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetteSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Jan Brito is a lovely, charming hotel with so much character. Perfect for a weekend break. Great location with everything a stone's throw away. The breakfasts were great with everything you could have wanted. The rooms were very comfortable. We stayed in one of the Knights rooms and although slightly smaller had everything we needed. My only criticism was when we received the discount card from the hotel they didn't explain it very well. It appears you get discount at all the museums listed, but this is only if you buy the three day Musee Bruges pass, which we didn't realise. The museums said this was a problem with a number of hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymru
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for 2 nights during April in room 11. We found the room to be clean and comfortable and even though it was small, it was cosy and had the amenities we needed. The low sloping wooden roof beams added character to the room. However, we did have to mind our heads, particularly on one side of the room. Breakfast was very enjoyable, with a wide selection to choose from. The hotel is ideally located for a visit to beautiful Bruges. There is an underground car park approximately 100 metres from the hotel and has a low cost of 8 euros per 24 hours.
On arrival we received a very friendly welcome from the hotel receptionist and other staff were also friendly. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CymruGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our family of 4 enjoyed family room 9 with its private down stairs master bed and loft of twin beds for our girls. The posts and beams with winding staircase exuded charm with a modern bathroom ensuite. Two flat screens allowed for late night viewing of preferred disney shows, while the the skylights provided majestic roof top views. The breakfast was excellent with a nice array of continental fare of meats, cheeses, eggs, breads, and fruits. The courtyard in view was beautiful even in the early spring season. The staff made reservations and answered questions with an earnest smile. The best hotel experience during this european vacation involving 4 other hotels in 3 different countries. The medieval charm of this hotel is a must to experience the true Brugges.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfoodiefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#22 of 97 in Bruges
1,522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pand Hotel Small Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Casselbergh Bruges
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Brugge
Crowne Plaza Brugge
#25 of 97 in Bruges
1,523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Orangerie
Hotel de Orangerie
#8 of 97 in Bruges
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Property: Hotel Jan Brito
Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
#33 Family Hotel in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing