We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm with modern conveniences”
Review of Hotel Jan Brito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jan Brito
Ranked #25 of 97 Hotels in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We splurged on a Baroness Room for a four night stay during our honeymoon. The room was very nice, good size (not huge), comfortably and charmingly furnished. A bit run down in spots on the celling, but that was overcome be the lovely view of the garden and the modern conveniences, especially in the well equipped and fairly large bathroom. The hotel itself was full of charm and character, the service was very friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfast was great, food was plentiful and delicious and the staff was very attentive. We also really liked the location, close to the Fish Market, and easy walking distance to everything. We can't speak to the other smaller rooms, but the hotel itself is delightful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitraSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

657 - 663 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2012

Just had a 3 night break as a couple in a 'Knight' (standard) room, our 4th visit to this hotel. We have stayed 3 times in a standard room and once in a superior room. The hotel is of a high standard, with rooms which vary from 'standard 4 star hotel room configuration' to the different and quirky. All have been enjoyable until this visit, when we were given a double room, no 24, which had good decor but which was far too small to be worthy of a relatively expensive 4 star hotel. Perhaps 12 inches on either side of bed to the walls, no drawer unit and inadequate space to store a suitcase. Bathroom was fine, but it was clear that the space used to construct this room was insufficient. Most worrying was the complete lack of acknowledgment that this was a problem by both the receptionist and manager, who both simply recited the company mantra, saying that all rooms were different and had different decor and the hotel was full. Well, decor is fine but for the cost of these rooms, I expect a modicum of space, even in high priced Bruges. The standard of breakfast is high and hotel is fine in other aspects. Our friends were given room 28, which was only marginally better. If making a booking, try to ensure that you will not accept ground floor rooms 24 to 28. Sadly, we will not return, as I will not take the risk of being allocated one of these rooms again and do not see why I should have to pay 50% or so more for a superior room just to avoid this possibility

Room Tip: Definitely avoid the standard rooms on ground floor, nos 24 to 28 which are too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buryplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Just got home from 3 days in Bruges with my boyfriend and absolutely loved Jan Brito!
The hotel was absolutely charming, with cosy rooms which had white walls and exposed beams. We stayed in one of the 'Maid's Room' which was meant to be one of their budget rooms but in fact it was very sizeable with a lovely bathroom and high ceilings. It was cleaned everyday with fresh towels and we would come back to a spotless room every evening.

What really makes this hotel however, is the very friendly staff. They would answer any question we had regarding restaurants, tourist attractions etc with a smile and an informative answer, not to mention tending to our every need at breakfast. And on the note of breakfast, I must add, it was AMAZING! All you can eat, fresh, high quality food with a huge selection from full english to croissants, to fruit salad.

Fantastic hotel! Love it and would definitely go back again, particularly for such a reasonable price.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emily965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Just come back from an amazing 4 days in Bruges and the Jan Brito hotel made it even better for us. We stayed in the maids room which is apparantly the budget room. Not a chance this was a budget room. I've paid more and stayed in worse, it was excellent. Cleaned every day and was nice and comfortable.
The hotel staff were very very helpful, from receptionist through to kitchen staff, ALL very nice people and are more than happy to help with anything, hotel related or otherwise.All very good english speakers.
The receptionist gave us plenty of tips of where to visit and where to eat, all of which were great suggestions.
Help yourself breakfast which was all fresh, fantastic selection.
I would not hesitate recommending Bruges and the Jan Brito hotel in particular to my friends and family.
Me and my wife have decided we will be going back again next year and will 100% be staying at the Jan Brito.
Just another thing to add which we personally thought was such a nice gesture - we travelled to Bruge for our 1st wedding anniversary. On arrival to the hotel the owners had left a anniversarty card in the room for us. Like I say 10 out of 10 for this hotel, not a single bad word to say.
Thanks Jan Brito Hotel, see you again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 85MANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Love, love, love this hotel!! Brugge was the highlight of our trip. Our group of five enjoyed a two night stay here. It is a short walk to the center of town and a short cab ride to the train station.
The staff was first class and they provided exceptional service and assistance. The breakfast buffet was great and the dining room was well decorated.
We stayed in two very charming Knight Rooms. Room 16 had a double bed and a single bed. Room 18 had two twin beds.
Will definitely stay here again. SO glad I found this hotel on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

In a beautifully and sensitively converted 17th century merchant's house with beautiful antique furniture, but with modern standards of comfort and service. We especially liked the secluded little garden in which to enjoy an orange juice or coffee. Quiet, but close to all amenities. Friendly and efficient reception staff. Excellent breakfasts constantly being replenished by attentive and pleasant staff. We got the impression that no request would be too difficult or too much trouble. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Baroness room. Large and comfortable. Good bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victorians63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Being from North America where everything is fairly new as compared to European standards, when I travel in Europe I prefer the old classical hotels to the new modern ones and the Jan Brito did not disappoint. In fact if I return I would be hard pressed to consider other accommodations.

We were a party of five, so originally I had considered an apartment in Bruge but the Jan Brito had a Family Room which accommodated us perfectly. We had prepaid so for three nites it was 645 Euros which also included a great breakfast with a hot selection, buns and pastries, yogurt, fruit etc. The room itself was quirky and comfortable. It had old beams throughout and after enquiring found out that renovations to what was a 15-16th century house had been painstaking as they had tried to maintain as much of the original features as possible and also bring it up to this century’s comfort levels. I think they managed to achieve this goal perfectly. A history of the hotel is on their website also, which showcases some of their special suites like the Baroness and Marquis suites.

Our family room # 13 consisted of two floors. The upper level had two twin beds and a little sitting area. The staircase was fairly steep, so I would caution individuals with mobility problems or small children that this might not be the room for them. It was fine for us and our teenage/young adult boys. The lower level had a king size bed as soon as you entered with a small hallway that led to the sitting room, which the boys nicknamed the “hobbit hole”. You had to duck to get through the hallway but that was part of the charm of the room. They had fit another bed in there for us also. The room came with free wi-fi. I have included pictures.

The room only had one bathroom but we just had to schedule showers. My only constructive comment would be regarding the kamikaze showerhead which most of us fell victim to, until we remembered to hang on to it before you turned off the water, if not it would leap out of the holder when you least expected it. I won’t elaborate.


The Jan Brito had the best amenities out of all the hotels in Europe that we stayed at. Besides the regular shampoo, conditioner and body lotion they also had a shoe sponge, shaving kit, dental kit, sewing kit and more. Very much appreciated, as I had forgot a couple of things.

The staff, especially those at the front desk were all professional and efficient. A special thank-you to Anthony for all his personal service. Besides being our bartender he also went over and above and helped me with alternate arrangements when our tour guide didn’t show up. Also reservations and check-in were problem free.


The hotel’s proximity to the old city centre was just perfect; in fact everything we wanted to see was within walking distance.


An excellent hotel in an interesting medieval city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeAnneCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty D, Owner at Hotel Jan Brito, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Dear Madam,

First at all, I would like to thank you for choosing the Jan Brito hotel as the destination for your break in Bruges, also for taking the time to post a review about your experience among us.

It's a real pleasure to read you had a wonderfull time and that our staff members were always able to give the best of theirselves in a proffesional way.

We are all looking forward to welcome you and your family once again.

Kind regards,

Betty Devos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bruges hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Patritius
Hotel Patritius
#24 of 97 in Bruges
637 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oud Huis de Peellaert
Oud Huis de Peellaert
#18 of 97 in Bruges
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Tuilerieen
Hotel De Tuilerieen
#28 of 97 in Bruges
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Flanders Hotel
Flanders Hotel
#21 of 97 in Bruges
1,864 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ter Brughe
Hotel Ter Brughe
#33 of 97 in Bruges
1,116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Prinsenhof Bruges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jan Brito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jan Brito

Address: Freren Fonteinstraat 1, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bruges
#23 Romantic Hotel in Bruges
Price Range: £74 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jan Brito 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the center of Bruges in a 16th-century listed building. Much more than the exterior has been preserved. This impressive mansion has been tastefully refurbished, conserving unique decorations from former centuries: marble mantelpieces, paintings, oak staircase, exposed oak beams. Quietly situated in the heart of Bruges : 20 mtrs from the most romantic and picturesque canals, 200 mtrs from the Burg square (City Hall) and Market square (Belfry). 37 Rooms fully en-suite, hairdryer, telephone, television with English language programs, minibar, free coffee and tea making facilities. Breakfast buffet, lift, bar, wifi, lounge, large renaissance garden with 100 year old beech tree. Public underground parking at only 200 meters (please make a reservation). Since October 2016 the hotel also has a fitness, sauna and hammam in the garden pavillion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jan Brito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jan Brito Hotel
Jan Brito Bruges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing